R+L Carriers Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

R+L Carriers Reviews

Updated 26 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
R+L Carriers CEO Ralph Larry Roberts, Sr (no image)
Ralph Larry Roberts, Sr
144 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay , care about the employee's , willing to help if someone needs help(in 23 reviews)

  • "Decent pay raises, over-time if needed an weekends off(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Don't really get praised by upper management by doing a good job(in 14 reviews)

  • "Driving with spilable freight backwards(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Cool"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at R+L Carriers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hours are cool and some co-workers are nice others not so much

    Cons

    Large company can be seen sometimes as a negative

    Advice to Management

    Never see them

    R+L Carriers2019-09-27
  2. "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Dock Worker 

    I worked at R+L Carriers full-time

    Pros

    They work with the employee

    Cons

    I have no complaints about them

    R+L Carriers2019-09-25
  3. "Decent First Corporate Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Designer in Ocala, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at R+L Carriers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good coworkers, the family that owns the business are great people.

    Cons

    upper management made the experience sour for me.

    R+L Carriers2019-09-03
  4. "Underpays their employees while workload increases"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Wilmington, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at R+L Carriers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The department I worked in worked with me as far as having to leave early for doctor appointments or family issues, allowed me to make up my time if needed. We had carryins or someone was always bringing in donuts.

    Cons

    Underpaid for my position and experience, especially since my workload has increased

    R+L Carriers2019-08-20
  5. "p&d driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Class A Driver in Oakland, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at R+L Carriers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive pay. Low stress. No overtime

    Cons

    Expensive medical, very little paid time off

    Advice to Management

    Give more paid time ofg

    R+L Carriers2019-07-31
  6. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Route Delivery Driver in Ypsilanti, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at R+L Carriers full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They are flexible when you need time off. They really don’t bother you much when your working as long as your doing your job.

    Cons

    They send semi trucks into some tight spots!

    R+L Carriers2019-07-26
  7. "Good place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Wilmington, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at R+L Carriers full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Family owned company, nice facilities.

    Cons

    Work environment can be less than ideal. Core leadership does not seem to be on the same page in terms of scope of effort, and development paradigms.

    R+L Carriers2019-07-22
  8. "All good until you want better for yourself"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Wilmington, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at R+L Carriers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most of the employees In the department were great. Others love you until you do better than them, then they hate you.. Boss was amazing and human for the most part.

    Cons

    Attendance policy, no clear expectations on incentives for performance, the rate for incentives is very low. Inside sales is the under dog, no matter how well you perform..no room for growth

    Advice to Management

    Compensate those who perform well. Promote within and not just those who you know..

    R+L Carriers2019-08-23
  9. "Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Truck Driver in Salem, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at R+L Carriers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is ok. Benefits not good at all.

    Cons

    Management shows favoritism. Covers up the racism and treats there employees like their not human just a number.

    R+L Carriers2019-08-16
  10. "Friendly, fast paced company with tremendous training opportunities."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Network Engineer in Wilmington, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at R+L Carriers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Will invest in training and opportunities. Flexible work hours and work from home.

    Cons

    Company is in the early stages of a rapid expansion. Lack of documentation and direction because of the expansion.

    Advice to Management

    Slow down, get the documents right, then apply the technology solutions.

    R+L Carriers2019-06-26
Found 286 reviews