HealthTap Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

HealthTap Reviews

Updated 9 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
52%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
HealthTap Chief Executive Officer Bill Gossman (no image)
Bill Gossman
11 Ratings
Pros
  • "There are some *VERY* smart people here who come to work every day super motivated to make things happen(in 12 reviews)

  • "They are super excited about what they are doing and mission driven(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Tough to find a work-life balance(in 10 reviews)

  • "You have to be passionate about your role and the product because it is long hours and a large commitment(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Saving lives every day"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at HealthTap full-time

    Pros

    This is the best company in Silicon Valley if you're looking to do something very meaningful and grow personally and professionally. The values of the company that you can easily find by just googling "vision and credo" are upheld closely, and the team member are awesome and very collaborative and nice. The leadership team has been around in the industry for a long time and his highly respected everywhere. The company is constantly growing and moving fast forward, but also takes care of employees on all fronts. There are mentors in all levels, the compensation is fair, the value of the company is increasing all the time, and they give us all the perks that the best startups in Silicon Valley give. But most importantly, it's really mission driven and helps millions all over the world in a very significant way - which is truly inspiring and motivating. Knowing that the work I'm doing is saving lives every day is the very very motivating and cool.

    Cons

    We do work longer hours, but this is typical of a Silicon Valley company, and everyone knows about it when they join. Also, the longer hours are not mandatory - it's more about delivering great results with whatever it takes to accomplish it.

    Continue reading
    HealthTap2016-09-09
  2. "good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Data Engineer in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HealthTap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    nice people to work with

    Cons

    funding issues is a cause of concern

    HealthTap2019-12-10
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Financial Turmoil"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HealthTap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lot of learning opportunities Dog friendly Great insurance plan

    Cons

    Company is in financial trouble. Most people believe that layoffs are coming soon. No pay raise, no bonus Company doesn’t have a good culture. Managers bully engineers Company exploits employees who are on H1 visa by delaying their green card process, thus making employees stick with the company on low wages

    Continue reading
    HealthTap2019-08-06
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Unhealthy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HealthTap full-time

    Pros

    Product potential and a good product team. Both offices are nice environments. Lots of smart people who are good at their individual jobs.

    Cons

    No sense of teamwork or encouragement - never felt less supported, anywhere. Executives are always disagreeing and changing direction. Product doesn't seem to match the market.

    Continue reading
    HealthTap2019-05-07
  5. Helpful (2)

    "New Mountain View Office is Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ios Software Engineer in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HealthTap full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    * We recently moved to a new office in Mountain View. The office is spacious with a nice and convenient community. * We have a healthy work-life balance in the company. * Dog-friendly! * Free lunch and snacks. * We have an excellent and working business model.

    Cons

    * Influence in the community.

    Continue reading
    HealthTap2019-03-08
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Completely new company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HealthTap full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1) Employee-driven culture which is welcome contrast to previous CEO’s tenure 2) Interesting intellectual challenges and problems to solve in growing virtual healthcare industry 3) New senior leadership has ship steered in the right direction and importantly, is open to feedback. 4) Beautiful new offices in both Valley and San Francisco 5) Great benefits and food 6) Dogs!

    Cons

    1) tough to recruit your former colleagues with old, outdated reputation issue from previous CEO— even though it’s no longer the case

    Continue reading
    HealthTap2019-02-28
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Do not come to work at this company, SERIOUSLY!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Palo Alto, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HealthTap full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good mission, a lot of smart engineers when I first joined

    Cons

    NO promotion, Underpaid, a lot of extremely bad engineers and PMs that only make things worse, HR determined not responding your emails or calls after you leave, so you cannot get your work history or purchasing stock options. Don't be fooled by the reviews that the new management is doing any good, old and new management teams are just equally bad. Turnover rate is still as high.

    Continue reading
    HealthTap2019-04-02
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing Place To Work At (Now!)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HealthTap full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Most folks here already know but HealthTap went through a significant executive leadership transition in May 2018 which has been for the BETTER. I can't emphasize this enough. We've gone from a culture that was filled with distrust, constant stress (for no reason), workaholism, and emotionally volatile (fueled by the previous CEO - Ron) to one where we've finally begun to embody the values that founded HealthTap. The people here are some of the smartest folks I've met and incredibly driven by the mission, the desire to give back and truly make a difference in the lives of millions of people. For the first time in the 3+ years I've been here, I see a genuine effort by management to empower/mentor people to do just that - it's wonderful to know that you are trusted with high-impact projects that really move the needle for the company/healthcare as a whole. Having dogs around is definitely a huge win, plus the other free perks like catered lunches, well-stocked kitchen, and of course the weekly massages!

    Cons

    The new CEO (who really cares for HT's Employees) has been incredibly patient with the previous C-level management and giving them an opportunity to work towards a common goal/mission in this new era of HealthTap. Not sure they are fully onboard with that. One definitely hears them speaking about their prior time at HT under Ron very fondly (unsurprising since life was VERY GOOD as long as you agreed with him and his unrealistic goals/timelines OR were his hand-chosen favorite). Not sure we need to have that kind of attitude around anymore.

    Continue reading
    HealthTap2019-02-20
  9. Helpful (5)

    "From Great to Not So Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Engineer in Palo Alto, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at HealthTap for more than a year

    Pros

    Was built on a wonderful premise. Friendly coworkers. The product helps people.

    Cons

    Since the founding CEO has left, new management steered this company in one soulless direction. No alignment with departments.

    Continue reading
    HealthTap2019-01-28
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Headed in the right direction and picking up steam"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HealthTap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The Purpose What we're building here legitimately improves the quality of life for people all over the world. It's still very much business, but you also get a sort of "self-actualization bonus" with every paycheck that few companies in Silicon Valley can match. The People I've rarely worked with finer colleagues. The company culture tends to favor those who are not only smart and dedicated, but also open and collaborative. I've found real camaraderie and genuine friendships here at HealthTap, and I know I'm far from the only one. The Perks The pay and benefits package is competitive for the area and sector, so that's certainly a good thing. More intangibly, but of equal import, we have a lot of fun! There are lots of parties and company-sponsored events, the food is good, and there's a real effort to make the office a place you want to come back to day in and day out.

    Cons

    The company has spent the last several months executing a pivot from B2C to B2B2C. While absolutely necessary, transitions like this are always difficult for the rank and file because of all the uncertainty they bring -- not to mention all the organizational and operational changes. People are still settling in to their new normals, and that can create friction for everyone. New people especially may have difficulty finding their place. Another issue is that the healthcare industry itself is highly regulated and institutionally conservative. Deals can take what seems like an eternity in startup time. That's not a "con" per se, just something that everyone should be aware of and comfortable with before joining the company.

    Continue reading
    HealthTap2018-11-27

    HealthTap Response

    January 8, 2019

    Thanks for your comments. We'll keep working hard to make healthcare better for all and to keep HealthTap growing as a great place to work.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 150 reviews