IMF Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

IMF Reviews

Updated 13 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 235 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
IMF CEO Christine Lagarde
Christine Lagarde
132 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Nice people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
      Recommends

      I have been working at IMF full-time

      Pros

      No pressure. Good atmosphere. But maybe that's because I was mostly there to talk instead of having my hope high. I did not meet certain requirements of the post but he still gave me advice on next move.

      Cons

      Not really, except I did not get the job, but that was due to my problem

      IMF2016-11-23
    • "Good place for international public service career"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at IMF

      Pros

      Competitive salary with great benefits. Smart people. Great if you're looking for applied macroeconomics work.

      Cons

      Too bureaucratic. Organization can be made much more streamlined and efficient.

      IMF2014-05-09
    • "Good place to work and learn more things"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Economist in Washington, DC

      I have been working at IMF full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      very good benefits and training

      Cons

      You can lose in the complex hierarchy

      Advice to Management

      be more open to Economists

      IMF2019-07-13
    • "Great employee"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Research Analyst in Washington, DC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at IMF full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Great stepping stone or career starter.

      Cons

      No growth potential for research analyst stream. I forget that sometimes because it is a nice place to work.

      Advice to Management

      Stop the revolving door for RA/RO staff.

      IMF2019-06-25
    • Helpful (1)

      "A nice environment to grow generalist skills"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Economist 
      Recommends

      I have been working at IMF full-time

      Pros

      It is a large organization offering plent if opportunities. People are nice to each other. The exposure to global economic and political developments is unpralelled.

      Cons

      Career progression is a bit slow. The culture is hierarchical.

      IMF2019-06-19
    • "Great"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Research Assistant 

        I have been working at IMF full-time

        Pros

        Good people and work environment

        Cons

        Hard to promote and takes even more to move up

        IMF2019-07-03
      • "Great international working place"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Economist in Washington, DC
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at IMF full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        Offers intense and rewarding hybrid experience between policy making and research across a wide spectrum of countries.

        Cons

        Like any bureaucracy, it comes with some rigidities. Promotion can be difficult to come by due to intense competition and relatively flat organizational structural. Depending on the department, work style can also be rather hierarchical.

        IMF2019-06-18
      • "Good benefits but poor opportunities"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Officer 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at IMF full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        compensation and benefits, work/life balance, diversity

        Cons

        Poor career opportunity, mid-management not engaged, All changes made together

        Advice to Management

        More structure around specialized career stream.

        IMF2019-06-26
      • "Work Environment"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Finance in Washington, DC
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at IMF full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Great company to work for!

        Cons

        Hard to get a promotion

        Advice to Management

        Ensure fairness

        IMF2019-06-11
      • "Review"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Research Analyst in Washington, DC

          I have been working at IMF full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Abundant training in advanced economics

          Cons

          Little autonomy or ability for career advancement

          IMF2019-06-25
        Found 235 reviews