US Navy Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

US Navy Reviews

Updated 21 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12582 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
US Navy CEO Sean Stackley
Sean Stackley
790 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good ole boys in blue."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at US Navy part-time

    Pros

    Good employer. Lots of free travel. Good holidays and sickness scheme. Good salary and pension scheme. Promotion prospects are also good.

    Cons

    Always having to leave family behind while we fight some war or other. Haircuts are too short and we cannot drink and fly

    Advice to Management

    Take the messages on board pun not intended. Look after the troops and they will look after you. Loosen up a liitle.

    US Navy2017-06-18
  2. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at US Navy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great way travel but hard on family

    Cons

    Long work days away from family

    Advice to Management

    Na

    US Navy2019-05-26
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good military employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Molesworth, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at US Navy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Travel, worthy work, good co-workers

    Cons

    Long periods of time away from familiy, career paths can be set in stone

    Advice to Management

    None

    US Navy2017-11-29
  4. "Great option for a kickstart to a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at US Navy full-time

    Pros

    Training, Education, experience, people, reputation.

    Cons

    Locked into what you choose for up to six years in some cases, so choose your field wisely.

    US Navy2017-03-31
  5. "Intelligence Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Counterterrorism Analyst in Molesworth, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Navy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The US Navy has great opportunities for advancement and travel.

    Cons

    If you do not like to be out to sea then the US Navy has other locations you can assigned to.

    US Navy2016-12-08
  6. "Commander"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Command Post Detachment Commander in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at US Navy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Responsibilities and authorities unmatched. Camaraderie, teamwork, pride, and respect. Pay and benefits.

    Cons

    Frequent moves and extended deployments.

    Advice to Management

    Lengthen tours to 4 years and cap deployments to no longer than 7.5 months.

    US Navy2016-10-01
  7. "US NAVY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at US Navy full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Excellent benefits and there is always something new and exciting everyday.

      Cons

      You will have to deploy in a dangerous environment which for most will be an exciting time but now for everyone.

      US Navy2016-08-17
    • "Helo"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at US Navy

        Pros

        I love my company so much

        Cons

        I love my company so mich

        US Navy2016-05-12
      • "An adventure"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I worked at US Navy full-time

        Pros

        Great training, great people, diverse experiences

        Cons

        Log days, time away from home

        Advice to Management

        Take good care of the troops

        US Navy2016-01-04
      • "Us Navy"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at US Navy

        Pros

        they are good in the ship arena

        Cons

        i am a pacifist although I like big ships

        US Navy2014-10-12
      Found 12582 reviews