Mind Candy Reviews

Updated Sep 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 42 of over 42 reviews

3.4
44%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Mind Candy CEO Ian Chambers (no image)
Ian Chambers
1 Rating
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Ambitious, creative start up

    Apr 1, 2019 - Head of Consumer Marketing in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fast paced, agile and creative company where you can have a real impact. Working with global brands to build products customers love

    Cons

    Streamlined resource can be challenging as a small team

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Varied place to work.

    Sep 9, 2019 - Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great culture with different projects.

    Cons

    Priorities shifted without obvious reasoning.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Fun

    Mar 21, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A fun and slightly wacky place to work.

    Cons

    La m of long term vision.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Nice place to work but had many faults

    Dec 5, 2018 - Frontend Developer in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Hired very talented, great people - Great benefits and parties

    Cons

    - Didn't understand what made their products great - Too much middle management - Got tunnel vision trying to be the next billion dollar company

    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great place to work

    Oct 17, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Supportive team and fun office

    Cons

    Not a bonus scheme

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Great company, great people

    Jan 2, 2018 - Technology in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great product(s), great people, fantastic office and atmosphere. A lot of room to grow and people to encourage grow. Overall I feel it was one of the best companies I worked for.

    Cons

    I don't really see any cons - it's like every other company - the are better times and worse times - good hires - bad hires - good decisions - bad decisions; MC was a roller-coaster across all of these.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee

    The Good - The Bad and The Ugly

    Jan 10, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work environment - Excellent tech - Staff Lunch most Fridays - Good location and social activites

    Cons

    The Good - When in their Battersea they were young and vibrant and about 30 staff who were all great to work with The Bad - Moved to the Tea building and staff increased to about 100 in no time. Then there was a mention of the subscription number being poor with a concerned look so something was not good. The Ugly - Staff being fired almost weekly - Really bad hires - A clique formed and if you weren't part of it you were on your own. Then the redundancies came - I knew my time was up at one of the stages - Got a decent pay off and bought shares - doubt they are worth what I paid for them. I was there for 3 years - By year 2 I was sailing a sinking ship. A great shame for something that started out so great

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Former Employee

    enjoyable but not the same

    Feb 25, 2016 - Designer in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Loved working there, some of the most talented people I've ever worked with

    Cons

    The company has done through 3 or 4 rounds of redundancies so I imagine a very different working environment now

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Downward Slide

    Jan 15, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people, big aspirations. It used to be brilliant.

    Cons

    It's an empty shell of a company

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Best Job I’ve had…

    Dec 24, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Mind Candy has been an amazing place to work for the past year and has really motivated me not just at work but also in my day-to-day life. Coming from 2 companies that were fairly large, I always felt like a cog a in a huge machine, going through the same motions everyday with little in the way of exciting work or ability to get involved outside core responsibilities. Since joining Mind Candy, I have been stretched in learning a host of new skills in my field but also actively involved in other areas of the business (I even helped with testing games!). If there is something I want to do or suggest, I feel comfortable enough to approach leadership and bring my thoughts or concerns to the table. I also feel like I have a great degree of autonomy to get on with my work and Mind Candy trust that I am going to do a good job and deliver. This trust in my ability has increased my confidence over the year and motivates me to do more and achieve more. I feel Mind Candy is in line with more modern perceptions of what motivates people in terms of the desire to make an impact and the autonomy to express themselves and their ideas. Another part of my Mind Candy experience that I have enjoyed is the level of exposure to senior staff and leadership, which has further increased my confidence and general business knowledge. Just being in discussions or delivering presentations to the senior management team, the board, product directors or financiers, has improved my public speaking and taught me a lot about the inner workings and challenges of running and building a business. Mind Candy offers a good work-life balance, fun culture and flexibility. If you need to work from home for any reason, my manager has been more than happy to accommodate, as the company understands that there are sometimes personal circumstances that crop up across the year. The office environment and culture is great and I was amazed to find refreshments provided every week and beer 0’clock on a Friday. I never had anything like that at offices I worked in before so for me it is a big luxury! Above all, Mind Candy is a challenging yet extremely fun place to work that I enjoy getting up in the morning for and is filled with amazing and talented people!

    Cons

    For me, there aren’t really any that I can think of. There have been some tough decisions made by senior management in recent times, but this isn’t a negative for me. I fully understand that this is a business after all and businesses need to make tough decisions sometimes. Any young SME or start up in the tech/entertainment sector is in an unpredictable environment and so needs to adapt and make changes when necessary. The change in the technology sector is and has been rapid, as we all know, with many breakout successes as well as failures. I find this exciting and would rather this than being in a more predictable & stable large corporation.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 42 Reviews

Popular Careers with Mind Candy Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Mind Candy? Share Your Experiences

Mind Candy logo
or