Winston & Strawn Reviews

Updated 15 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
56%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Winston & Strawn Managing Partner Tom Fitzgerald
Tom Fitzgerald
57 Ratings
Pros
  • "I imagine it was like working in a big law firm anywhere(in 12 reviews)

  • "Good people, flexible work environment(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Typical law firm meaning technology is 15 years behind(in 12 reviews)

  • "The supervisors for the legal secretaries in some offices are also members of HR(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "good place"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account in London, England
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Winston & Strawn full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good atmosfere with the staff and partners

    Cons

    Change of management from US too sudden and oppresive at times.

    Winston & Strawn2019-07-18
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Went downhill pretty fast"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainee Solicitor in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Winston & Strawn full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Small office, good benefits and get paid fairly well

    Cons

    Went on a massive sacking spree to refresh the workforce

    Winston & Strawn2019-09-10
  3. "A great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Winston & Strawn full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good people with a sensible approach.

    Cons

    A bit cut throat. People were there one minute and gone the next.

    Continue reading
    Winston & Strawn2015-07-12
  4. "Conservative culture"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Winston & Strawn full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Free coke fountain in employee cafe

    Cons

    To succeed, you have to fit into the very conservative, up-tight culture. Big personalities should stay away.

    Winston & Strawn2020-03-15
  5. "Experience depends on the office you are in"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Winston & Strawn full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, especially parental leave (6 months!). Some really quality people and good attorneys.

    Cons

    Working in an office other than Chicago means limited access to perks and office services. Penalized for not being a top biller, even if you complete all the work that is given to you from the partners in your group. High turnover.

    Continue reading
    Winston & Strawn2020-02-25
  6. "A solid biglaw option"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Attorney 

    I have been working at Winston & Strawn full-time

    Pros

    Responsibility, flexibility to work from home

    Cons

    Benefits, Hours, Transparency of management

    Winston & Strawn2019-11-06
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Soulless corporate job with very few paths for promotion"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Specialist in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Winston & Strawn full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Money, money, money, and money

    Cons

    Literally everything else. Working a staff position at Winston & Strawn is a good paycheck, and that's about it. Dealing with lawyers on a day-to-day basis is hard enough; but a rigid, callous management makes the whole ordeal not even remotely worth it. It's a meat grinder filled with micro-managers and sociopaths from top to bottom here. Beware.

    Continue reading
    Winston & Strawn2019-10-22

    Winston & Strawn Response

    October 23, 2019Talent Acquisition Manager

    We are always disappointed to hear that a staff member had a negative experience at our firm. We pride ourselves on continually receiving positive feedback from our staff who call Winston an exceptional place to work. When someone is unhappy with literally every aspect of working in a law firm environment, we are supportive of their desire to find a position elsewhere that better suits their expectations of a workplace.

  8. "Good work; tough partners"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Winston & Strawn full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Interesting work with plenty of early opportunities

    Cons

    They will work you hard and you shouldn’t expect work life balance as an associate - the best junior associates seem to always burn out after being expected to work around the clock

    Winston & Strawn2019-09-17
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Winston & Strawn was the Best place I ever worked at! Absolutely Loved it there!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Legal Secretary in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Winston & Strawn full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Friendliness of the people; willingness to help each other out. Was able to make many long-term friendships. Good salary and benefits.

    Cons

    There were no cons -- seriously!!

    Continue reading
    Winston & Strawn2019-08-18
  10. Helpful (1)

    "As law firms go"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Business Development in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Winston & Strawn full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Generous with employees and heart is in right place

    Cons

    Typical law firm meaning technology is 15 years behind

    Continue reading
    Winston & Strawn2019-08-28

    Winston & Strawn Response

    September 5, 2019Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for your review of Winston & Strawn. The firm has made a significant commitment to building a first-rate talent platform that includes generous benefits, world-class training programs, and holistic well-being initiatives, so we appreciate receiving positive feedback in that regard. Our firm also takes pride in being a technologically advanced law firm, and we are committed to using this technology to enhance firm operations. As an example, Winston has joined the Corporate Legal Operations Consortium and is also among a small group of law firms leading the charge to identify improvements in legal operations and implement them more quickly. Our Chief Information Officer will be speaking on this and other topics at the SOLID East (The Summit on Legal Innovation and Disruption) conference this month. Winston also was featured in a recent Law360 article titled “3 Legal Go-Getters On How They’re Altering The Industry” that highlighted a novel way our firm is using AI for business development. We respectfully submit that Winston is at the forefront – and not behind – on technology.

Found 164 reviews