Hall & Partners Reviews

Updated 6 Jan 2021

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
41%
Recommend to a Friend
34%
Approve of CEO
Hall & Partners Global CEO Vanella Jackson (no image)
Vanella Jackson
53 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good culture, great people, good learning opportunities(in 16 reviews)

  • "Good people, lots going on, interesting work(in 12 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Strategist 

    I worked at Hall & Partners full-time

    Pros

    Smart people, interesting briefs and nice culture. Lots of opportunities to learn and take on interesting work

    Cons

    Hours can be long depending on types of work, but generally flexible working helps with this

    Hall & Partners Response

    December 17, 2020HR Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. It's great to hear your enjoyed your time working with us. We also appreciate your reference to our flexible working policy, which (pre-March) had been used in some way by all of our London employees.

  2. "Great place to grow (review for healthcare team)"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hall & Partners full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Typically work across high-value and interesting projects for big pharma accounts. The health team has particular strength in comms research so a great place to learn skills in that area. On small-midsize projects, senior analysts often act as strategists/managers providing scope for growth. Colleagues are supportive and fun to work with - opportunities to get to know people from teams beyond healthcare. Leadership cares about team well-being.

    Cons

    Decision-making around promotion somewhat opaque. Can feel stretched at busy periods, although leadership is taking action to address this. Level of responsibility may vary depending on size of project or project lead you're working.

    Continue reading

  3. "Good place to work but need to keep pushing innovation"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Director in London, England

    I worked at Hall & Partners full-time

    Pros

    Good team ethic in the office

    Cons

    Career progression for operations teams

    Hall & Partners Response

    November 25, 2020HR Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're pleased to hear you've enjoyed the supportive team atmosphere. We're sorry you feel there were not opportunities for progression within your team. We encourage our teams to hold quarterly Great Conversations where you can discuss opportunities for development, and regularly promote from within. If you'd like to discuss further please contact us at ukpeopleteam@hallandpartners.com

  4. COVID-19
    Helpful (2)

    "Good company, but poor rewarding for the hard work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hall & Partners full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hard-working, friendly people. Some intelligent people too. Interesting projects and you get the opportunity to work for huge clients. They should be proud to have a diverse and talented team. I'd recommend H&P to someone starting a career in Market Research - you can learn a lot while working there.

    Cons

    Not the best way of handling the COVID-19 situation. They made lots of redundancies this year due to the pandemic, but the criteria weren't clear enough. That had a negative effect on all employees across the company, everyone's stressed as they don't know who's going to be next redundant. Our salaries were also reduced this year! We're only told that we should be thankful to have our jobs...They say that they care for our mental health but their approach has the opposite effects. Very disappointed. They don't appreciate the hard work - especially this year, given the company is smaller and some teams are over working or feel the pressure to bring more money in the company. There are no salary reviews (I've never seen one at least for as long as I've been here - not even an increase according to the inflation rate!). Promotions are rare too. They prefer hiring new people to fill any gaps rather than making internal promotions. Does that mean they don't trust their own people? It takes more time to train someone new! I'm not surprised why many people leave the company to go somewhere better.

    Continue reading

    Hall & Partners Response

    November 12, 2020HR Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We're really pleased to hear you recommend our Hall & Partners to those starting out in their career. It's disappointing to hear you didn't feel you had access to progression. We take growth and development seriously for all our employees and would urge anyone who feels they are not moving forward to speak to their manager. If you have further feedback to give on your individual situation please contact ukpeopleteam@hallandpartners.com

  5. COVID-19

    "Great company - only here a short while but like what I see"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hall & Partners full-time

    Pros

    I think Hall and Partners has some really talented and dedicated employees at all levels. We are encouraged to grow and learn and I think the support given is great. The growth and development of people is really important and reflected in the conversations with LM's and senior staff. I feel trusted, respected and feel like I could have a long career here. It has also been really a really tough start given I joined the company one week before lockdown but I think the way the senior team has handled the crisis has been really good. It hasnt been easy for them but I trust they are making the best decisions they can and are supporting people as much as possible.

    Cons

    Our senior team having to answer to Omnicom!! I dont think Omnicom always have the best interests of employees at heart and force our senior team into decisions they dont really want to make which is a shame BUT it does mean we have a fabulous office space and other agencies to chat which is nice.

    Continue reading

    Hall & Partners Response

    November 25, 2020HR Partner

    Thank you for taking the leaving such a positive review, we're glad you're enjoying your time with us!

  6. "Fun at the start but Job does drain you"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in London, England

    I have been working at Hall & Partners full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people Interesting clients Good experience

    Cons

    Work/life balance Hectic Reluctant to promote from within the company

    Hall & Partners Response

    November 25, 2020HR Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We're pleased to hear your positive comments. We're disappointed to hear you felt the work life balance was hard to manage. In 2019 we introduced a flexible working policy which has been positively received and resulted in 100% of our employees stating they were using the flexible options in some way. If you'd like to chat further please contact us at ukpeopleteam@hallandpartners.com

  7. COVID-19
    Helpful (6)

    "Showing its true colours in a crisis"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Strategist in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hall & Partners full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    High calibre and hard working junior team who are from diverse range of backgrounds Excellent Operations team Diverse client base. You will be working with blue chip clients across a wide range of product areas Good office location with a wide range bars, restaurants and shops nearby Access to wider Omnicom resources such as an onsite subsidised canteen Reasonable remuneration and benefit package, although this has been gradually decreasing over the years for the junior team Good office social activities including a office drinks and budgets for monthly nights out Good holiday allowance, including office closures over the Christmas Holidays that are not taken from your holiday allowance Work/Life balance is reasonable for a MR agency, however it varies widely depending on what team you are on or the seniority of your role Ability to work from home Free fruit

    Cons

    The biggest con with Hall & Partners is the way it has acted during the COVID crisis. The most problematic behaviour has been the implementation of arbitrary redundancies based on questionable reasons and then re-advertising for the same roles less than a month later. Talent at all levels of the business is leaving in droves due to high workloads, declining number and quality of projects won, poor senior management from the Partners and lack of trust in the senior management. Most of the inspiring Senior Management has left over the last 2 years, taking the best clients with them. Many of the the remaining senior team members probably would not be tolerated at such a senior level at other MR companies Junior members of the team have a particularly high churn rate and are regularly leaving due to the lack of training opportunities and better offers from competitors Although highly knowledgeable of the industry, many of the Senior Staff are extremely poor people managers and either show complete incompetence or absolute disinterest in their line management responsibilities For company that is trying to "transform", the IT systems are almost laughable. Common problems include, out of date laptops that are not standardised across the company, printers that never work, laptops rarely connect to the TVs in meeting rooms and an IT support team (Provided by Omnicom) takes ages to fix anything even if you can get hold of them Hall & Partners has some interesting research tools, however very little training is given to the junior team for there effective use. Most of the junior team are just expected to "work it out" when asked to used these tools, as the Senior Team probably don't know how to use them themselves The appraisal process is ridiculous and not applied equally across the team. Furthermore, promotions are virtually non-existent and take ages to happen Internal office environment is very out-dated which leads to a depressing work environment. Problems include, when entering the office you regularly see dirty dishes and mugs, the Omnicom building has rodent problem, the toilets are often dirty and blocked, the air conditioning regularly blows cold air directly across your desk leading to dangerous work conditions and lots of paper and other detritus left over the office and meeting rooms Hall & Partners will jump on every current political band wagon, to the point that in the recent BLM and Climate Rebellion protests it was gradually becoming uncomfortable to work there if you did not share the company’s obvious political bias

    Continue reading

    Hall & Partners Response

    September 23, 2020UK Head of People

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We're really pleased to hear you highlight our fantastic colleagues and the interesting , diverse range of clients we work with. We are disappointed to hear some of your other feedback. As many companies this year, we have had to make some difficult decisions regarding redundancies . Although we are unable to discuss individual situations or business rationale on structure we can assure you any redundancies were made for genuine reasons, had a full consultation process attached and were a last resort. We have since been pleased to start recruitment again, however, we are recruiting for different roles to those made redundant. We would be happy to discuss with you further if you'd like to get in contact via ukpeopleteam@hallandpartners.com. We are sorry to hear you feel our junior teams are not given enough training. We provide both 121 and group training sessions on a number of technical and behavioural topics, most of this training is also available to access in your own time to allow you to take ownership of your learning. We are very proud of our management team and the relationships built between their teams, but are always seeking ways to improve - if you have some specific feedback to share please contact us at the address above.

  8. "Analyst"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Analyst in London, England

    I have been working at Hall & Partners full-time

    Pros

    good colleagues and excellent team in the health team

    Cons

    poor management from above.. slow progression

    Hall & Partners Response

    September 2, 2020UK Head of People

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We're really proud of our people and are pleased to hear you are enjoying working within the team. We're sorry to hear you feel your progression so far has been slow. Our teams are encouraged to stretch themselves and we have a full Learning and Development program providing training on a variety of topics. If you drop us a note at ukpeopleteam@hallandpartners.com we can have a chat about your progression and see where we can help

  9. "Pros & Cons"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in London, England

    I worked at Hall & Partners full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good culture, great people, good learning opportunities

    Cons

    Usual big agency issues like under resourced and not enough time to get things done

    Hall & Partners Response

    August 5, 2020UK Head of People

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are really proud of our people and culture at Hall & Partners and it's great to hear you took advantage of the learning opportunities we provide. Thank you for your feedback on resourcing. We are constantly reviewing the resource level vs workload and would be keen to hear more of your thoughts. Please get in contact via ukpeopleteam@hallandpartners.com if you're happy to share more on your experience.

  10. Helpful (4)

    "Negative working environment"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Analyst in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hall & Partners full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    some good people and some interesting projects

    Cons

    under staffed, not many learning opportunities, terrible micro management, no support, no training, always stick to what has worked in the past, you don't get yo use your benefits, never finished on time, takes ages to get promoted

    Hall & Partners Response

    August 25, 2020UK Head of People

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We're sorry to hear you feel so negatively about your time at Hall & Partners. We are always updating our Learning and Development offer so that each week our teams can attend sessions on a wide variety of topics including Diversity and Inclusion. We are proud of the work delivered by our teams which often includes different approaches or new tools. We are always inventing and experimenting! We’d be keen to speak with you to understand more about your concerns. Please contact ukpeopleteam@hallandpartners.com

Viewing 1 - 10 of 150 English Reviews