Prosper.com Reviews

Updated 20 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
61%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Prosper.com Chief Executive Officer  David Kimball
David Kimball
53 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people, culture, and benefits(in 15 reviews)

  • "Inspiring leadership, great benefits, solid product and terrific atmosphere(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "First thing the CPO says after the layoffs is that now it's much easier to fit in meeting rooms(in 11 reviews)

  • "Consistent lack of success outside of personal loans(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Decent pay and good work/life balance"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Prosper.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Culture is good with intelligent people around

    Cons

    Not aggressively innovative given the current market conditions

    Prosper.com2020-05-20
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Good culture, not progressing"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Associate in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Prosper.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good culture, work balance, atmosphere

    Cons

    Equity losing value, company not progressing with new products

    Prosper.com2020-04-23
  3. Helpful (2)

    "No momentum"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Developer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Prosper.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good colleagues, decent comp and benefits

    Cons

    No innovation. To many chiefs, slow to innovate. An odd culture of entrenched mediocrity. Horrible HR and ops.

    Continue reading
    Prosper.com2020-05-11
  4. "Friendly and collaborative culture, challenging business conditions"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Prosper.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Friendly and collaborative work environment -Good work-life balance -Quarterly reviews and emphasis on regular communication with manager about professional development

    Cons

    Challenging business environment - crowded personal loan space, intense competition for tech talent.

    Prosper.com2020-04-22
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Rotting company with destructive, disengaged management"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Prosper.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - High pay, nice office, good benefits (just did big pay cuts and stopped most benefits due to Covid-19 though so beware!!) - Few working hours a day (mostly meetings, culture of low-work and low-output generally, platform runs itself mostly) - Little expectations or awareness of your work output (managers are asked to only people-manage and are thus pretty unengaged) - Amazing gig for a middle-manager or executive if they lack the chops to perform or if you're just looking to put your feet up for a few years - Kind people who are friendly, great people+places team - I felt lucky to be at Prosper when I was there and put a lot of my life into it. However, I could not recommend a friend or family member to join Prosper in the state it is in today.

    Cons

    - Years of a shrinking market, deteriorating product offering, and dozens of competitors with better offerings. Prosper's product has been overpriced and worsening for years. - Prosper is 12+ years old on a Series G with no sustained profit, dwindling cash, all-time-high competition, its management is void of all-stars or even decent players, and is lending into a credit crisis. - History of lying to investors, management coverups, and SEC action: Prosper overstated its returns to 30,000+ investors for years knowingly and was fined $3M by the SEC. Most of the management responsible for this are still at Prosper and were called out for incompetence by the SEC for not knowing how to calculate investor returns despite knowing they were doing it falsely for years - "The order also finds that Prosper failed to identify and correct the error despite Prosper's knowledge that it no longer understood how annualized net returns were calculated and despite investor complaints about the calculation" - UX leadership has made most beloved UX designers walk out the door forever, dominates meetings with firehoses of unintelligible communication and no real work, seems to come in and out of reality. - You probably won't learn from your manager, and you will find it very difficult to find mentors. Prosper hasn't attracted that type of talent for a long time, and for years that quality talent has been leaving while some of the worst stay. CEO likes to say "manage more, work less" - Overpaid, disengaged executives with poor work ethic and ancient domain expertise - Board stays at arms length after years of being fed what execs call the "board narrative" - an actual separate narrative than what has actually happened in reality. I wish I was kidding. I wish I could say more. - Tech stack is described as an "atomic time bomb" with eng leadership that hasn't been technical in years and years. - Executives at all levels have no Tech experience meaning important signals (like false investor returns) fall on deaf ears resulting in years of uninformed decision-making, failed acquisitions/layoffs, regulation-breaking, failed projects, failed partnerships, coverups, and more.

    Continue reading
    Prosper.com2020-05-17
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Things are quite bad"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Title in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Prosper.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, work/life balance, nice people

    Cons

    Culture of complacency Lack of accountability Insincere leadership: espouses our mission to be category defining but we lag our competition (eg additional products, co applicant) - all while they’re definitely (and unsuccessfully) trying to sell the company (see business insider article) CEO isn’t leading; doesn’t have a vision - an ex bank exec that is conservative / lacks conviction, seems insecure Mass exodus of talent over recent 6-12 months is disturbing Two execs have left / in process of leaving There’s basically no marketing team

    Continue reading
    Prosper.com2020-02-28
  7. "Nice place to learn work on different technology stack"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Construction Business Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Prosper.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work-life balance Fruits every day Friday Breakfast

    Cons

    None that I can think of. You will be told to leave if you are not ok with top management decisions.

    Prosper.com2020-01-12
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Disappointing"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Prosper.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You can be average and shine since the majority of people are under-performers.

    Cons

    There is a shocking amount of incompetent people and leadership is unwilling to do anything about it. Little to no accountability for massive mistakes that continue to happen. Any decent employee who makes the mistake of working here leaves fairly soon after, they can’t keep any of the good ones.

    Continue reading
    Prosper.com2019-12-31
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Underwhelming Business Model, Low Growth"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Prosper.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people I've had the opportunity to work with their are really kind, hardworking, and knowledgable. They believe in the digital future of finance and their intentions are in the right place. But I wouldn't say the same about most of the top management.

    Cons

    The Company has been through a rollercoaster of growth and whatever the opposite of growth is, but they are still around. They are survivors. Unfortunately I feel like Management is too much focused on finance and not enough on technology, and it really doesn't even feel like technology company to me as much as a commodity finance player. Also there's too much competition and low margins.

    Continue reading
    Prosper.com2019-10-25
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work !"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Prosper.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Oppertunities for advancement if willing to put in the work

    Cons

    None; overall there are no complaints

    Prosper.com2019-09-23
Found 194 reviews