JEA Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

JEA Reviews

Updated 10 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
52%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
JEA Managing Director and CEO Aaron Zahn (no image)
Aaron Zahn
3 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "upper management is very old school and because they are semi governmental, they are above the law(in 5 reviews)

  • "Pension and civil service is going away(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Machine Operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at JEA

    Pros

    All holidays and weekends off

    Cons

    Sometimes mandatory overtime both days

    Continue reading
    JEA2020-02-10
  2. "Good Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Meter Reader in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at JEA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Little Boss oversight. Work at your own pace so long as you get the work done. Lots of overtime.

    Cons

    Outside work in summer sucks

    JEA2019-12-27
  3. Helpful (1)

    "I like to do electronic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Any in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JEA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I like to do electronic I want to learn more things to do

    Cons

    I work before when I intern high school

    JEA2019-10-04
  4. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at JEA

    Pros

    Administration patience with staffing issues

    Cons

    Communication issues to inform all staff

    Continue reading
    JEA2019-09-11
  5. "JEA (Jacksonville)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at JEA

    Pros

    1. Great salary 2. A lot of benefits (retirement, health insurance) 3. In house training 4. Great culture and respectful people

    Cons

    Due to being such a big company, the work does not always funnel down to the lower employees. If you’re starting off, it will be very slow and boring for at least the first two years, so you won’t get to learn as much as you would in a private firm.

    Continue reading
    JEA2019-05-12
  6. "Government culture and attitude"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at JEA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Do work that benefits the community Great healthcare benefits Good location Good hours

    Cons

    Highly politicized decision making at the top results in illogical and sometimes contradictory job assignments Union contract, can't negotiate your own salary or benefits Managers are too afraid to cull poor performers Toxic masculine culture in many work groups

    Continue reading
    JEA2019-05-04
  7. "Good."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Records Compliance Coordinator in Jacksonville, FL
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at JEA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They offer great benefits and the cost of the benefits are reasonable.

    Cons

    There are a lot of employees who have been there for many many years and as such their mindset is kind of stuck in the past.

    Continue reading
    JEA2019-03-17
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Meter tech, trainee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Utility Field Tech in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at JEA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The benefits are very good

    Cons

    After twenty years it is getting very bad. They say one thing but do the opposite and micromanaging is getting very bad. They have to know what you are doing every second of the day, where you stop and how long. They want you to do for them an nothing for yourself while you are there. Live for them and not for yourself stop micromanaging . you want to know just talk to your employees

    JEA2018-09-16
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Employees simply not valued. Highly toxic work environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at JEA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Rapidly diminishing. Salaries no longer commensurate with comparable positions elsewhere. Has a pension however it’s long term viability is subject to political whims.

    Cons

    Employees are targeted by certain managers for bullying and harassment. There are no avenues to adressing bullying by management until it becomes something you can sue for and win. Work of employees not valued. Most senior management focused on maintaining their own careers and working toward the next political appointment or office. Highly political and polarized environment. Company works for the area plutocracy and ruling class, everyone else be dammed.

    Continue reading
    JEA2018-09-17
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at JEA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Employees that care about JEA

    Cons

    Lots of negative feedback and conversation about the company and the employees from the Directors, VP, and up to the new CEO. There is nothing positive to say; just keep pushing out your TV ads. If you want anything you have to be phony to get it, or the Directors only recognize the posers.

    Continue reading
    JEA2018-09-10

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 82 reviews
</>Embed