Achievement First Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Achievement First Reviews

Updated 17 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
70%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Achievement First Co-CEO and President and Co-CEO and Superintendent Dacia Toll and Doug McCurry
Dacia Toll and Doug McCurry
177 Ratings
Pros
  • "Some of the strongest professional development you can find(in 71 reviews)

  • "Authentic relationships with scholars that is fostered in to the school motto(in 21 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Clerical admin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Achievement First

    Pros

    Good members of staff and a delight to work with

    Cons

    Only tempary work in the office environment

    Achievement First2018-10-04
  2. "Achievement First Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Special Education Teacher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Achievement First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    In house professional development Helpful/supportive staff/administrators especially when first starting

    Cons

    Longer than regular school hours

    Achievement First2020-03-17
  3. "Great place to become a more effective teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Special Education Teacher in Hartford, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Achievement First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    data-driven feedback and coaching, compensation, better work/life balance than other charters, curriculum support from network

    Cons

    staff culture can be negative, bad press, high staff turnover

    Achievement First2020-03-11
  4. "Great place to start your teaching career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Teacher in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Achievement First full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of professional development, good opportunity for growth

    Cons

    Long hours, demanding, no work life balance

    Achievement First2020-03-06
  5. "Challenging but wonderful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Middle School Special Education Teacher in Hartford, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Achievement First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    *Supportive, dedicated staff who are always willing to help with questions *Wonderful kids to work with who make the job all worth it *Rigorous academic program-ability to see students succeed *Clear expectations for students *Excellent Pay *Room for growth *Great first teaching job

    Cons

    *Hours=7:00-4:30 can be a LONG day for students and teachers alike *At first when starting all the behavioral/computer/grading/payroll systems can be overwhelming *If you are not motivated and a self starter this might not be the job for you- a lot of figuring it out on the fly, willing to make mistakes when first starting, asking for clarification

    Continue reading
    Achievement First2020-03-04
  6. "Teacher at Achievement First"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Teacher in Brooklyn, NY
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Achievement First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    high salary, great kids, smart teachers

    Cons

    constant feedback little/ no prep time no work/life balance

    Achievement First2020-03-08
  7. "Great Salary, Poor Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Brooklyn, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Achievement First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great salary, negotiable leadership and salary opportunities, better work life balance than most charter schools.

    Cons

    Poor teacher a leadership development. Leadership is inexperienced leaving staff members overwhelmed and underdeveloped.

    Achievement First2020-03-04

    Achievement First Response

    March 17, 2020Outreach Coordinator

    Thank you for sharing this post - I wanted to reach out and ask for your suggestions on how we can improve teacher and leader development in the future. Helping our staff grow is such an important component of our schools, and hearing what could have made your experience stronger will help us support our school teams better moving forward. Please feel free to reach out to me directly via email: tomkaiser@achievementfirst.org.

    Continue reading
  8. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Achievement First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay for anyone. Working

    Cons

    There are no cons for me

    Achievement First2020-02-16
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Teacher review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Achievement First full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great professional development, intelligent coworkers

    Cons

    Stress, high anxiety, long hours, unrealistic expectations s

    Achievement First2020-02-11
  10. "Making a difference for kids in a not so great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher 

    I worked at Achievement First full-time

    Pros

    -Children are amazing and families are so supportive. -Robust, individualized coaching and feedback for teachers -Learn a lot of transferable skills that can help you in other settings -Competitive salary for first year teachers (comparable to other charter schools in the area)

    Cons

    -Rigid behavior management expectations for the children and not always developmentally appropriate (high emphasis on body control) -Teachers graded very harshly whether kids are "on task" based on the rigid set of expectations set forth by the administration and network as a whole -Much of the curriculum and lesson plans are outdated so teachers constantly have to modify them to be more age appropriate and relevant for the scholars we serve. -Feels like a very cliquey and toxic workplace environment

    Continue reading
    Achievement First2020-01-29
Found 412 reviews