TNT Express UK Reviews

Updated 26 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
48%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
TNT Express UK CEO Tex Gunning
Tex Gunning
12 Ratings
Pros
  • "This is a good company to work for overall(in 3 reviews)

  • "positive to say(in 2 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Have a lot of "good" policies, which are comprehensively ignored by senior management when it suits(in 3 reviews)

  • "lack of direction(in 2 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Van Driver

      16 Feb 2017 - Van Driver 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      i love drive and have good experience from other job when i was driving by 1year. before i was van driver in UK Express so i drive yours parcels as well. every week i did about 3000 mils.

      Cons

      dont have any cons

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Exit from Company

      26 Apr 2020 - Operations Manager in Basildon, East of England, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good salary package and benefits.

      Cons

      Poor treatment when I handed in my notice

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Bad experience!

      11 Jun 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Atherstone, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free parking on site. Canteen which served nice food.

      Cons

      Everything else! TNT is going through a lot of changes due to being purchased by Fedex. As a result of this there are a lot of changes being made and no one really seems to know whats going on. The job I was recruited to do was very different to the job that was sold to me (and something I would never have accepted), I could almost have lived with that had it not been for the people. In the department I worked there was zero atmosphere, I could go for hours or even a full day barely speaking to anyone as no one engaged in conversation other than for work related purposes. I appreciate that it is a work place but a bit of general chit chat and ‘how was your weekend’ wouldn’t do any harm. There are a lot of people working there who have been employed for 20, 30, 40 odd years and as a result they are set in their ways and always reminiscing about how things used to be. I was told numerous times by numerous people about what a great place it is to work, almost as if they were saying it to not only convince me but convince themselves! During the end of my (very short!) time there my title was changing to one which better fit the role so hopefully whoever is recruited in my place will be a better fit for the team and role.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Don't even think of going there !!

      1 Jul 2019 - C and D Driver in Bellshill, Scotland, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      With the exception of some great workmates there really is nothing positive to say about BELLSHILL depot .

      Cons

      Absolutely horrendous working atmosphere where the drivers and loaders alike are treated like dirt. Traffic office staff try their hardest in a very difficult working environment. There are people at management level in this depot who quite frankly should not be allowed out of the house on their own in the morning . Their man management skills are zero. The way they speak to people is disgraceful. It is management by thuggery , bullying and intimidation. If you think for a second I am exagerrating then speak to any of the drivers from this depot .

      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Lots of Change

      3 Sep 2018 - Human Resources in Atherstone, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Big business Exposure to director level

      Cons

      Lots of red tape Still in the 80s Acquisition by FedEx means staff are on edge - not sure if they will have a job

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      C&D Driver

      20 Jan 2019 - C&D Driver in Exeter, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The wage is good but you have to do a 50 hour week

      Cons

      Management at Exeter can do and say anything to you and if you complain they make your life hell to the point you consider suicide

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      It use to be amazing, but now it has somewhat lost its way...

      18 Mar 2013 - Manager in Atherstone, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Reconigsed as giving and does provide some of the best training development in the industry - The market leading brand - Employees have a great passion to the company - Good overall compensation packages for Snr Managers

      Cons

      - Complicated and confusing tiered management structure - Reduction in opportunities due to the centralisaiton of many funcitons - still many examples of the 'old boys network' meaning if you not in the click then dont expect to get the job! - Frugal with salary increments, once you are on a salary dont expect a significant increase - Poor communicaiton from the business leaders, with notification of targets and bonus schemes not communicated until the year is either mostly over - Poor IT investment. - Diminishing market share, and no clear direction of what we trying to acheive. Its not an exciting place to work any more....

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Has the potential to be so much better

      5 Sep 2014 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This is a good company to work for overall. Good training, a generally friendly working environment, and recently a far more inclusive approach to keeping employees involved and up to date with company initiatives. Salary is average to above average depending on your role.

      Cons

      Some departments are run like a concentration camp, others are the opposite end of the scale, with plenty in between the two extremes. Pockets of great management and leadership but chaotic, old fashioned reactionary management reigns supreme in so many areas. Overall Im a bit concerned about the future of the company. It's been bobbing about with minimal direction and now it seems to be doing a million things at once to try and fix the problem - without actually knowing what the problem is.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Extremely blind to the views of their employees.

      22 Jun 2014 - Sales Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      With its large company infrastructure, working for TNT does have some positives is the Pay and Benefits section. The colleagues that I worked with really made the job, and from what I experienced, this ethos was across many areas of the business.

      Cons

      As an employee, I found TNT Senior Management to be very blind to the views and opinions of anyone below their pay grade. Decisions were based at Director level on what seems like their own views, without any real thought given to the opinions of their underlings. This led to a culture of continuously degrading work conditions and team morale. Despite doing a job along with 40 other colleagues, and knowing what didn't work and what could work better, not a single suggestion was taken on board and occasionally the opposite was implemented.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company to work for, unfortunately spoilt by systemic bullying in the department I worked in not being addressed.

      11 Jul 2014 - Purchasing in Atherstone, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Core values are strong, great atmosphere to work in demonstrated in other departments, team spirit is good.

      Cons

      Bullying from a certain manager went unchallenged, and the company has lost some really great staff as a result.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 50 Reviews

    Popular Careers with TNT Express UK Job Seekers

    Lorry Driver
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Customer Service Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at TNT Express UK? Share Your Experiences

    TNT Express UK logo
    or