Manning Elliott Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Manning Elliott Reviews

Updated Jun 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
49%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Manning Elliott CEO Alden Aumann (no image)
Alden Aumann
5 Ratings
  1. "Good for a Mid-size"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Accountant in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manning Elliott full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people, helpful staff, good staff.

    Cons

    Worklife balance, in general, can get stuck, nepotism.

    Advice to Management

    Support as much and as soon as possible.

    Manning Elliott2019-06-26
  2. "Good company benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Accountant in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Manning Elliott full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits such as medical, snacks provided and occasional lunches

    Cons

    Can get very busy with long hours but same as all other firms

    Manning Elliott2019-06-02
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Senior accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Manning Elliott full-time

    Pros

    There are no Pros for this work place.

    Cons

    Lots of unpaid and expected OT

    Manning Elliott2019-05-10
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Senior accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Accountant in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Manning Elliott full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great support from managers, partners and HR Very knowledgable managers (unlike other companies very experienced, which has a negative side to it as well - please see cons below) Awesome flexibility (every day casual day, ability to work from home whenever desired, 6 extra days off to use whenever desired) Just read the reviews below and want to say I don’t think they are fair at all. The problem of low... budgets, cheep clients snd long hours are not Manning Elliott’s problem. That is how this industry works. If you never work for any other midsize firm you would think that ME is to blame. I work for another firm and trust me the hours, budgets, managers were way worse than ME. So in my review I’m comparing the two midsize firm in Vancouver

    Show More

    Cons

    Slow at promotions to manager - this one is a tough one since there are some positive aspects here (managers are very experienced). At other firms seniors get promoted to managers after 4-5 years of total experience. Manning is 1-2 years behind.

    Advice to Management

    Need to weight out the benefit vs cost of earlier promotions. Lots of good people left due to this.

    Manning Elliott2017-10-21
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Manning Elliott full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pays for CPA module fees

    Cons

    Lots of work and overtime required.

    Advice to Management

    Lower Hours

    Manning Elliott2017-10-08
  6. Helpful (4)

    "An employer of last resort"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Accountant in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Manning Elliott full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People are great, coworkers, and some partners really want to help you. Your paid on time. Downtown location is easy to get to. Very helpful with the CPA program

    Cons

    The place is run by HR, someone who has never completed any accounting. Think about that. You have to jump through a lot of HR hoops during your job. Budgets are crazy. ME is the lowest bidder on an audit. You now have 30 hours to complete the entire audit. Be prepared to eat your time. The clients are really junior companies you are not going to learn a lot. Wages and benefits have been slashed to the... bone. 90% of the people who I worked with are now gone. Turnover is high. I wouldn't recommend them as an employer. Only work there if it's a last resort our you want to get some public company experience. It's best to think of job as a rental not a career

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Address the biggest issue facing the company. HR.

    Manning Elliott2017-07-14
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Hard work gets rewarded"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Accountant in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Manning Elliott full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great support as you progress through modules in terms of time off, internal prep for CFE, etc. We consistently got a full week for each module, I dont know many other firms with that kind of flexibility. Obviously not everyone can make manager but as long as I was around most people who deserved, did make it. Partners actually care if you are looking to expand your experience via assigning different files.... Support from HR if you are looking to move within the firm's departments - public, private and tax. Better than expected work-life balance, 6 flex days earned can be taken at any time during the year in addition to the vacation time.

    Show More

    Cons

    Benefits could be better for students and seniors. Senior managers on track for partners hired from outside in recent years. Overtime not paid for seniors.

    Advice to Management

    Be responsive to staff leaving for big 4 firms due to increased demand in recent times. Invest in developing managers into leaders.

    Manning Elliott2016-02-29
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great place, nice people, offers flexibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manning Elliott full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Young team, nice and fun people, easy to work with - Partners always try to promote from within - Flexible schedule, paperless files - Busy during spring, flex days and fairly slow during the rest of the year - Variety of engagements, industries, projects

    Cons

    - Seniors are not paid for overtime (which is actually common now) but get a bonus once a year

    Manning Elliott2016-02-19
  9. Helpful (16)

    "Helpless"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Manning Elliott full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Flexible work hours - Reasonable Pay - Overtime paid to staff before designation

    Cons

    - Unfair favoritism - HR abuse of power with no regulation. Displays lack of integrity - Hires externally in lieu of promoting existing staff - Subtle sexism/discrimination in the work place - Lack of sincerity and accountability of HR department towards staff - Out of date Audit software - Low morale

    Advice to Management

    - Partners to focus on bigger issues (HR oversight) - listen to your staff and address issues - be accountable to your words - address staff issues to boost morale. Refrain from professional malpractice and gain true reviews as opposed to posting obvious staged ones

    Manning Elliott2016-03-20
  10. Helpful (13)

    "Good reviews are set-up from HR staff. Please don't believe them."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Manning Elliott full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You get paid. Specific (not all) partners are extremely supportive and open to having discussions on skill advancement. Collegial atmosphere amongst your peers (as opposed to culture of back stabbing to advance career present at other firms)

    Cons

    Auditing software platform is not fit for purpose. Poor quality of audit clients translates to unmarked able skills outside firm post designation. Calibre of staff decreasing as staff transition to Big4 (mass exodus of staff Q1 2016 has shifted front line file prep to Managers). Opportunity to advance to Senior Manager removed this year unless on Partner track.

    Advice to Management

    Move away from focusing on partner politics. Address the elephant in the room (i.e. HR approach and philosophy) Cultivate talent organically from within rather than hire ex-Big4 for partner track

    Manning Elliott2016-02-23
Found 19 reviews