PeoplePerHour Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

PeoplePerHour Reviews

Updated 18 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 45 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Xenios Thrasyvoulou
40 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Talented team with excellent vision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PeoplePerHour full-time

    Pros

    Excellent vision aspiring to create a truly impactful product. Great team of forward thinkers managing the complex road to rebuild the product. A mixed group of senior talent from many industries.

    Cons

    The team is understaffed in places.

    Advice to Management

    Grow the workforce to enhance our capacity and reduce our time to market.

    PeoplePerHour2018-10-23
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Dishonest acts to make more profit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PeoplePerHour full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    you can just get your salary

    Cons

    You will be engaged to exploit. No morality...

    Advice to Management

    Make profit through providing the good services to the customers and that is the one and only method of successful companies

    PeoplePerHour2019-07-18
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great team, shame about the owner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Payment Specialist in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PeoplePerHour full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The team were really fabulous

    Cons

    Everything else. Mainly any interaction with the owner.

    Advice to Management

    Learn the names of your staff as a start.

    PeoplePerHour2019-05-29
  4. Helpful (2)

    "As bad as it gets"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PeoplePerHour full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are a few pros in every place but in this I don't think they are worth listing given how many cons there are

    Cons

    Toxic CEO creates a toxic environment. Do yourself a favor and avoid the PPH. The leadership style is control and paranoia. Ask questions about company culture and longevity of employees who work close to the CEO before joining and make an opinion for yourself.

    PeoplePerHour2019-05-23
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Challenging but Rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - DevOps Team Leader in Saint Albans, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PeoplePerHour full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    “With great power comes great responsibility” and at PeoplePerHour the opposite is also true - the staff given responsibility are supported so they have all the power they need to push through changes needed to meet their goals. There’s plenty of opportunity to make a impact and to be noticed, you will never feel like a cog in machine. Supporting the Freelancer scene is rewarding - real people make a real living through...

    Show More

    Cons

    Jobs are not “cookie cutter” roles - people do what is needed. This is not for everyone, it is not necessarily a comfortable Job, there’s lots of change, lots of confrontation and lots of satisfaction when a problem is solved as a team. The Freelancer space is competitive and I feel we are in a fight for survival mode quite often. That’s exciting, but hard work.

    PeoplePerHour2018-10-09
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Great startup with a lot of potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PeoplePerHour full-time

    Pros

    The product is great, the company is growing, the team is competent and innovative. There is a lot of room for professional and personal growth as you have the opportunity to learn and be mentored by a lot of other senior members of the company with over a decade of experience in running a tech startup

    Cons

    The work is demanding, you need to perform, but that only helps you get better

    Advice to Management

    clear cut reward and growth system will be nice. Knowing what you can achieve if you put x effort or work extra hours.

    PeoplePerHour2018-10-20
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Challenging work with a focus on innovation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tech Lead, Head of New Product in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PeoplePerHour full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    As a CTO of TalentDesk.io - a cloud solution backed by PeoplePerHour - and a senior software engineer formerly working at PeoplePerHour for almost 5 years, I had the chance to witness the transformation of an ambitious start-up to an established company that serves a real purpose - allow people live their work dream! What I like in a nutshell: - Part of a company that serves a real purpose and makes a difference ...

    Show More

    Cons

    The freelancing space is a demanding and competitive one and certainly working in such a versatile environment requires effort and hard work. Challenging tasks and deadlines are part of the game, same as satisfaction and reward.

    Advice to Management

    Your people is your product - devote more time for internal professional development and give more emphasis on enhancing work life quality and providing a wider range of benefits.

    PeoplePerHour2018-10-10
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Great place to take on responsibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PeoplePerHour full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    PeoplePerHour is the parent company to TalentDesk.io, which is where I work. It is a great environment to take as much responsibility as you like. I am constantly learning and am very challenged on a daily basis. The industry is growing massively and we are well positioned for a successful future

    Cons

    If you don't like working in small teams with clear accountability for work done this place is probably not for you.

    Advice to Management

    Keep working to improve the quality of the team and product and you are set for success

    PeoplePerHour2018-10-09
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Great product and lots of opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PeoplePerHour full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Given a lot of freedom with the work we do Able to have input in many different areas of the business Fun team Product that we all believe in

    Cons

    Not really a con, but there's always a lot on because there's so many ideas for company growth

    PeoplePerHour2018-10-03
  10. Helpful (13)

    "Bad leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PeoplePerHour full-time

    Pros

    Interesting industry with some good trends. Small structure. Good location. Fierce competition. Both Upwork and Fiverr are doing great and taking a good share of PPH business

    Cons

    I’m usually cautious with negative Glassdoor reviews but in this case what is being said is quite accurate unfortunately. The CEO cannot be trusted. He has little respect for people around him whether they have employees, suppliers or partners. Things often end up with disputes. The HR function is regarded as a waste of money. Long term salary incentives are built in a way that makes them very unlikely to realise....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management is very narcissistic and arrogant and won’t accept any advice. Not worth the headache

    PeoplePerHour2018-11-06
Found 45 reviews