Sutherland Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Sutherland Reviews

Updated Dec 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
60%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Sutherland Chairman and CEO Dilip R. Vellodi
Dilip R. Vellodi
1,397 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Night shifts can be bit tough for new comers(in 95 reviews)

  • "This is horribly low pay compared to any other call center job(in 66 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "former employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Sutherland part-time

    Pros

    Great management, friendly colleges, everything was great

    Cons

    long hours, expected to work overtime

    Sutherland2018-08-04

    Sutherland Response

    August 8, 2018Sutherland Experience Team

    Thanks for your feedback. We are a global process transformation company, and we employ thousands of professionals spanning 21 countries around the world. Our goal is to enable our employees to work on interesting projects, grow their own way, and be themselves.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Customer service representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Sutherland full-time

    Pros

    - Nice environment. - Career improvement.

    Cons

    - Massive workload. - Poor local management. - Poor training.

    Sutherland2019-02-06
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Don’t waste precious CV space"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sutherland full-time

    Pros

    A few good people made it bearable

    Cons

    Senior management total shambles at best. Hire and fire mentality. Company of two worlds, the untouchable Indian inner circle and then the rest who are totally dispensable Travel policy a joke, would put you on a budget flight via three countries for 15 hours to save $20.00 Will tell clients ANYTHING to get a deal

    Continue reading
    Sutherland2018-06-02

    Sutherland Response

    June 6, 2018Manager, Marketing Communications

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts this us. We do take any and all allegations such as those you described, seriously. We encourage you to reach out to comments@sutherlandglobal.com to share your feedback more directly, so that we can properly address your concerns.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (8)

    "Career killer - be careful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sutherland full-time

    Pros

    Some good individuals. Some great clients.

    Cons

    Completely dysfunctional business with last century leadership. If you have worked in anything resembling a half decent business you need to avoid Sutherland. Executive leadership is stuck in the last century. Small inner circle of untouchable execs and a high turnover of external experienced execs from blue chips that quickly learn the reality. Appalling behaviour is tolerated and the higher you are the more you get away with. Be prepared to witness bullying, to be bullied and a good does of public humiliation. Read the Glassdoor feedbacks ... It's true.

    Continue reading
    Sutherland2017-06-30
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Snr Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sutherland full-time

    Pros

    I've been with Sutherland only four months, during my tenure to date I've received solid support and collaboration from my peer group, reporting line VP and business stakeholders. The company is in growth and with that comes everyday challenges of course, but in my experience so far these challenges are overcome with a sense of partnership and goodwill. Further, on a personal note, Sutherland has been hugely flexible and supportive during a very difficult time with my partners ill health and for that I am hugely grateful

    Cons

    Multiple layers of management and verticals result in sometimes slow decision making

    Sutherland2017-02-02
  6. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sutherland full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people, the team, the management. All driving results. Opportunity to work remotely is excellent. Pay is good.

    Cons

    People talk about work life balance being a con, but if you take ownership of your own time its great as long as you deliver the results

    Sutherland2017-02-01
  7. "Fantastic for career growth!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sutherland for more than a year

    Pros

    Development opportunities, room to learn and grow not only personally, but professionally.

    Cons

    none to mention. very happy and progressing

    Sutherland2017-02-01
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Disappointing - small shop mentality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sutherland for more than 3 years

    Pros

    When they are trying to recruit you, they will give you whatever you ask. The CEO is a man who wants to take the company places so is open to introducing the best practices from other companies.

    Cons

    Subsequently they will avoid paying any increase and even question your work to avoid paying the variable component. The CPO does not respond to any personal grievance mails from down the line. Decisions keep changing making it difficult to commit outside the company

    Continue reading
    Sutherland2015-11-01
  9. "Learning Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Technical Support Consultant 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sutherland

    Pros

    Nice environment to work Cab facility

    Cons

    Tired of Late night shifts

    Sutherland2015-07-24
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Company's aspirations were not met by its ability to deliver, very disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sutherland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    London office is in the Gherkin, which is a fantastic location and building, easy to attract clients and prospects to visit, but this wonder and awe can only carry you so far..

    Cons

    Patriarchal and authoritarian management style (in the US) led to infighting and politics. More energy was expended internally on jostling for position and winning favour than in trying to win new business. The London office had the highest turnover of staff I have ever seen.

    Sutherland2014-02-21
Found 3189 reviews