Hair Cuttery Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Hair Cuttery Reviews

Updated 3 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
43%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Hair Cuttery CEO Dennis Ratner (no image)
Dennis Ratner
216 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great opportunity for FREE education(in 44 reviews)

  • "All incentives are there to help motivate you to strengthen yourself as a stylist(in 43 reviews)

Cons
  • "This is only hard in a small location with less stylists(in 73 reviews)

  • "This is true if you like minimum wage(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist in Deptford, South West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hair Cuttery full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great clients, products provided,

    Cons

    Sometimes the salon gets slow

    Hair Cuttery2019-09-18
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Time For A Change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Stylist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hair Cuttery full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Busy salon with plenty of clientele. Good Brand Recognition

    Cons

    I yearn for the company I was initially hired by. A company with fair and realistic retail and commission goals. Week after week, I must work harder and harder to achieve the new mostly unachievable goal of $120 in retail sales both CPR and walk in sales. I never quite meet the required amount of retail for 50% commission despite being one of the strongest in retail sales in both the salon and my district at... large. This company is not a Kellogg/Pilsbury/Pampered Chef style brand, and it is unfair and delusional to think it can be run as such. This is the wrong approach to transform a "People First" company into something it is not. This is terrible for the loyal long term as well as potential future employees of this company, who must now lie to their customers about products they don't need and that they can purchase much cheaper at other outlets just to satisfy quota driven leadership. A recent price increase disguised as a pay increase now alienates clients who consider Haircuttery to be a value brand, and in actuality leaves very little for the stylist afterwards.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Susan needs to go

    Hair Cuttery2016-04-24
  3. "HC really cares about their stylists!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stylist in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hair Cuttery full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free continuing education, benefits after 6 months, opportunities for advancement and book-building; strong chain of communication and good support from salon leaders and district leaders

    Cons

    Location/commute was inconvenient for me and not in the best neighborhood; low hourly base pay (hitting commission/retail targets not always guaranteed if slow)

    Advice to Management

    Please open a salon on the UPenn campus!

    Hair Cuttery2019-11-03
  4. "Hair stylist/Receptionist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in West Palm Beach, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hair Cuttery full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Management, fun place to work, potential to move up in company, reliable, cruely free products, great clientele,

    Cons

    No water fountain, corporate, uniform, hard to sell what is asked if you aren't level jumped, unsteady income if you don't apply yourself

    Hair Cuttery2019-10-29
  5. "Good place to build clientele"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist 

    I worked at Hair Cuttery part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Has made recent changes in pay structures and incentives that benefit full time employees.

    Cons

    The recent changes in pay structures and incentives keep part time employees from any advancement in pay, benefits and ability to take appointments. In recent years Hair Cuttery has integrated the sale of products into your pay structure, if you do not sell products it directly affects your commission on services.

    Hair Cuttery2019-10-11
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Not a people company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Salon Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hair Cuttery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    to me the negative outweigh the positive

    Cons

    poor leadership, claim to be a people company but do not care for their employees

    Hair Cuttery2019-10-15
  7. "great place to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Hair Cuttery part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    i like meeting people and cutting hair

    Cons

    no cons at all absolutely

    Hair Cuttery2019-09-30
  8. "I liked my co workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate - Stylist in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hair Cuttery full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discount on services, flexible hours, benefits, tip money

    Cons

    The hourly pay is low minimum wage, sometimes the work can be back breaking if you have other stylist that can not work fast and don't care about helping. Sometimes people do not tip, they really push retail sale

    Advice to Management

    Bring up the hourly rate

    Hair Cuttery2019-09-25
  9. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Miami Beach, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hair Cuttery part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing place to start

    Cons

    Low salary - needs to raise

    Hair Cuttery2019-09-17
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Morale horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hair Cuttery full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Can make money sometimes

    Cons

    Management doesn’t care, hours suck

    Hair Cuttery2019-10-22
Found 390 reviews