Pearson Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Pearson Reviews

Updated 21 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3672 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Pearson CEO John Fallon
John Fallon
1209 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work life balance- I don't clock in after work hours and this was important to me(in 311 reviews)

  • "Great part time work from home gig(in 260 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Pearson full-time

      Pros

      Good benefits and flexible working.

      Cons

      Varies on experience between different divisions.

      Pearson2019-06-19
    • "na"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Teacher 

        I worked at Pearson part-time

        Pros

        Love the friendly environment indeed

        Cons

        Values need changes in an international context

        Pearson2019-07-21
      • "A good place to work for those seeking to create change"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Research Manager in London, England
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Pearson full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        An interesting company with good culture

        Cons

        Lots of restructures - mix of new and old cultures

        Pearson2019-07-21
      • "Experience at Pearson"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Subject Leader in London, England
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Pearson full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Great work environment, friendly and supportive people to work with.

        Cons

        Not much room for progression. Salary could be a lot better.

        Advice to Management

        Support staff with progression and appraisals should be more fair rather than generic for everyone.

        Pearson2019-07-12
      • "Nice people"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Director in London, England
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Pearson full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        Great environment, lovely people, and truly flexible (although I do think this is dependent on where you work in the business.)

        Cons

        Things move way too slowly - especially in terms of technology.

        Advice to Management

        Executive management isn't diverse enough and have been with the company for ages

        Pearson2019-07-03
      • "A Bullying Management culture galore!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Teacher 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook

        I worked at Pearson full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Colleagues (some of them) Learners

        Cons

        Bullying from Education Manager Favourites from management Told you are units of costs (and at that to be reduced!)

        Advice to Management

        Start from scratch

        Pearson2019-07-17
      • "Great Company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Software Architect in Oxford, England
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Pearson full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Healthy work balance. Very relaxed. Nice environment.

        Cons

        Given a large company, progress is sometimes a little too slow.

        Advice to Management

        The majority of managers are really great with the exception of a few that don't fit the companies work ethics and values

        Pearson2019-06-26
      • Helpful (2)

        "Some good people, but a mess"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Financial Analyst in Belfast, Northern Ireland
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Pearson full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Modern office, some friendly colleagues

        Cons

        Mess, tried to expand too quickly. Some people are in management positions who have extremely poor people skills

        Advice to Management

        Less autocratic approach by some managers

        Pearson2019-07-03
      • Helpful (3)

        "Worst company I have ever experienced"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Account Specialist in Manchester, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Pearson full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        Salary at the end of the month, and leaving work with out punching one of the management team every day.

        Cons

        Where do I start? Unless you are willing to be part of the senior teams bum chum buddy's or you are willing to lick bum you are unlikely to get anywhere. Half the senior team seem to have relations which each other, and most of them are related. Very strange place to work, and then to top it off I was just made redundant, and then message was put on the electronic boards on my final days saying to those staff who...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Leave

        Pearson2019-07-14
      • "Happy in my work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Operations Manager in Leighton Buzzard, England
        Recommends
        Negative Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Pearson full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Great benefits, good working environment, supportive management

        Cons

        Continual Threat of redundancies

        Pearson2019-06-08
      Found 3672 reviews