Optimus Search Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Optimus Search Reviews

Updated Nov 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Optimus Search  CEO Nigel Livingston (no image)
Nigel Livingston
30 Ratings
Pros
  • "I worked for Optimus search for 6 months and I have nothing but good words to say(in 8 reviews)

  • "(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long Hours with markets that will take time to understand(in 9 reviews)

  • "Working hours are longer than you standard 9-5(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "-"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Administrator in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Optimus Search full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Family like Company & Team Company trips, events, well-being activities, many perks e.g. gym, vouchers, drinks Owners are very hands-on and lead from the front.

    Cons

    More Holiday days would be preferable.

    Optimus Search 2019-11-15
  2. "Human resource assistant."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Generalist in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Optimus Search full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people and culture at Optimus search is really what makes it so unique. It is like a family-orientated environment with healthy competition where everyone wants everyone to do well. The opportunity for progression is great and your hard work has endless recognition and rewards.

    Cons

    Optimus Search has no cons,

    Advice to Management

    -

    Optimus Search 2019-11-04
  3. "Excellent company/culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Optimus Search full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Energetic and dynamic environment

    Cons

    None worth listing on here

    Optimus Search 2019-09-17
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Not for me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Optimus Search full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Nice office location - There is some real earning potential there IF you are willing to do a lot of busy work (do refer to the cons though...) - There are some nice people working there - Free fruit about twice a week - Sometimes there's drinks on Fridays

    Cons

    Before I get to the cons, I want to qualify the following by saying that I myself am to blame for some of the negative experiences I had at Optimus. I joined with only a very basic understanding of this industry and should have done more research. That being said, in each stage of the interview process, the reality of working at Optimus was not always represented accurately. Perks like working hours, gym membership,... realistic earnings in the first year, and the extent to which real, challenging consulting happens at Optimus were all represented very positively but realistically didn't meet those expectations. With this in mind, here are some of my observations: - The hours at Optimus are pretty crazy. I think that Optimus would really benefit by drastically cutting the work hours of their employees. Instead of 8 to 6 (which are the bare minimum hours for rookies, 7:30 to 6:45 is a more realistic expectation for starters), Optimus could distinguish itself by having 9-5 work hours. I don't think there would be massive financial losses because of the effective work hours in Germany (where Optimus mainly operates) and because I am quite sure that people would simply restructure their time more efficiently or stay longer if they want to. One of the many upsides of this would be that turnover could probably be reduced (because rookies would know that they wouldn't find these hours at any other company and feel like Optimus really cares about them). There's, of course, a lot more to be said in favor of this, and I'd encourage the management to read up on the literature on reducing work hours. - The workplace culture is pretty bad. I have met some awesome people at Optimus. I have also met some people that I really wouldn't want to spend time with, ever. It is definitely a very laddy, money-driven, egotistical, and late stage-capitalist environment. - Soccer, workout, girls make up 90% of the office talk. It can get boring very fast. People aren't really working towards the same goal either. Everyone says there's a communal goal but that's not true. The employees are very self-interested and mostly try to turn any lead, candidate, or opportunity they found to a profit themselves. This can be nice to make money (in the short run) but just felt like bad allocation of human capital, as this leads to people not sharing details about a job because they want to ensure their own financial success, which will eventually hurt the business (in the long run). - What I mean by late-stage capitalist environment is that the whole operation sort of feels like that Black Mirror episode where a bunch of people have to work out in the basement of this prison-like complex while watching screens that display the potential rewards for their labor, if only they work hard enough. If you're an Optimus employee, I'd encourage you to watch it. In the office, there's a large screen in the center of the room that, similarly, and constantly, shows a video of girls in bikinis, DJs having fun, and the select few employees of Optimus who will get to go on a trip to Ibiza because they worked hard enough to reach targets. I am not knocking the concept of incentives, but I am pointing out that this is kind of a capitalist nightmare, specifically in conjunction with the long hours and the monotonous work. I think what might really incentivize people to create more value for the company would be to adjust their fulfillment with the job and creating a better work-life balance. That screen is scary. - Hierarchy is an extremely important aspect of the work culture. It's also really outdated. If you have ideas on how to improve the business, you must be extremely careful with how to introduce it, to whom, when, and in what context. It is not an environment that fosters open communication. Towards the end of my employment, I casually suggested to one of the more senior employees a new way to source clients, partly to share knowledge, partly to hear his feedback on my idea. I wasn't pushy or a know-it-all about it. However, somehow, the conversation ended with him being offended by my suggestion and quite loudly pointing out to me that I had been listening to music towards the end of the previous day (which: was true!). I was both disappointed and disillusioned with how a well-intentioned piece of advice could lead to such a counter-intuitive response. I was let go the day after. Rumor has it this exchange put the final nail in my Optimus coffin, though I have no idea if that's true! - You will be encouraged to, well, lie. A lot. And you will be told that your definition of a lie is wrong. Ethically, it's not for me at all. But what gets me the most about this is that no one in the company will recognize their behavior as unethical. Each time I questioned a practice I was essentially reeducated and lectured on what a real lie constitutes. I hated that. - Having worked in the industry for just about one month, I think it's fair to say that recruitment is an extremely repetitive and intellectually unrewarding industry. This is not Optimus exclusively, but something that I probably should have been aware of before joining. As a recruiter, you are a cog in a massive machine and you're constantly trying to find two matching gears to connect. However, when you do find a match, the only real reward to speak of is money. I felt extremely depressed by the emotional detachment that I felt from my co-workers when they spoke about their motivations for this job. How some people have worked at this company for nearly a decade is beyond me. This is not to say that some of them aren't friendly, intelligent, driven people but just an observation that I want to make so that potential employees can consider whether this is an industry / company they want to commit to. To conclude, I want to admit that I wasn't the most diligent employee either. I didn't make the call times that I was supposed to and perhaps questioned my work more than I should have in the early stages of my employment. While this was in part because of a lack of instructions on how to proceed once all traditional avenues to reach clients are exhausted, I certainly wasn't hyper-motivated to find out myself. For that reason, I can't really fault Optimus for letting me go. The above criticisms are a reflection of my personal experience and my observations at the company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Look into smarter work hours - If you want to beat the competition, do more to set your company apart from the competitors. - One way to do this could be to invest in software to automate much of the work you're doing now. I understand that this isn't the norm today but this industry is already being automated away in the US and that trend will continue in the UK and Europe soon. Much of the work your... employees do can be done by machines and if you can figure out a way to get a head start on automatization, you will be at the forefront of this industry in five years' time. This could mean collaborating with relevant software developers or even investing in your own software. Finally, please understand that this review isn't meant in a spiteful way at all. I personally learned a lot during my time at Optimus, and although I, well... hated the job, I didn't hate the experience.

    Show More
    Optimus Search 2019-09-12
  5. "Great place to work with amazing benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Optimus Search full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I joined Optimus Search in 2016 and didn´t have a lot of experience in the Recruiting world. However Optimus took the time and effort to fully train me and support me in my journey. Working in an Environment with people that feel like "Family" to you, motivates one every day. Yes, Recruiting is stressful but this is inevitable in any Sales Job and the amount of benefits we recieved on hitting our Targets, made up... for it. I would recommend anyone who is interested in Recruiting, or has experience, to join Optimus Search, because you won´t be disappointed.

    Show More

    Cons

    Nothing to complain about Optimus Search

    Optimus Search 2019-08-13
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Optimus Search full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I worked for Optimus search for 6 months and I have nothing but good words to say! Since day one you felt like a part of the team, every single employee is so welcoming! Couldn’t get better training from any other agency, Alex is so enthusiastic and knowledgeable! Don’t only work alongside your friends but the owners of the company, hard working and down to earth guys, not only top managers but great outside the... office! Couldn’t recommend Optimus Search enough!

    Show More

    Cons

    Absolutely nothing, no complaints from start to finish you feel welcomed!

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing!!

    Optimus Search 2019-07-24
  7. "One of the best in the business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Optimus Search full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Enable their consultants to be the best in their respective markets Teach them skills that are not obtainable at other recruitment companies Working alongside consultants with high ambitions and knowledge Friendly competition which enables consultants to push that little bit extra but also the help is available from anyone when needed. Great atmosphere and family like environment. Fast growing with top of the... market internal recruiter and L&D aiding you throughout the process. Excellent management who are available to you at all times of the day.

    Show More

    Cons

    I genuinely cannot think of any bad experiences I personally went through at Optimus.

    Optimus Search 2019-07-08
  8. "Great office, great people, hard industry and market"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Optimus Search full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - the most of the people which work there are second to none and great to have - i never felt that a day was long because there is always somebody to have a quick chat or laugh with - they have really switched on people which can give you good advice in on and off the desk - there data and client base is good to work with - overall i really enjoyed my time, i was just looking for a different career path - if... you choose to work in recruitment, i would recommend you Optimus since there training to lay the foundation is really good, too

    Show More

    Cons

    - long hours in recruitment - cultural difference makes the work harder since there are far to less german speaking people for the markets they work in - i was missing a bit of an outlook what´s the next step some day

    Optimus Search 2019-06-25
  9. "I do like the money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Optimus Search full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The Progression is great, I know people to get to A senior level in 18 months 6 month trips to Ibiza, Skiing trip, Boat Party & Royal Ascot Team Building events Monthly Lunch clubs at expensive places Office is in a brilliant location Open Plan office, so its easy to get involved with everyone Finish early on a Friday Fifa at break Table Tennis at break Weekly Training to all staff Some people have... earned over £10k in a month HUGE yearly incentive, earn £6,000 on top of your normal earnings for being top biller The Team Leaders are great

    Show More

    Cons

    Long Hours with markets that will take time to understand Unacceptable to be late High Expectations A lot of phone work

    Advice to Management

    Overall really good. Not all recruitment is done over the phone – let people use the tools you’ve paid for like LinkedIn There are the odd people who spoil it for the others.

    Optimus Search 2019-06-24
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Not Great but Not Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Optimus Search full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people I work with on a day to day basis and the training you receive are the only highlights

    Cons

    Long draining hours, we have some amazing software and tools to do our job but all the owners care about is being on the phone, if you're on LinkedIn (that they pay for) then get off that, get on the phone.

    Advice to Management

    Look after your staff (not just fancy holidays and incentive trips) they are the most important asset to your business. Don't ask people to leave good reviews because of a few bad ones either....

    Optimus Search 2019-07-12
Found 48 reviews