Olam Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Olam Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 250 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Olam CEO Sunny Verghese
Sunny Verghese
106 Ratings
Pros
  • "good work environment and good boss(in 12 reviews)

  • "Good pay packages(comparatively) for premier-MBA candidates(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "It is difficult to maintain a work/life balance during the program because of the constant travelling and ambitious program expectations(in 22 reviews)

  • "host of them are company loyalists who have been in africa for over a decade although they wish a posting in the "developed world"(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Varied oportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Olam full-time

    Pros

    Extensive range of opportunity to work across multiple products and opportunity to travel

    Cons

    depending on what type of role can be long hours due to lean structure and need to engage with colleagues across time zones.

    Olam2018-11-20

    Olam Response

    November 21, 2018Global Recruitment - Olam International

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review about how you’re finding working with us at Olam. We’re delighted to see you’re enjoying the experience.

  2. Helpful (3)

    "About what I'd expected"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Olam full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Lots of autonomy, able to take on more work as the desk was short staffed, lots of friendly people

    Cons

    Disorganized as it was short staffed, lack of communication and too many people with differing interests, ego's, across multiple time zones working on the same projects, very long hours and lack of consideration for employee work/ life balance

    Advice to Management

    Input more structure, more consideration for staff and their work/life balance, move out of central London as there is no need to be there

    Olam2019-02-20

    Olam Response

    March 4, 2019Global Recruitment - Olam International

    Thanks for your review and the contribution you made during your time at Olam. We appreciate your feedback and will ensure it’s given to the respective teams.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Ambitious firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Olam full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Passionate leadership, good location of offices

    Cons

    Could be more organised and work on ensuring that work morale stay high by investing in more training to managers

    Advice to Management

    Make sure people aren’t overworked - give your managers more training on how to manage effectively

    Olam2018-11-21

    Olam Response

    November 22, 2018Global Recruitment - Olam International

    Thanks for sharing your current experience of working with Olam. We appreciate your feedback and will ensure it’s given to the respective teams.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Olam"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Olam full-time

    Pros

    Challenging, high levels of empowerment, friendly

    Cons

    Unstructured, lacks diversity at senior levels

    Olam2017-08-14
  5. "Good place for an exciting experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Olam

    Pros

    Great team, growing company. You get to work in exotic locations

    Cons

    Work-life balance may lack in certain situations. Lack of exit options

    Advice to Management

    No specific advice.

    Olam2015-11-28
  6. "Steep learning curve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Olam

    Pros

    We get to learn fast. Experience in Africa is a good starting point.The focus is on execution and not just strategy.

    Cons

    Cross functional movement is a bit tough. Especially if your initial role is in Africa which is usually the norm. Many years to be spent in the Origin before we can move to corporate roles.

    Advice to Management

    Please invest time and money in developing systems and processes. Its tough to grow but will be tougher to sustain growth without scaling up the systems.

    Olam2015-03-08
  7. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Olam full-time

    Pros

    Entreprenuerial spirit, personal growth

    Cons

    Youre stuck to a geography - especially if youre in Africa.

    Olam2014-07-02
  8. "Good Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Olam full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Freedom to work beyond your JD, high flexibility, strong culture, competitive pay

    Cons

    unstructured environment can lead to difficulties for new joiners

    Olam2019-05-22
  9. "Its good to work @ Olam"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Olam full-time

    Pros

    Olam work for their own and there is clients to work under pressure environment.

    Cons

    Few of the Managers are showing Bossy character with their subordinates.

    Olam2019-05-17
  10. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Forklift Operator in Williams, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Olam full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay and good hours

    Cons

    Can get very hectic at times

    Olam2019-05-07
Found 250 reviews