Oxford Instruments Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Oxford Instruments Reviews

Updated 14 November 2018
78 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Oxford Instruments Chief Executive Officer Dr Ian Barkshire
Dr Ian Barkshire
9 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Human Resources Director in Oxford, England
    Current Employee - Human Resources Director in Oxford, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at Oxford Instruments full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Friendly supportive place to work. People are proud of the products and the heritage but are also ambitious to develop unique products that continue to make a difference to society. Finishing early Friday is also fantastic for better work life balance.

    Cons

    No concerns found to date.

    Oxford Instruments Response

    9 Nov 2018 – Talent Acquisition Business Partner

    Thanks for taking the time to write this review. Pride, ambition and the chance to make a difference - a great summary of life at OI!


  2. "Great and geting better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oxford, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oxford Instruments full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Supportive culture, talented colleagues, super interesting products, taking lots of steps to invest in the future, allowed to get on with it, flexible, international, the company is doing things that will change the world - for the better and we produce real things!

    Cons

    We're still maturing as an organisation - which means there's loads of interesting things to do and work on. As a mid-size company - there's always more to do and get involved with than time to do it.

    Advice to Management

    More of the same - keep building for the future

    Oxford Instruments Response

    6 Nov 2018 – Talent Acquisition Business Partner

    Thanks for taking the time to write this review. It's great to hear that you're engaged and interested, and that you feel you're making a difference.

  3. "Love my job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Abingdon, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Abingdon, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oxford Instruments full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Really interesting work, with really interesting colleagues. My boss is great - he sets me projects and challenges to get on with, trusts me to deliver, but is there if required.

    Having worked for tiny companies and huge companies, Oxford Instruments feels like the perfect size. There's interesting work to be done, and I'm developing professionally here, but there aren't huge layers of bureaucracy to slow down our decisions and get in the way.

    And the site is beautiful too. Tucked away in the woods, but very near Oxford.

    And we finish at 1pm on Fridays. Perfect!

    Cons

    Nothing much comes to mind. Maybe there could be slightly healthier food options in the canteen?

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing a great job.

    Oxford Instruments Response

    6 Nov 2018 – Talent Acquisition Business Partner

    Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We're glad to hear you're enjoying working here.


  4. "Interesting company where to work your whole life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technologist in High Wycombe, England
    Current Employee - Senior Technologist in High Wycombe, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oxford Instruments full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Very interesting projects, clever and helpful colleagues. Good work ethic. Good interaction with management. Work from home option. A very flexible company with interesting career options.

    Cons

    Location bit difficult to reach (lot of traffic at certain hours of the day).

    Oxford Instruments Response

    6 Nov 2018 – Talent Acquisition Business Partner

    Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We hope you have a long and interesting career with us.


  5. "Employee of OI NA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Oxford Instruments full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Oxford Instruments is a good company to work for. Aside from the usual company benefits (Healthcare, dental care, pension etc) there are other added extras arranged for us (free fruit, discounted IT and others).
    The work is often chaotic and a lot of fire fighting happens on a daily basis - lack of resources can often play a part but in general the team is a good one. The people are friendly and assistance is always provided where needed. Training and further development was lacking at the start but has been improved upon and steps taken to ensure career progression is available. This still needs to be properly fleshed out.

    Cons

    A lot is required and usually on extremely short lead-times. Resources always seem to be lacking - we are always fighting to keep our heads above water rather than being pro-active.
    Numerous layers of management can cause issues as duplication of work and reporting often causes additional headaches & pressures. Blurring of responsibilities and authorities can be a pain.

    Oxford Instruments Response

    6 Nov 2018 – Talent Acquisition Business Partner

    Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We're pleased you're in a friendly and supportive team, and that you feel career progression is available. Hopefully the work on building... More


  6. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - COMMERCIAL SALES TEAM LEADER in Oxford, England
    Current Employee - COMMERCIAL SALES TEAM LEADER in Oxford, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at Oxford Instruments full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great environment, friendly and professional colleagues, interesting work

    Cons

    Poor public transport links from local area

    Oxford Instruments Response

    6 Nov 2018 – Talent Acquisition Business Partner

    Thanks for taking the time to write this review. Public transport can be a challenge, but we're looking at ways of encouraging car-sharing and there are facilities for people who want to cycle to... More


  7. "Senior Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in High Wycombe, England
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in High Wycombe, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Oxford Instruments full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Gained great experience in a relaxed environment.

    Cons

    Steep learning curve for those new to the industry.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing, what you are doing.

    Oxford Instruments Response

    6 Nov 2018 – Talent Acquisition Business Partner

    Thanks for the review! We're glad to hear you liked the working environment. Keep in touch if you'd ever like to discuss opportunities to return.

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Old and Outdated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Bristol, England
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Bristol, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Oxford Instruments full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    flexi working hours, and great teams

    Cons

    poor management, lots of politics, some management have no relevant experience , poor communication from management , haphazard way of working, no clear instructions or training, process never documented, very poor salary, software is of cave man era

    Advice to Management

    make way for today's management style

    Oxford Instruments Response

    6 Nov 2018 – Talent Acquisition Business Partner

    Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We're glad you liked the people you worked with. Operational Excellence is a focus for all the OI businesses and sites, so hopefully processes and... More


  9. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Oxford Instruments full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great location and environment to work in

    Cons

    There’s a lot of management layers

    Oxford Instruments Response

    6 Nov 2018 – Talent Acquisition Business Partner

    Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We're glad you liked the location and the environment. Keep in touch if you'd ever like to discuss opportunities to return.


  10. "Typical Manufacturing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Oxford Instruments full-time

    Pros

    Flexible working. Friday afternoons are off.

    Cons

    Not very efficient way of working. Dont seek much ways to improve status quo.
    Salary and hikes are not great and no bonuses