Altia Central Reviews

Updated Jun 21, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 65 of over 81 reviews

3.7
76%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
  • "Altia provides good support for English Teachers(in 7 reviews)

  • "Altia Central provides training and teaching materials as part of a week-long intensive training session(in 6 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "still puts the BOE first and little growth opportunities(in 5 reviews)

  • "Salary is good for ALT work and fine for a single person, it would be difficult to support a family with it though(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good company to work for

      Jul 13, 2020 - Assistant Language Teacher (ALT) 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Management are helpful and show genuine care for their employees. If you enjoy working with young people you will love this job. Some people say being an ALT can be boring or there is too much downtime but you get out what you put in. Long holidays.

      Cons

      Hard to rise up through the company.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Bitter senior staff.

      Sep 25, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The schools can be fun. A lot of resources. The training is pretty good.

      Cons

      ALTIA like to boast on their website about "paid summer vacations", however this depends on the BOE and your contract. I only found out my summer salary would be prorated when they finally decided to show me my contract just before I started work. Once I decided to leave ALTIA they gave me 3 days to leave my apartment. Not 3 working days, just 3 days including the weekend. This made everything very hectic and stressful. I previously worked for Interac who gave me at least a couple of days to settle up. I needed to leave work early in order to buy a suitcase (I lived far enough from the mall that it would close by the time I finished work) due to them not giving me enough time to vacate the apartment. I had no classes and no work to do, my school were fine with me leaving as they understood my situation. However my supervisor was incredibly rigid and unreasonable, insisting that I stay. You get 5 sick days/personal days. However, for the contract in my area, if we missed a day then we would need to do a "make up day" therefore we never really got a personal day... just a rescheduled day! Yet they still counted it as using a personal day. My supervisor also seemed happy to provide a reference, however since I left the company he has been ignoring any requests. The Japanese staff seem fine and so do the young staff. It’s just the older spiteful supervisors you need to be wary of!

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Best ALT company other than JET

      Aug 15, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Managers at ALTIA care about the ALTS, they provide training and materials

      Cons

      Alt work in general can suck, if you are placed in a bad school there is little altia can do for you

      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      One of the better ALT companies

      Jun 21, 2021 - Assistant Language Teacher (ALT) in Nagoya, Aichi, Aichi
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Fairly hands-off management -Fully-paid vacations which can be rather long.

      Cons

      -Experiences vary depending on location/school. -Schools can get annoyed from managers calling to confirm things from time to time.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Very good company who supports you.

      May 17, 2021 - Assistant Language Teacher (ALT) in Redmond, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great support and resourcing for the staff

      Cons

      Salary. Of course. Terrible salary.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      A company that cares, but don't expect pay growth

      Apr 15, 2021 - Assistant Language Teacher (ALT) in Bellevue, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Bonus, Summer and Winter, Pays on time, company cares if you care, healthcare

      Cons

      No pay increase, hard to get time off for personal things (enjoyment)

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee

      altia central

      Mar 2, 2021 - Assistant Language Teacher (ALT) 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      > everyday is different, keep you on your toes > had a very caring supervisor > assigned living is provided if you don’t want to deal with finding an apartment on your own, which, in japan can be very frustrating > pay on time

      Cons

      > no help if you’re new to japan, you’d have to open a bank account and phone line all on your own

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great Start

      Mar 9, 2021 - Assistant Language Teacher (ALT) 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Communicate well with their teachers.

      Cons

      School can be hit or miss.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee

      ALT programme with purpose

      Mar 2, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Purpose driven work Good management Excellent suuport

      Cons

      Limited cities compared to JET

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Good company who look after the ALTs

      Jun 18, 2020 - Assistant Language Teacher in Kusatsu, Shiga, Shiga
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Training and support for professional development is very good Pay is at higher end compared with other dispatch companies Supervisors and other office staff are kind and supportive Doesn't feel like they are trying to take advantage of ALTs too much Excellent teaching materials made in-house Small end-of-contract completion bonus Opportunity for promotion to lead teacher or supervisor job Long paid vacations

      Cons

      ALT dispatch is a race to the bottom... Altia are struggling to maintain their highish standards. I lost my shakai hoken in my final year there so moved on. As with all the ALT companies, they are not able to finalize contracts until very late in the academic year...i.e. lack of job security (I had to move to a new city after my first year with the company)

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 65 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Altia Central Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Altia Central? Share Your Experiences

    Altia Central logo
    or