Rise Interactive Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Rise Interactive Reviews

Updated 15 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
54%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Rise Interactive Founder & CEO Jon Morris
Jon Morris
98 Ratings
Pros
  • "Digital Marketing Experts: If you're looking to learn(in 17 reviews)

  • "Beer Fridays are a fun place to hang out with co-workers(in 12 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "A big family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IMC in Buenos Aires
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rise Interactive full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great people and teams - Employee perks/benefits (many PTO days, generous health care package, home office etc.) - Senior leadership is very involved with employees in all offices - Feedback is heard - Big clients

    Cons

    - Not as much room to grow if you're not interested in management positions - As a startup that was bought by a big group, some changes take more time than they should and things tend to move back and forth quite a bit before plans actually happen.

    Continue reading
    Rise Interactive2020-02-15

    Rise Interactive Response

    February 21, 2020Employee Services

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are glad to hear so many pros and will continue to work on your suggestions. We do love feedback, so continue to share your thoughts, ideas, and questions through Glint, Ask Me Anything events, team meetings, and with Employee Services.

    Continue reading
  2. "Great agency to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Internet Marketing Associate in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rise Interactive full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very hands on experience, they throw you right into it and teach you along the way. Great place to dive into media planning and learn fast

    Cons

    Management is very unaware of the day-to-day, surprisingly so for a small agency in comparison to the large players.

    Continue reading
    Rise Interactive2020-02-11

    Rise Interactive Response

    February 13, 2020Employee Services

    Thank you for the feedback. We are glad to hear that you had the opportunity to learn a great deal during your time at Rise. We will continue to gather feedback from current and departing employees in order to proactively address turnover and ensure that management is aware of the issues. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors.

    Continue reading
  3. "Great company culture - Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graphic Designer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rise Interactive full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Meet new friends very quickly. A ton of involvement in external extra curricular activities.

    Cons

    Growth opportunities are limited. Acquired by QUAD could be effecting company uprising.

    Rise Interactive2019-11-07

    Rise Interactive Response

    November 8, 2019Employee Services

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. Please continue to share your thoughts and ideas on how we can improve our workplace through Glint, during ask me anything events, lunches with senior leaders or directly with the Employee Services team. This also includes asking questions about our relationship with Quad and how we work together to drive our business forward.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Great Company Culture, Poor Salaries & Growth Opps"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Internet Marketing Consultant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rise Interactive full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Overall, I really enjoyed my time at Rise Interactive and it makes me sad it ended abruptly. I don't regret my decision to leave in the slightest, but I have plenty of positive things to say about Rise. The best part is by far the people - the place is like one big family and there is a real sense of community. I met some of my best friends at Rise Interactive, and learned more about digital marketing than I ever could have imagined in a short amount of time. Other pros include... +Solid Benefits Package (Health Care in Particular) +Work Social Events/Happy Hours +Great Learning Opportunities +Work From Home Days +Work/Life Balance is Usually Fine +At Rise, you learn some of the best tactics & strategies in the game, and you will go on to other places and teach people the "Rise" way. +Employee Services staff is GREAT - they really value everyone's feedback and try to make the workplace better. Rise was a fun, supportive, and nurturing atmosphere, great for anyone right out of college or with limited digital experience. Plus, external recruiters will tell you that one year at Rise is worth multiple at other agencies - other competitor agencies love recruiting from Rise.

    Cons

    Salaries, especially for media channel members, are far too low. You start the job and immediately feel underpaid given the incredible amount of work you do, and the amount of revenue you drive for the company. What's even more frustrating is that no matter how hard you try to prove yourself, promotions are seldom based off of merit. It's literally about gaps in the organizational chart, tenure, if a wave of employees quit, or if a new client requires a senior level IMC. There is a total lack of transparency around this process and it makes you question: what am I working this hard for? Other cons include... -Lack of growth opportunities - as a media channel member, you basically have to wait for an AM to quit to get promoted, no matter how hard you work, otherwise you are stuck at the Senior IMC level for eternity. -Because promotions are not based off of merit, there are too many managers unqualified for their positions. You get managers who have no idea how to manage time, projects, and most importantly people. -Some middle & upper managers are so removed from the day-to-day they couldn't answer basic questions about their channel. -People quit in massive waves, management never sees it coming and is blindsided, throwing things into chaos. -Certain media channels are very afraid of automating basic tasks, like bidding for example. Some employees would spend hours doing bidding and budget pacing every morning - completely inefficient and certain to make anyone sick of their job. -The account management/media channel divide - this departmental split works on some accounts but doesn't on others. There are too many "account managers" that have little knowledge about digital marketing and cannot properly communicate to clients. This creates a lot of headaches and conflicts between the two teams, and ultimately leads to AMs overpromising and Rise underdelivering.

    Continue reading
    Rise Interactive2019-07-11

    Rise Interactive Response

    July 12, 2019Vice President, Employee Services

    Thank you for sharing your feedback about your time at Rise. We are certainly glad to hear the many positive comments and appreciate the outlining of your areas of concern. As you noted, we are listening and working to implement a number of things to continue to improve our work environment including the new merit/performance review process, Rise Life, promotion/job posting policy, quarterly conversations, career pathing, and compensation analysis. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts and we wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (10)

    "Start your career or go clear"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rise Interactive full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Snacks, Gym Membership, Friendly Office/Admin Team

    Cons

    Rise is what's wrong with capitalism. While you may grow your career, it will come at a cost. Employees are numbers and clients are money. Lack of known company ethics means it hasn't been a top priority to be transparent or self-aware about the clients they take on, let alone the lack of resource infrastructure to take on new work. Disparate inter-team processes are only the tip of the iceberg. You either get out or drink the complacent cool-aid further supporting an environment that centers on the cis white male culture that so desperately needs POC/women at the helm. Back to priorities, you get this. There is sexual harassment that is managed by brushing it under the rug and leaders who do not follow policy and protect the accused. Not a feminist workplace to say the least.

    Rise Interactive2019-08-10

    Rise Interactive Response

    August 13, 2019Employee Services

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. Over the past few years, Rise has done a great deal of work to improve our workplace including listening to employee feedback and reviewing data (including Glassdoor posts). The continued improvement in employee engagement scores and commentary and reduced retention are strong indicators of improvement in those areas. In addition, annual Harassment and Discrimination Training has educated our employees and managers on how we can all work together to address those issues. Our policy and actions clearly outline our commitment to addressing any concerns relative to any type of harassment or discrimination. Of course, we do have areas we need to continue to work on including diversity, equity and inclusion as well as improved processes and procedures that can allow us all to work more effectively and efficiently. We are certainly disappointed to hear that you had such a negative experience at Rise and will use your feedback to continue to work hard towards making this the best possible work environment for all Risers.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (3)

    "See the forest not the trees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rise Interactive full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Young, fun culture Flexible work style Innovative Open Collaborative An opportunity you won't get anywhere else

    Cons

    A few toxic employees and former employees who think they have all the answers

    Continue reading
    Rise Interactive2019-05-06

    Rise Interactive Response

    May 8, 2019Director, Employee Services

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. Please continue to share your thoughts and ideas on how we can improve our workplace through Glint, during ask me anything events, lunches with senior leaders or directly with the Employee Services team and/or the Diversity and Inclusion Committee.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Big vision but fails executing with poor ethics and leadership culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rise Interactive full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, nice office, some smart and fun people

    Cons

    Hours worked are valued more than impact, bit of an old boys club

    Rise Interactive2019-05-17

    Rise Interactive Response

    May 19, 2019Director, Employee Services

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IMC in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rise Interactive full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I look forward to coming to work each day due to the company culture and challenges I'm presented with

    Cons

    Not a whole lot of room for big promotion and lack of diversity at the exec level

    Rise Interactive2019-03-27

    Rise Interactive Response

    April 1, 2019Director, Employee Services

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. Please continue to share your thoughts and ideas on how we can improve our workplace through Glint, during ask me anything events, lunches with senior leaders or directly with the Employee Services team and/or the Diversity and Inclusion Committee.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (19)

    "Nope."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rise Interactive full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They used to hire very smart people.

    Cons

    Rampant turnover, lack of leadership, inexperienced executives, no diversity If you don't work a set number of hours, you will be fired. If you ask questions, you will be fired. If you have original thoughts, you will eventually be fired. If you want to grow, you are more likely to be fired. If you complain, you will be fired. If you don't want to work weekends and vacations, you will be fired. If you callout completely unacceptable behavior, you will be fired. If you want to see people treated with respect and valued, you shouldn't even apply.

    Continue reading
    Rise Interactive2019-03-05

    Rise Interactive Response

    March 8, 2019Director, Employee Services

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your time at Rise. We are sorry to hear that it was not the best experience and wish you well in your next endeavor.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (15)

    "Leadership will consistently disappoint you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rise Interactive full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Despite so much heartache, disappointment, and shockingly poor moral judgement, Rise was overall an experience that I don't entirely regret: industry experience working for great brands, mostly kind and motivated employee-base, better than average benefits that have improved over time, and a great office location for commuters. Benefits that shouldn't be overlooked: - Generous healthcare coverage - Decent PTO offering - Relaxed dress code - Work from home policy

    Cons

    Tread extremely careful with Rise's leadership team. You will never cease to be amazed at how unethical, morally skewed, and downright appalling particular high-ranking executives can be. You will be led to believe countless times that change is coming and that they are interested in *you* the person, i.e. the employee base that is exploited for long hours and virtually impossible requests, only to be sadly mistaken when it comes time for leadership to prove that they care for your well-being as a human being. Sadly, Rise will always be destined for a mediocre work environment and a deterrent for the most sought after talent pool due to their inherent biases and inability to effectively treat people as more than just a number.

    Continue reading
    Rise Interactive2019-01-31
Found 139 reviews