Ryder System Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Ryder System Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1190 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Ryder System CEO Robert E. Sanchez
Robert E. Sanchez
443 Ratings
Pros
  • "Stable job, good benefits and decent pay(in 64 reviews)

  • "Good job, good pay, good benefits(in 63 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Supportive Employer with strong ethical values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ryder System full-time

    Pros

    I've worked for Ryder for 15 years and have progressed through a number of roles. I have always had opportunities to try new things, get involved in projects and working in cross functional teams. Ryder have really supported me to grow in my career, which isn't always easy to do for companies, they have given me chances to stretch myself, not just recruiting externally.

    Cons

    It is a big organisation, it can be complicated to work out who does what, where and how, but the individuals really all do go out of their way to help each other. Sometimes change can seem to take a while, but it is a strong and capable organisation that provides security and development.

    Advice to Management

    Look for ways to invite diverse input into the way the company works to involve more people and adapt to the changing environment.

    Ryder System2018-10-23
  2. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pricing Analyst in Birmingham, England
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ryder System full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The work culture is nice you're trusted to work without being micro managed

    Cons

    The role is quite limited Parking isn't great

    Ryder System2019-08-08
  3. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ryder System

    Pros

    A good company to work for

    Cons

    Staff development could be improved

    Advice to Management

    None

    Ryder System2019-03-20
  4. "Market Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Ryder System full-time

    Pros

    Great culture, training and career opportunities. Work/life balance is better than most, particularly for such a large business.

    Cons

    No cons to speak of so far.....

    Ryder System2018-08-06
  5. "Finance Role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounts Clerk in Dukinfield, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ryder System full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very friendly people and relaxed working environment.

    Cons

    Progression seemed limited in the 6 months I was working there.

    Ryder System2018-07-27
  6. "Decent with long term prospects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ryder System full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Long term prospects with development and progression plans in place

    Cons

    Not many staff incentives in the workplace

    Ryder System2018-07-05
  7. "Customer service represetative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ryder System full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent work load other teams are good apart from central rental

    Cons

    Management is rude and terrible HR will not action anything

    Advice to Management

    New supervisor required.

    Ryder System2018-07-01
  8. "Stuck in the Dark Ages"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Ryder System full-time

    Pros

    Nice colleagues Multicultural working environment Routine tasks without high pressure 25 days leave Annual bonus Free parking Free tea & coffee

    Cons

    Long serving staff who stick to what they know - don't welcome change Boys club - especially the Presidents Club concept Not receptive to new ideas Creativity is stiffled Culture lacks drive or determination Few 'special' people who rule the roost and can do no wrong in the eyes of management No engagement in employee performance reviews Culture of redundancies on almost a 6 monthly scheduled basis Fronwed... upon for suggesting change to archcaic processes

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Welcome new, creative and innovative ideas. Be prepared to engage with staff at all levels - not just the ones you've known for decades.

    Ryder System2017-12-03
  9. "Big company with big opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Central Rental in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ryder System full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Massive company making it easier to move around company where hiring managers are willing to recruit within the company. Head office is growing allowing more opportunities for internal employees as well as external. Decent salary to reflect work you do.

    Cons

    Only thing I can think of is that no proper lunch rooms.

    Advice to Management

    Introduce a proper lunch room. Make it a bit more exciting place to work.

    Ryder System2017-08-20
  10. "LGV Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technician in Enfield, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ryder System full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great working environment Great H&S policy No expense spared if needed

    Cons

    To many chiefs not enough indians! Slow progression

    Ryder System2017-03-06
Found 1190 reviews