ActiveVideo Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

ActiveVideo Reviews

Updated 10 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
54%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
ActiveVideo President, CEO, and Director Jeff Miller
Jeff Miller
34 Ratings
  1. "Cliche, but company really is all about the people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ActiveVideo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People, colleagues, coworkers....how many other ways are there to say this? I thought it was just another marketing/sell during the interview process but after working with everyone for almost 2 years, everyone really is genuine. +Flexible & wonderfully family-oriented

    Cons

    lack of long-term incentive plan, communication can be slow at times but ramps back up pretty quickly,

    Continue reading
    ActiveVideo2020-02-11
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great company with great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Care Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ActiveVideo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and growing company.

    Cons

    Traffic during a large venue.

    ActiveVideo2019-09-10
  3. "Too much turnover"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at ActiveVideo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay and benefits, normal workload

    Cons

    Company hire and fire at high speed, the management has no clue about the which directions to go and how to control the spending

    ActiveVideo2019-09-09
  4. "Steady growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ActiveVideo full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    After grinding through years of deployment delays and slow customers, the company is profitable and growing. The product is solid and used by customers all around the world. A new Android product is coming and seems to open up new opportunities. The work can be very challenging but fun, and many employees get to interact with customers. Colleagues are smart and committed and the company environment is pleasant. Good salaries and benefits and a good location top off the experience.

    Cons

    Since the company was acquired by a joint venture, there has been no equity for employees. A promised long term incentive plan has been slow to come, although the company does implement an annual bonus plan which is usually earned and paid. The pay TV industry is a tough one and customers are challenging to work with. Slow growth has limited career growth opportunities, but that seems to be changing as there has been quite a bit of recent hiring.

    Continue reading
    ActiveVideo2019-08-20
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Ineffective CEO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ActiveVideo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Capable and well trained employees Easy commute and close to CalTrain Good lunch places around the office Wonderful park across the street

    Cons

    Executive Management team is good, but CEO impedes their progress due to absenteeism and obstructionism Plans are not carried through because CEO changes plans last minute Board Members do not care about holding team accountable CEO never keeps commitments or promises to team or to Board

    Continue reading
    ActiveVideo2019-08-15
  6. Helpful (2)

    "A cozy swamp"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Software Engineer in Hilversum
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ActiveVideo for less than a year

    Pros

    Relaxing, family-like atmosphere, friendly working environment as well as nice and supportive colleagues make it comfortable to work here. The company provides smooth relocation process which is quite important especially if you do it for the first time. Compensation is competitive and slightly above average across the market.

    Cons

    Too little of development since the Product is well developed and the company is mostly oriented on maintainance, test coverage and bug fixing. I think I did not write even 500 code lines during these 6 months. If you want to develop something new and implement it in code, probably this is not the best place. Too few opportunities for growth as a developer since there are just 3 teams and there is no large variety of technologies and tasks. Compensation is worse than in large IT companies which apparently is the consequence of the company's size and profit. There is no pension scheme and bonus included into your contract. However, bonus usually is paid but it is not that big.

    Continue reading
    ActiveVideo2019-06-10
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Smart people, ample freedom, inventing new technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hilversum
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ActiveVideo part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    At ActiveVideo I work with very smart and kind colleagues. The culture at work is informal, the work atmosphere is very good. We are working on inventing new technology, so the work always offers new challenges. I really appreciate the freedom I get to decide how to do my job. There is room for contributing new ideas. The company has a drive for high quality. Salaries are very good, we have regular company outings or side activities, cooperation is easy and stimulating.

    Cons

    It can sometimes be difficult to find out who has the knowledge on some part of our product.

    ActiveVideo2019-05-10
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Good atmosphere, lots of opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Hilversum
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ActiveVideo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Smart, friendly, involved colleagues - Great atmosphere, very little stress - Lots of interesting and challenging work to be done - Excellent salary (by Dutch standards at least) - Great work/life balance... no overtime is expected and (occasional) working from home because of kids, doctors, deliveries etc is no problem.

    Cons

    - The company is on a clear path towards more agile development, but work remains to be done, mainly outside of development. - Parts of the existing codebase are far from perfect. Luckily this is recognized, but it will take time to fix. - Management could be more assertive, they may be too "soft" from time to time

    Continue reading
    ActiveVideo2019-05-07
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hilversum
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ActiveVideo part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The product is very disruptive in the marketplace of Set-Top-Boxes and is based on some interesting technologies. You will never stop learning, in combination with some very nice colleagues I would say: Welcome!

    Cons

    It is hard to get some good new colleagues so we cannot fly as high as we want.

    Continue reading
    ActiveVideo2019-05-07
  10. Helpful (3)

    "A very nice place to work with very intetesring colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software QA Engineer in Hilversum
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ActiveVideo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company has changed a lot in the last 3 years. After a few internal changes it transitioned from a traditional start up to a predictable, though still flexible, software company. In this process the types of people that the new style of working appealed to has changed, and the people who liked more the start up feel from the start left the company. In stead a lot of new, smart and varied background people have joined and the atmosphere is good. The management is very open about everything business and financial related and we now have a decent and transparent performance review in place, something I cannot say about many other companies. It is also easy to make an impact if you have a strong sense of ownership and fight for what you want to do, people are very responsive to initiative. Also, very good work-life balance! If you have kids, health issues or just want a day off, you will not have any issues making time for this in the working time(common sense is needed of course :D )

    Cons

    The company has one disproportionately big customer that likes to throw his weight around and even though that generates a lot of revenue, also dictates around 50% of what we work on. It is up to you to pull your well argumented and passionate ideas around for the other 50%.

    Continue reading
    ActiveVideo2019-05-07

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 45 reviews