AXA UK Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

AXA UK Reviews

Updated 23 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
87%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
AXA UK CEO Claudio Gienal
Claudio Gienal
41 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Challenges of a big corporate, slow tied down in red tape occasionally, had some really awful managers but nothing you can do about it(in 8 reviews)

  • "Currently no direction from senior management(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "A simply brilliant place to work..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AXA UK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Having done lots of research on AXA UK before joining, I was a little sceptical as to whether all the positive things I saw across social media and their careers website would actually be true. Well 5 months in, it has exceeded my expectations and I can honestly say it’s an incredible organisation. Passionate about developing people and creating a truly inclusive workplace there really is something for everyone. There is significant change happening at present (which is needed) but the support on offer to help people cope with change is like nothing I have experienced elsewhere. Many people have either worked here for a number of years, or returned which is always a great sign.

    Cons

    The cons (poor systems, complex structures and outdated offices) are all being dealt with - see my comment above re significant change.

    Continue reading
    AXA UK2019-09-08

    AXA UK Response

    September 10, 2019Head of Employer Brand

    Thank so you so much for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review, we think that prospective employees will find it really useful. Your comments truly cement why so many employees are proud to work for AXA UK. Thank you!

    Continue reading
  2. "A great challange!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Development & Engagement Consultant in Eastbourne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AXA UK full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It is a environment where a lot of (good) change is going on and therefore a real opportunity to make your mark. The future is out there and AXA is beginning to do some really good things in this space. Positive disruption is key and there is a renewed vibe going on. It is exciting and if you like a challenge where you can participate and drive... I've had a number of roles over the years and my latest role is the most challenging but the most rewarding. I have felt I have had a direct influence on the business by improving the engagement and culture.

    Cons

    Not everyone likes to get involved, let alone drive in an area of change. Previously it was a comfortable company. People are beginning to find this is not possible anymore, so it might not be for you if you want a quiet life. It was also silo'd in places but those walls are breaking down.

    Continue reading
    AXA UK2020-01-20

    AXA UK Response

    February 13, 2020Head of Employer Brand

    Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We read every review and your comments are listened to.

    Continue reading
  3. "Tries hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at AXA UK full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Encourages good work life balance

    Cons

    Doesn’t have good collaborative tools

    AXA UK2020-02-23

    AXA UK Response

    February 24, 2020Head of Employer Brand

    Thank you for leaving a review. Its great to see that our focus on work/life balance is working and we agree, we are still learning, each day how all our department can collaborate better. Please share any ideas you have with your managers.

    Continue reading
  4. "Good career progression with the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager Finance in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at AXA UK full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Provides internal job opportunities and career progression

    Cons

    Large corporate where things can move/progress a bit slowly

    AXA UK2020-01-29

    AXA UK Response

    February 13, 2020Head of Employer Brand

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It's super helpful to know what our current and previous employees think that we do well and things that we can improve on.

    Continue reading
  5. "Great organisation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Member in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AXA UK full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great terms and conditions

    Cons

    Slightly bureaucratic but trying to change

    AXA UK2020-01-14

    AXA UK Response

    February 13, 2020Head of Employer Brand

    Thank you for your comments and review - we greatly appreciate you taking the time to feedback to us.

    Continue reading
  6. "Fairly Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Executive in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AXA UK full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Holidays are generous Good annual bonus Working conditions and office is excellent Pension In general its a good place to work, quite a bit of red tape and frequent changes though. It's a fresh environment with a great mix of people.

    Cons

    Systems are poor and too many Management style could be more inclusive and involve staff in decision making Flexible working is only available in some areas

    Continue reading
    AXA UK2020-01-28

    AXA UK Response

    February 13, 2020Head of Employer Brand

    Thanks for your review. We really appreciate our people taking the time to share their thoughts. We read every comment and will feed back your comments around agile working. Thank you.

    Continue reading
  7. "Ok company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive 

    I worked at AXA UK full-time

    Pros

    Support you in your financial exams

    Cons

    Senior director and management layout is all over the place

    AXA UK2020-01-28

    AXA UK Response

    February 13, 2020Head of Employer Brand

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. All comments are read and fed back to look where we can improve.

    Continue reading
  8. "Fantastic culture of engagement and empowerment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Provider Management Advisor in Royal Tunbridge Wells, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AXA UK full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    We’ve had a new CEO for AXA UK in late 2018 then a new CEO for Healthcare at beginning of 2019 (where I work). This has always been a great place to work but our new CEOs have given us a fresh vision and energy to really put our customers at the heart of everything we do. And they’re doing it by encouraging innovation and empowerment of employees. This is an exciting time to be working here!

    Cons

    Personally I can’t think of any!

    Continue reading
    AXA UK2020-01-11

    AXA UK Response

    January 14, 2020Head of Employer Brand

    Thank you so much for your lovely review! It's great to hear that you really enjoy working here.

    Continue reading
  9. "Not for professionals with ambitions for growth and development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Information Security Manager in Royal Tunbridge Wells, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at AXA UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A workplace which aims to gather high-skilled professionals which under appropriate management can thrive and enjoy great working environment.

    Cons

    Limited to no investment in personal and professional development especially of more recent hires (note: over 70% of staff have been in the company for over 15-20 years, hence anyone with 3-4 years in the company is still a recent hire). Career progression within the company managed in a bureaucratic manner and offered to staff based on longevity of service and favouritism rather than adequate skills & experience. Hence, the senior management may often lack knowledge and basic understanding of the area they are accountable for (e.g. information security). Salaries behind the market rate with few years.

    Continue reading
    AXA UK2020-01-20

    AXA UK Response

    February 13, 2020Head of Employer Brand

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm sorry to hear that you don't recommend us as place to work - this is something we pride ourselves on to get right. We have invested over £2million in the last year alone on professional development so we are making, and will continue to make, huge investments in our people.

    Continue reading
  10. "Good company; not so good management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Information Security Manager in Royal Tunbridge Wells, England
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at AXA UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Genuinely good people who take their job seriously. Some areas have the ethos of the outcome is as important as the path. New product/area teams have focus and drive.

    Cons

    Nepotism in management, with managers with little or no professional experience in security. Inability to provide constructive feedback as it has to go through the management chain. Mired in bureaucracy with decisions needing to be cleared up the chain and across teams. Training is limited to what the company provides, and certifications are not supported financially. For the positions in or close to London, about 2 years behind in salary.

    Continue reading
    AXA UK2020-01-01

    AXA UK Response

    January 14, 2020Head of Employer Brand

    Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review - it's really helpful to us to hear what you have to say we can continue to do things well and also know where you think we can do better.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 171 reviews