US Navy Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

US Navy Reviews

Updated 22 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
77%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
US Navy Acting Secretary Sean Stackley
Sean Stackley
943 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits with limitless opportunities for your future and the future of you family(in 996 reviews)

  • "Job security is guaranteed by contract(in 797 reviews)

Cons
  • "Sometimes there are long hours but it is expected(in 1845 reviews)

  • "Being away from family can be stressful(in 1596 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Bda"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - BDA 

    I have been working at US Navy full-time

    Pros

    It is good there i think

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    US Navy2019-11-02
  2. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at US Navy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great way travel but hard on family

    Cons

    Long work days away from family

    Continue reading
    US Navy2019-05-26
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good military employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Molesworth, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at US Navy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Travel, worthy work, good co-workers

    Cons

    Long periods of time away from familiy, career paths can be set in stone

    Continue reading
    US Navy2017-11-29
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good ole boys in blue."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at US Navy part-time

    Pros

    Good employer. Lots of free travel. Good holidays and sickness scheme. Good salary and pension scheme. Promotion prospects are also good.

    Cons

    Always having to leave family behind while we fight some war or other. Haircuts are too short and we cannot drink and fly

    Continue reading
    US Navy2017-06-18
  5. "Great option for a kickstart to a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at US Navy full-time

    Pros

    Training, Education, experience, people, reputation.

    Cons

    Locked into what you choose for up to six years in some cases, so choose your field wisely.

    US Navy2017-03-31
  6. "Intelligence Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Counterterrorism Analyst in Molesworth, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Navy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The US Navy has great opportunities for advancement and travel.

    Cons

    If you do not like to be out to sea then the US Navy has other locations you can assigned to.

    US Navy2016-12-08
  7. "Commander"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Command Post Detachment Commander in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at US Navy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Responsibilities and authorities unmatched. Camaraderie, teamwork, pride, and respect. Pay and benefits.

    Cons

    Frequent moves and extended deployments.

    Continue reading
    US Navy2016-10-01
  8. "US NAVY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at US Navy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits and there is always something new and exciting everyday.

    Cons

    You will have to deploy in a dangerous environment which for most will be an exciting time but now for everyone.

    US Navy2016-08-17
  9. "Helo"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at US Navy

    Pros

    I love my company so much

    Cons

    I love my company so mich

    US Navy2016-05-12
  10. "An adventure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at US Navy full-time

    Pros

    Great training, great people, diverse experiences

    Cons

    Log days, time away from home

    Continue reading
    US Navy2016-01-04

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 13349 reviews