Oxford Instruments Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Oxford Instruments Reviews

Updated 24 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Oxford Instruments CEO Dr Ian Barkshire
Dr Ian Barkshire
18 Ratings
Pros
  • "Lots of good people in the trenches that work hard and care about the company(in 6 reviews)

  • "The hourly employees are great people to work with(in 5 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Electronics engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Electronics Engineer in Abingdon, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oxford Instruments full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Interesting work. Very good people.

    Cons

    I can think of any.

    Oxford Instruments2019-04-16
  2. "Good luck working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Test Engineer in Bristol, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Oxford Instruments full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I am yet to find any

    Cons

    If you're looking for recognition for your ability you should look elsewhere, this place promotes personality and empty promises.

    Oxford Instruments2019-10-24
  3. "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Abingdon, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oxford Instruments full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent environment and people working to improve the world

    Cons

    Lack of real benefits and

    Advice to Management

    Bolder decisions

    Oxford Instruments2019-09-18
  4. "good environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern 

    I worked at Oxford Instruments part-time

    Pros

    friendly, relax, inspiring, thought-provoking

    Cons

    feel good about it, no particular cons.

    Oxford Instruments2019-07-18
  5. Helpful (3)

    "It's all about the company, employees are an afterthought"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Testing Engineer in Yatton, South West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Oxford Instruments full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Interesting workplace with interesting people

    Cons

    Stressful conniving dictatorship with aggressive incompetent management

    Advice to Management

    Have more respect for your employees they are people not equipment

    Oxford Instruments2019-07-20
  6. "OK but not recommending"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Oxford Instruments full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Beautiful surroundings Interesting work on site

    Cons

    Not very social Pipeline not great

    Oxford Instruments2019-05-19
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Loads of potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oxford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oxford Instruments full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people Varied work Fascinating technology Early Friday finish (1pm) - great in helping work life balance (particularly useful whilst children are school age - opportunity to pick up primary age kids from the school gate)

    Cons

    Squeezing more and more out of employees Constantly changing expectations of people Bringing in new people rather than developing and promoting from within Average remuneration … not great

    Advice to Management

    Value the people you have. Allow time for initiatives to embed before introducing yet another. Be careful about alienating staff

    Oxford Instruments2019-04-13
  8. "Good workforce"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vacuum Technician in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oxford Instruments full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good place with excellent support from colleagues

    Cons

    The location is a bit out of the way, but quite quick to access from Oxford

    Oxford Instruments2019-03-22
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Human Resources Director in Oxford, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at Oxford Instruments full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly supportive place to work. People are proud of the products and the heritage but are also ambitious to develop unique products that continue to make a difference to society. Finishing early Friday is also fantastic for better work life balance.

    Cons

    No concerns found to date.

    Oxford Instruments2018-11-06
  10. "Great and geting better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oxford Instruments full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Supportive culture, talented colleagues, super interesting products, taking lots of steps to invest in the future, allowed to get on with it, flexible, international, the company is doing things that will change the world - for the better and we produce real things!

    Cons

    We're still maturing as an organisation - which means there's loads of interesting things to do and work on. As a mid-size company - there's always more to do and get involved with than time to do it.

    Advice to Management

    More of the same - keep building for the future

    Oxford Instruments2018-10-30
Found 91 reviews