Ofsted Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Ofsted Reviews

Updated 28 Nov 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Ofsted CEO Amanda Spielman
Amanda Spielman
1 Ratings
  1. "Making a difference!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ofsted full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Hugely challenging, fast-paced and rewarding environment. Nothing like my preconceptions of a Civil Service department.

    Cons

    Progression opportunities limited at senior management level, but these are available across other Civil Service departments.

    Advice to Management

    Nurture and encourage talent and give them the opportunities they need in order to progress their careers

    Ofsted2018-09-13
  2. "Little appreciation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ofsted full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Organised environment, good holiday and staff benefits.

    Cons

    Little appreciation of lower level staff, heirachical and too many box ticking exercises.

    Ofsted2018-11-28
  3. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Ofsted full-time

    Pros

    Long holidays, good salary-can't think what else

    Cons

    Badly run, bureaucracy, constant restructurings

    Ofsted2018-10-30
  4. "Working for Ofsted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England

    I have been working at Ofsted full-time

    Pros

    We DO make a difference Varied and interesting work Management approachable/supportive Ideas are listened to Great team Flexible working Really good holiday allowance

    Cons

    Sometimes a little too busy/no time to take a step back (this could be seen as a positive though because there's no time to get bored).

    Ofsted2018-02-16
  5. "Why I love working for Ofsted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at Ofsted full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Positive working environment Great colleagues / role models Interesting, challenging work Career development encouraged and supported Great benefits like flexible working and a generous annual leave allowance (32.5 days plus bank holidays)

    Cons

    There are no quiet moments working for Ofsted!

    Ofsted2018-02-15
  6. "I loved when I worked here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ofsted full-time

    Pros

    Great opportunities for development Great benefits Great workplace culture

    Cons

    Rising up through the grades can sometimes be difficult if done over a short period of time as some managers don’t look as objectively as they perhaps should.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Ofsted2017-11-09
  7. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Ofsted full-time

    Pros

    Great learning experience-very helpful staff.

    Cons

    no cons at all

    Ofsted2017-11-03

    Ofsted Response

    February 12, 2018

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on working for us through Glassdoor. It is great to hear that you had such a positive experience! All the best with your continuing career.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Ofsted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ofsted full-time

    Pros

    Colleagues are friendly and understanding.

    Cons

    Resembles a school format, a lot of hierarchy.

    Advice to Management

    To value the opinions of colleagues by acting on suggestions, no matter what grade they may be.

    Ofsted2017-09-07

    Ofsted Response

    February 12, 2018

    Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. We are currently working through actions that have resulted from the 2017 People (staff) Survey. Staff from all grades are actively encouraged to contribute in the development and delivery of their respective team action plans. We ...

    Show More
  9. "Dream job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ARC Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ofsted full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people, the job, the gratitude you receive as well as the recognition, it's like being with your chosen family

    Cons

    The money could be better but its still a great wage

    Advice to Management

    Keep supporting the staff and rewarding their hard work your recognition means a lot to us all

    Ofsted2017-07-10
  10. "HMI support officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IST Support Officer in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ofsted

    Pros

    Flexible working and holidays and interesting work

    Cons

    Bad pay, lack of opportunities

    Advice to Management

    Talk to staff more

    Ofsted2017-02-26
Found 13 reviews