REI Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

REI Reviews

Updated Nov 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
78%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
REI CEO Eric Artz
Eric Artz
28 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great coworkers and management really does a good job of working with you to create a satisfying work/life balance(in 159 reviews)

  • "great company with great people(in 98 reviews)

Cons
  • "They keep expenses down by not providing full-time work for most of the staff(in 106 reviews)

  • "When you are working part time you cannot expect large paychecks(in 101 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at REI part-time

    Pros

    - great people, understanding managers, sick perks.

    Cons

    - occasionally frustrating shift distributions but this was expected in a retail setting.

    REI2019-08-15
  2. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Worker 

    I worked at REI part-time

    Pros

    Nice environment, great team to work with

    Cons

    weird and often inconsistent hours

    REI2019-11-20
  3. "Great culture, retail pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Store Associate 

    I have been working at REI full-time

    Pros

    Awesome company culture and benefits.

    Cons

    Retail pay is not sustainable for the Bay Area.

    REI2019-11-12
  4. "Great place to work, but too many expectations from HQ"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at REI

    Pros

    Great benefits and discounts. Fun team.

    Cons

    Unrealistic expectations from HQ. Constant projects that take you away from customers and off of the sales floor. Mismanagement of roles in the store. Slow to change or promote. Every store runs like it’s own business, so stores vary vastly in the way it is run. Management team was tired and lax. No real inspiration or guidance on development.

    REI2019-11-19
  5. "Good Company, for retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends

    I have been working at REI part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is probably the best retail job you can get. Great work culture and values. They do an amazing forward approach to promote the wellness of the earth and outdoors.

    Cons

    At the end of the day it is retail so that means a crappy schedule (unless you like working weekends, nights, and holidays) Thankless customers, and jaded management. You could be working there for years and not see much upward mobility. I've seen promotions go much further outside of the retail industry overall.

    Advice to Management

    Check in with your teams more.

    REI2019-11-04
  6. "Great work place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at REI part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance for outdoor lovers.

    Cons

    Takes to long to be promoted within,

    REI2019-11-04
  7. "Great place to work with focused strategies & business direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at REI full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to work. Generous sick/vaca accruals, bonus structure. Mission and values permeate all work and are inspiring.

    Cons

    Health care is a bit pricey, salaries are mediocre for some and great for others - lack consistency.

    REI2019-10-29
  8. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at REI full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Tons of benefits, PTO, yay days, etc.

    Cons

    Low labor hours given which makes the work load high.

    REI2019-10-28
  9. "Customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at REI part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours if you go to school

    Cons

    Amount of hours scheduled can fluctuate a lot. Sometimes a lot hours sometimes not

    Advice to Management

    More consistent schedule

    REI2019-10-28
  10. "designed mechanical aspects of their product line"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Mechanical Engineer in Omaha, NE

    I worked at REI full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    laid back work environment, 40 hr week

    Cons

    quality from overseas supplies could be better

    REI2019-11-08
Found 1588 reviews
</>Embed