Pearson Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Pearson Reviews

Updated 15 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
55%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Pearson CEO John Fallon
John Fallon
1,296 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Not a lot of leeway to make decisions (upper management gets to decide a lot) , sometimes the scoring can be vague and not always up to you to decide(in 135 reviews)

  • "senior management decisions sometimes appear impulsive(in 89 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pearson full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture and people, great benefits

    Cons

    matrix structure and lots of companies

    Pearson2019-12-29
  2. "Great Employee Benefits, but you're just a number!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Internal Sales Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pearson full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent employee benefits and perks

    Cons

    Treat employees like numbers, they do not care if staff are overworked and start making mistakes

    Continue reading
    Pearson2020-02-15
  3. "Relaxed environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Subject Leader in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pearson full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good leave allowance, interesting work at peak times, opportunities to move around the business, making an impact

    Cons

    limited staff training and development for a educations company, poor downwards steam communication, slow HR department, lower pay compared to other exam boards

    Continue reading
    Pearson2020-02-10
  4. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Specialist in Warrington, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pearson full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for excellent benefits.

    Cons

    Nothing to report great company to work for.

    Pearson2020-02-05
  5. "Potential to be made with correct leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pearson full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company broadly speaking, benefits and support good. I would have stayed with the right line manager / leader / senior manager.

    Cons

    Parachuting management in to "fix" problems without consulting with people on the ground to fully understand the complexities of the problem. This was not a once off and happened on numerous occasions. Leadership avoid the issue and the team members who confront issues head on.

    Continue reading
    Pearson2020-02-11
  6. "Positive experience overall but lacks direction in some business areas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pearson full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Positive place to work with. Has a global reach so opportunities to work internationally. Fast paced environment. Good work-life balance.

    Cons

    Internal competition / overlapping strategies. Lack of cohesive leadership and direction in some areas. Budgets reducing.

    Continue reading
    Pearson2020-01-22
  7. "Okay Company - Loads of Issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pearson full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People - office camaraderie, some good team leads and managers. Location. Promotion is possible, but only for one grade. I moved from Associate to Analyst in 18 months. Bonus is nearly 10% Ability to Report to Stakeholders Systems exposure Fun 3 years - although the pivot was a shambles.

    Cons

    Long hours Hiring higher paid staff to replace you Sub market wage Office Politics. My Team Lead was excellent and my first department manager too. Poor Staff - one member of staff was promoted to my team and was carried by management. Took numerous tea breaks and used to spin on the chair. Key deadlines were missed and to no punishment. Staff are generally mediocre on Excel Outsourcing of work to India has been a disaster Constantly changing study policy Had to leave before finishing ACCA because I would be stuck on 21k even while chartered.

    Continue reading
    Pearson2020-01-29
  8. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Operations in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Pearson full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    flexible and supportive environment with plenty of internal opportunities

    Cons

    Global projects and admin can make it hard to achieve local initiatives - but they are for the greater good.

    Pearson2020-01-12
  9. "Staff are great here in general."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Pearson full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice bunch of people to work with mostly and the introduction process from office Manager is excellent.

    Cons

    Salary is not the best so best to negotiate with them.

    Continue reading
    Pearson2020-01-25
  10. "flexible working"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pearson full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good pension scheme and the others

    Cons

    low pay, too much legacy, some people not good to work with

    Pearson2020-01-25

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 3896 reviews