Textbroker International Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Textbroker International Reviews

Updated 19 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
73%
Recommend to a Friend
17%
Approve of CEO
Textbroker International CEO Phillip Thune
Phillip Thune
16 Ratings
Pros
  • "I enjoy the freedom of being able to work from home and to have a flexible schedule of my own choosing(in 14 reviews)

  • "You make your own schedule, write the subjects you want to write, and actually choose each article(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Team articles take longer to be approved(in 22 reviews)

  • "Editors don't really function as(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Easy work, consistent, and rapid payments"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Freelance Writer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Textbroker International part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The work is fairly easy at Textbroker UK, even if it doesn't pay some of the industry's best rates. Through this site, I have secured direct orders and repeat clients. You have the chance to join writing teams, which gives you easy access to exclusive writing projects. The minimum payout is quite low, 10 euros, and they usually pay by Friday when you request payment on Thursday. Vikki, the manager for Europe, is... very lovely and helpful!

    Show More

    Cons

    They don't pay the best rates in the industry. Most of my projects have been paid at around 1.5 to 2 euros a word, but it is so simple I can write enough to prevent that from being an issue. In addition to this, they rose rates by 8% at the beginning of 2014. When you consider how little public sector workers get in terms of pay rises, that's fantastic!

    Textbroker International2014-03-23
  2. "Don't waste your time over this crap"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Editor in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Textbroker International for less than a year

    Pros

    work from home any time

    Cons

    1. very less pay 2.it takes them forever to approve your articles.

    Textbroker International2018-11-28
  3. "Really great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Freelance Writer in Las Vegas, NV

    I worked at Textbroker International part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Get to work on your own schedule, you can also choose which clients and topics to write on.

    Cons

    Pays practically peanuts, that's really my only complaint.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Textbroker International2019-08-20
  4. "Textbroker brought me from a personal journaler to an author of the book, Cancer, then no cancer."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Textbroker International

    Pros

    You make your own schedule, write the subjects you want to write, and actually choose each article.

    Cons

    Being diligent and committed to work regularly.

    Textbroker International2019-08-05
  5. "great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Content Writer in San Jose, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Textbroker International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    always paying, lots of jobs

    Cons

    only US, never accept outside applicants

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up

    Textbroker International2019-07-25
  6. "Solid entry-level position for college grad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Editor in Las Vegas, NV
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Textbroker International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexibility. Largely relaxed environment. Achievable goal setting.

    Cons

    Free-form management and minimal communications lead to some difficulties between departments. Also, there was some resistance to change in certain department operations

    Textbroker International2019-02-18
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Great for starting as a freelance writer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Freelance Writer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Textbroker International part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I like the fact that you can select jobs based on your interests rather than bidding or applying. I find this site to be a great way to get my foot in the door. The added benefit is that this platform is really geared towards helping you improve and become a better writer. The pay is based on your writing level, which for many, is an incentive to boost those writing skills.

    Cons

    Some of the clients could have ridiculous demands and instructions for assignments that aren’t even paying enough to buy lunch. Some clients abuse the system by having over-the-top expectations from writers who are not making much.

    Textbroker International2018-04-23
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Punished for poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Content Editor/Project Manager in North Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Textbroker International part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    easy, casual office environment, mostly young friendly employees

    Cons

    I started out as a content editor but quickly got tired of reading endless mundane text hunting for missing commas and erroneous letters so I took a position as a project manager because it sounded interesting and important. I was able to finish my daily responsibilities in about 2 hours on most days, but management did not give me anything else to do with my time so i'd just sit at the computer working on personal... projects. I told them about my free time but they couldn't think of anything else to give me and eventually fired me for not taking initiative and coming up with something else to do with my time because I was too efficient.

    Show More
    Textbroker International2018-02-10
  9. "decent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director Or Operations in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Textbroker International part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -transparency -inclusive work culture -recognition -free food at least once a month

    Cons

    -paid very little -they make it seem like you can work from home in the interview but they don't really like it

    Textbroker International2018-02-19
  10. "It's okay..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Textbroker International part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy to pick which topics you'd like to write, usually a lot of jobs to choose from.

    Cons

    Hard to recover from a bad rating/low level score

    Advice to Management

    A little more transparency about author scoring and how to improve standing would be nice, but otherwise things have been pretty good

    Textbroker International2018-02-14
Found 40 reviews