Sunrun Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Sunrun Reviews

Updated 23 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 550 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Lynn Jurich
338 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "I enjoy working for Sunrun..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Sales Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrun full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    advancement opportunity Sunrun culture solid benefits, employee stock plan, 401k match

    Cons

    as a large company, cross-functional work is tough

    Sunrun2019-06-24
  2. "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrun full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, great people, great pay, fun place to work, and as a bonus, we are doing a potluck to celebrate LGBT pride in a couple days. Couldn't possibly ask for anything else. I love this company. I'm only putting in this review so Glassdoor will let me research positions in case I wanted to move upward lol

    Cons

    Nothing serious. Sometimes it feels like there is an imbalance of power between certain departments and it leads to inefficiency. But that's not exactly a serious issue.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Sunrun2019-06-22
  3. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Sales Representative 

      I worked at Sunrun full-time

      Pros

      Great management and felexible scheduling

      Cons

      Rejection daily and standing for long periods of time.

      Sunrun2019-06-19
    • "Great Place to Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Project Administrator 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Sunrun full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      *Company helps you grow, plenty of opportunities *Sense of fun *Work life balance

      Cons

      *Not much vacation time *Can not take unpaid time off or sick days

      Sunrun2019-06-10
    • Helpful (3)

      "Great earning potential, but you have to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Field Sales Consultant 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Sunrun full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - Very flexible schedule - No cap on commissions - You can put in as much or little work as possible and be compensated accordingly - Mileage/gas reimbursement - 401k match, health/dental insurance, stock purchase plan - Get a laptop, phone, iPad, and often a car upon hire

      Cons

      - If you want to make real money, you have to sacrifice work-life balance - You have to play the game, suck up to people in power, and be a yes-man to be noticed/promoted regardless of performance - Be prepared to drive more miles than you've ever driven before (depending on your region) - Frequently get paid for closing deals only to give that money back when your deals fall off for reasons entirely out of your control

      Advice to Management

      - Choose those in charge more carefully. I've worked for 4 different bosses in under a year. First 3 were horrible, all disasters. Considered quitting several times because of them. Current boss is great, but it shouldn't take a year of screwing up to get a good fit. Screen your people more carefully and realize that sales and management are totally separate jobs within totally unique skill sets.

      Sunrun2019-05-29
    • "Sunrun"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Electrian in Columbia, SC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Sunrun full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great pay, people, and benefits

      Cons

      Working outside in elements and occasional disagreements

      Sunrun2019-06-04
    • "Great entry level PV design position to gain some experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - PV Designer in Denver, CO
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Sunrun full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Fast Growing Company. Very low stress and laid back work environment. Great group of people to work with.

      Cons

      Management sometimes gave the impression that quantity of output was rewarded over quality.

      Sunrun2019-05-27
    • Helpful (2)

      "Great place to grow along side a rapidly growing company."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Strategy Manager in San Francisco, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Sunrun full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Badass female CEO, very smart people, a ton of passion. Please work hard here, typically for a cause they believe in.

      Cons

      Sunrun has grown very quickly since 2011. That opens a lot of room for opportunity, along with room to slip through the cracks. I've been here for 6 years - the people I've seen succeed are those that are not afraid to raise their hands and ask for more. Those who would prefer to be noticed rather than speaking up may not grow as quickly as they'd like here, and historically have ended up leaving the company.

      Advice to Management

      Continue to push management to take a personal interest in each of their team members. Not all of us are great at speaking about our accomplishments. Public rewards and attention from management help us feel recognized and valued.

      Sunrun2019-05-17
    • Helpful (3)

      "Stressful Environment & Undervalued"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Talent Coordinator in San Francisco, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Sunrun full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      A constant state of chaos and band-aid fixes allowed for growth, and adaptability. High standard for excellence in quality of work, and work ethic.

      Cons

      Unprofessional leadership, toxic management style. Extremely limited room for growth. Undervalued and overlooked by top leadership.

      Sunrun2019-06-05
    • Helpful (1)

      "Good for someone looking for experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Project Coordinator in Denver, CO
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Sunrun full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      great co workers, overtime offered

      Cons

      limited ability to move up, very small pay raises,

      Advice to Management

      Invest more in your employees to reduce turnover

      Sunrun2019-06-04
    Found 550 reviews