US Agency for International Development Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

US Agency for International Development Reviews

Updated 16 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 362 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
US Agency for International Development CEO Dr. Rajiv Shah
Dr. Rajiv Shah
131 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Current job instability with new administration is reducing the size of the Foreign Service(in 22 reviews)

  • "No maternity/paternity/family leave - employees must use annual and sick leave (this is for all hiring mechanisms)(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Renewable energy Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at US Agency for International Development part-time

    Pros

    Very active in capacity building the energy sector in Jordan. Staff is collaborative.

    Cons

    Most USAID programs don't last for long.

    US Agency for International Development2017-08-30
  2. "Office administration role is quite dynamic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at US Agency for International Development full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Professional and dedicated staff, work stability, dynamic and family-oriented environment

    Cons

    Bureaucratic processes that are redundant need to be streamlined. Management failure to listen to its staff especially in crucial areas of decision making process.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff and embrace progressive thinking.

    US Agency for International Development2017-11-02
  3. "Summer Intern's Perpsective"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at US Agency for International Development

    Pros

    I worked at USAID as part of a fellowship program. The work was interesting, I learned an incredible amount about international development, and I was fully integrated into the team.

    Cons

    Not much of an emphasis on specific skill development and growth - have to be proactive to receive interesting assignments.

    US Agency for International Development2017-02-16
  4. "Solid and reliable employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at US Agency for International Development

    Pros

    Solid, reliable, can guarantee you'll have a clear role and title and paid on time

    Cons

    Bureaucracy, obviously! Can take a while to get things done, in terms of job satisfaction

    Advice to Management

    Cut the rope

    US Agency for International Development2015-08-20
  5. "Development Sector"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Program Manager in Islamabad, Islamabad
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Agency for International Development full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Making difference in people's life

    Cons

    Challenging and continuously changing environment

    US Agency for International Development2019-08-14
  6. "Amazing opportunity to serve your country travel the world"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Foreign Service Officer 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at US Agency for International Development full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working with highly intelligent, capable, and passionate people of varied backgrounds and interests. Serving your country. Helping those most in need (the poor and marginalized in developing countries).

    Cons

    At times extremely bureaucratic. Not much room for creativity. Annual performance reviews highly inefficient (a multi-week process) and non-sensical.

    US Agency for International Development2019-08-12
  7. "Work at USAID"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Systems Manager in Almaty
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Agency for International Development full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great Culture, great people and projects

    Cons

    No cons so far. Everything was great.

    US Agency for International Development2019-08-06
  8. "Improve postion of Foreign Service Nationals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Management Specialist in Bogotá, Bogota
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at US Agency for International Development full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The mission of USAID is great. I love my work

    Cons

    In overseas mission, the hard work is done by Foreign Service Nationals (FSNs), but they do not get fairly awarded for that

    Advice to Management

    Improve position of FSNs

    US Agency for International Development2019-08-16
  9. "Outstanding company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Information Analyst in Bogotá, Bogota
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at US Agency for International Development full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, always room to grow/ improve, flexibility in assignments, friendly atmosphere to work in

    Cons

    Monotonous tasks day in and out, work can sometimes be dull, team is not always aware of what is going on

    Advice to Management

    Have more team meetings, more collaboration and team building exercises, have presentations of work completed

    US Agency for International Development2019-08-01
  10. "Projects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Project Assistant in Makati City

    I have been working at US Agency for International Development full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits. I can dress casually.

    Cons

    Value quantitative over qualitative impact

    US Agency for International Development2019-07-15
Found 362 reviews