Sunrun Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Sunrun Reviews

Updated Nov 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
47%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Sunrun CEO Lynn Jurich
Lynn Jurich
361 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "If you want to make real money, you have to sacrifice work-life balance(in 29 reviews)

  • "Many in upper management were retained from REC days and they are archaic(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Enjoyed my time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Systems Administrator in Denver, CO
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sunrun full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great use of tech in the organization. Enjoyed working with other capable and intelligent folks on my team.

    Cons

    No cons that are not typical with a 5000+ company.

    Sunrun2019-11-18
  2. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solar Consultant 

    I have been working at Sunrun full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good opportunity, very supportive for training

    Cons

    Pressure at times, otherwise good experience

    Sunrun2019-11-14
  3. "Good Company, Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sunrun full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I worked at Sunrun for a long time; longer than most people. Overall, I had a great experience with the company and the pros far outweighed the cons: - Good leadership - Great advancement opportunities - Good compensation (while this was my personal experience, I had many friends within the company who strongly disagreed with their compensation). - Good benefits - Awesome co-workers - Convenient office... location - Good company culture

    Show More

    Cons

    - Work/life balance: I often felt overworked and in high-stress situations. - Poor management in other departments - High turnover across the company - Low morale in other teams/departments

    Sunrun2019-11-10
  4. "Review for you."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Phoenix, AZ
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sunrun full-time

    Pros

    Enjoy working with people. Great possibilities!

    Cons

    The commission to be made is dependent on other people.

    Sunrun2019-11-15
  5. "Facility Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sunrun full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing culture, amazing leadership, employees are supported to thrive and find success.

    Cons

    Pay isn’t great for non sales roles. Company could learn to value those roles more or they will continue to lose talent to competitors.

    Sunrun2019-10-27
  6. "Field Sales Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrun full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team and people working at Sunrun. People know what to do and installation is very fast. Flexible schedule and good benefits!

    Cons

    Training is often counterproductive and our product can be expensive

    Advice to Management

    Train people with mock conversations or present peer reviewed sales research

    Sunrun2019-10-27
  7. Helpful (2)

    "A reactive company that lacks vision in an exciting industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director, Customer Experience in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sunrun full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - As another reviewer described: "pockets" of very smart people - Potential to create the initiatives you want to work on and own - The market leader in an exciting industry with a lot of potential

    Cons

    - No clear vision from leadership - Lower than average salary - Unorganized and underfunded digital org

    Advice to Management

    The market leader should be making big investments in digital and brand and have a clear vision to all employees on who key customers are and what the differentiators are.

    Sunrun2019-11-09
  8. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sunrun full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexable,, leading industry, opportunity, team work

    Cons

    Construction industry, ups and downs,

    Advice to Management

    Don't let a good employee go

    Sunrun2019-10-15
  9. "Not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solar Sales Consultant in Burbank, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrun full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours , gas card , phone , laptop

    Cons

    No support and pricing higher than a sunrun dealer , leads suck

    Advice to Management

    More support and pricing for direct

    Sunrun2019-11-14
  10. "A lot of Changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Solar Consultant in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sunrun full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people you work with are amazing. Sunrun really is trying to do their best to create a planet run by the sun and truly do care for their employees

    Cons

    A lot of national changes to the solar industry are really starting to take a hit on the way Sunrun does business. Its negative ally effecting the workplace and moral because most people are not making money any more. You could do the be hitting sky high sales numbers but its all a luck of the draw on either or not you'll actually get paid for anything you sell. No guarantees anymore.

    Advice to Management

    Find a way to make sure you take care of your sales people. Its all fun and games until payroll messes up your checks and you cant afford to pay rent. Company approved orders isnt the same thing as glass on roofs. Go back to what worked!

    Sunrun2019-10-05
Found 591 reviews