Index Exchange Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Index Exchange Reviews

Updated 15 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 118 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Index Exchange CEO Andrew Casale
Andrew Casale
101 Ratings
Pros
  • "Everyone works hard but has a great work life balance(in 15 reviews)

  • "Benefits - Free lunch on Friday, stocked kitchen with drinks, great medical insurance programs, gym reimbursements, commuter benefits program, etc(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "A few growing pains but all being addressed by management(in 14 reviews)

  • "IX is a toxic work environment, don't work here if you care about,your career or your mental health(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company with huge potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Index Exchange full-time

    Pros

    - Company has a great vision, and the determination to fulfill it - People are friendly, intelligent and not afraid to share their opnion - Work life balance is pretty strong and being a family company they ensure that family comes first

    Cons

    - Over the past few years, there have been a few growing pains but the exec team has been focused on addressing any issues that scaling so quickly has created

    Advice to Management

    - Keep the communication channels open and continue to empower more junior members of staff

    Index Exchange2018-03-05
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Great Team, Fulfilling Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Client Services Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Index Exchange full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The IX team and the industry itself make IX an energising place to work. Senior leadership have positioned the company well to succeed long term. They really care about the organisation and the team overall.

    Cons

    IX is growing and with that growth comes change; adaptability is paramount to being successful here.

    Advice to Management

    Ensure non-bureaucratic culture persists as we become a larger organisation. Eager to see stock options as a part of the compensation package - I really believe in this company and look forward to alignment of incentives

    Index Exchange2016-12-07
  3. "Great environment Very nice company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Facilities Assistant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Index Exchange full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free lunch,drinks and snacks One by one meetings Great management organization Flexible schedule Free parking

    Cons

    I didn’t see any until now.

    Index Exchange2019-07-16
  4. "Great company! Looks after their employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Index Exchange full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Full Health care, great travel opportunities, bottom-up approach. You don't just feel like a number, and career progression opportunities are clear. Great company culture.

    Cons

    Long interview process, but understandable. Markets outside NA can be neglected.

    Index Exchange2019-05-15
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great company that takes care of it's employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Index Exchange full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is the first time I've given a 5 star rating ... for anything. That's not to say the company is perfect, but the cons are small enough that I don't feel it's fair to take a full star for them. With that... - Work / life balance is insane. Attention is paid to not over-committing, timelines are generous, arranging time away from the office (WFH, sick/personal days, vacation, etc) is trivial, and the hours are extremely...

    Show More

    Cons

    I can't say there's none, but I don't think any is significant enough to be a deal breaker. Here's some: - Sometimes Product can be a bit on the difficult side. It's not unheard of in the industry, but this place isn't immune to it either. - The legacy code needs to go away sooner, or needs to be fixed as it's slowing down delivery across the board, and it's just painful to work in. - There's times when the...

    Show More
    Index Exchange2019-04-25
  6. "Brave, forward thinking company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager, Analytics in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Index Exchange full-time

    Pros

    Great work enviornment and staff

    Cons

    Lack of training, and career path

    Advice to Management

    None

    Index Exchange2019-04-23
  7. "Egos Galore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Index Exchange full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Pay (if you know your market value) - Work life balance, highly respected here - Not many jerks, people are generally respectful - Company holiday parties - Branded 'swag'

    Cons

    Let me preface this with say that this experience is specific to the NY office. It does not speak to the experiences at the west coast offices or Canada. There is ego, after ego, after ego— especially in the NY office. You can walk down a very narrow hallway going in the opposite direction of a fellow employee and they will completely ignore your presence. I’ve never experience a company culture like this in my life....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I honestly don't really know. The issues this company face are so nuanced that I would struggle to find the answers myself. All I can say is that this culture is not sustainable and have the markers of becoming toxic.

    Index Exchange2019-04-02
  8. "Culture has completely gone down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Index Exchange full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    WFH Flexibility Snacks Health Benefits Growth

    Cons

    company culture has completely gone down

    Advice to Management

    have better communication and care about the employees

    Index Exchange2019-03-29
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture and lots to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Index Exchange full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great coworkers who are willing to teach, mentor, and collaborate - Managers who care about your career development and create goals for you to achieve them - friendly and inclusive culture - lots of swag from projects and orientation - free lunch (in some offices)

    Cons

    - divided between business and engineering - slow to react issues (processes and culture) - pay can be improved

    Advice to Management

    - listen to more engineers on addressing technical debt - encourage more collaboration among some teams - highlight the value that IX brings to the world

    Index Exchange2019-03-11
  10. "Overall it was OK but boring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Kitchener, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Index Exchange full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Varied opportunities for work Decent entry level pay Decent work conditions Catered lunch

    Cons

    Very political atmosphere, advancement was more on who you were on the good side of.

    Index Exchange2019-03-21
Found 118 reviews