Mind Candy Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Mind Candy Reviews

Updated Sep 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
46%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Mind Candy CEO Ian Chambers (no image)
Ian Chambers
1 Ratings
  1. "Ambitious, creative start up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Consumer Marketing in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mind Candy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced, agile and creative company where you can have a real impact. Working with global brands to build products customers love

    Cons

    Streamlined resource can be challenging as a small team

    Mind Candy2019-04-01
  2. "Varied place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 

    I worked at Mind Candy full-time

    Pros

    Great culture with different projects.

    Cons

    Priorities shifted without obvious reasoning.

    Mind Candy2019-09-09
  3. "Fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Mind Candy full-time

    Pros

    A fun and slightly wacky place to work.

    Cons

    La m of long term vision.

    Mind Candy2019-03-21
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Nice place to work but had many faults"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Frontend Developer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mind Candy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Hired very talented, great people - Great benefits and parties

    Cons

    - Didn't understand what made their products great - Too much middle management - Got tunnel vision trying to be the next billion dollar company

    Mind Candy2018-12-05
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Mind Candy full-time

    Pros

    Supportive team and fun office

    Cons

    Not a bonus scheme

    Mind Candy2018-10-17
  6. "Great company, great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technology in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mind Candy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great product(s), great people, fantastic office and atmosphere. A lot of room to grow and people to encourage grow. Overall I feel it was one of the best companies I worked for.

    Cons

    I don't really see any cons - it's like every other company - the are better times and worse times - good hires - bad hires - good decisions - bad decisions; MC was a roller-coaster across all of these.

    Advice to Management

    Don't let the brand (the real one) die.

    Mind Candy2018-01-02
  7. Helpful (1)

    "The Good - The Bad and The Ugly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mind Candy full-time

    Pros

    Great work environment - Excellent tech - Staff Lunch most Fridays - Good location and social activites

    Cons

    The Good - When in their Battersea they were young and vibrant and about 30 staff who were all great to work with The Bad - Moved to the Tea building and staff increased to about 100 in no time. Then there was a mention of the subscription number being poor with a concerned look so something was not good. The Ugly - Staff being fired almost weekly - Really bad hires - A clique formed and if you weren't part of it... you were on your own. Then the redundancies came - I knew my time was up at one of the stages - Got a decent pay off and bought shares - doubt they are worth what I paid for them. I was there for 3 years - By year 2 I was sailing a sinking ship. A great shame for something that started out so great

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do your research next time and next time the bigger suits want to buy you out do it instead of wanting to be something so great that you turned out to be the exact opposite.

    Mind Candy2018-01-10
  8. "Anything is possible!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Shoreditch, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mind Candy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Having worked in various start-ups, this is the most creative environment with the hardest-working team I've had the pleasure of working with. Everyone is held accountable for their actions and there is a genuine drive to work your absolute hardest. Opportunities are there for anyone willing to work hard enough for them. Anything really is possible!

    Cons

    There's not enough hours in the day to achieve what I want to achieve!

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing a fab job!

    Mind Candy2016-08-03
  9. "enjoyable but not the same"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Designer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mind Candy

    Pros

    Loved working there, some of the most talented people I've ever worked with

    Cons

    The company has done through 3 or 4 rounds of redundancies so I imagine a very different working environment now

    Advice to Management

    Good luck

    Mind Candy2016-02-25
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Downward Slide"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Mind Candy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, big aspirations. It used to be brilliant.

    Cons

    It's an empty shell of a company

    Advice to Management

    There's not much that can be done now! Maybe get rid of the top heavy senior management team?

    Mind Candy2016-01-15
Found 43 reviews