American Red Cross Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

American Red Cross Reviews

Updated Oct 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
American Red Cross CEO Gail McGovern
Gail McGovern
1,156 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great Mission, easy to advance if you work hard(in 130 reviews)

  • "Helping people in their time of need is amazing work(in 121 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management spread across country(in 118 reviews)

  • "Long hours and often with short notice due to emergencies(in 106 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Health and Wellness Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at American Red Cross part-time

    Pros

    Good hours and company to work for.

    Cons

    N/A for employers or employees

    Advice to Management

    none

    American Red Cross2019-05-06
  2. "Friendly, open and understanding staff at all levels"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Street Fundraiser in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Red Cross full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some of the most inspiring people to ever work with, who support you all the way and create an amazing team atmosphere.

    Cons

    The umbrellas used in fundraising are very flimsy.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    American Red Cross2012-06-18
  3. "Parts manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at American Red Cross full-time

    Pros

    Communication with staff and customers

    Cons

    Long hours and lots of work

    American Red Cross2019-10-23
  4. "Good Mission, Good People, Unique Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Red Cross full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The mission is vitally important. The people that work here overwhelmingly believe in the mission they are working toward.

    Cons

    Unique work environment due to be a non-profit while still having to compete with the regulations under the FDA and other organizations. Manufacturing work under a non-profit business model requires extra commitment to the cause and ideals of the organization.

    American Red Cross2019-10-21
  5. "Great team of people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Delegate 

    I worked at American Red Cross full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great team of people doing important and necessary work

    Cons

    Huge organization. Can be highly bureaucratic.

    American Red Cross2019-10-17
  6. "Wonderful experiences!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hospital Services Technician in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Red Cross full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Giving back Humanitarian Excellent co-workers Excellent Benefits and work/life

    Cons

    Most positions are not the best for income-it IS a non-profit! Some long-time employees really need to resign or just become volunteers It's hard to advance to other positions

    Advice to Management

    Try to think of new ways to do things. The manager I had in my last position, with the help of entry-level workers, found some HUGE discrepancies in record-keeping and financial costs and it would have been a non-issue if people had been keeping track the way they should have and not passing the buck

    American Red Cross2019-10-12
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Its 50/50"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technician in Pomona, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Red Cross full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits, Job security, and decent location.

    Cons

    Management, lack of staff teamwork, lack of sufficient staff.

    Advice to Management

    Everyone knows when youre faking it. Step up and be confident and strong leaders and also pls be mindful of your staff. If you dont care, neither will they.

    American Red Cross2019-10-16
  8. "Decent but not Competitive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manufacturing Technologist in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Red Cross full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Union benefits are excellent, many educational opportunities

    Cons

    Nepotism and favoritism throughout management, Laboratories are run by “desk jockeys”, non-union benefits are bad, PTO/call of policy is annoying

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employee feedback

    American Red Cross2019-10-18
  9. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - DCC in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Red Cross full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good hours and good staff

    Cons

    low salary and so so benefits

    American Red Cross2019-10-03
  10. "Health Promotion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Behavioral Health Counselor 

    I worked at American Red Cross full-time

    Pros

    Such a great learning experience

    Cons

    nothing, i wish i never left

    American Red Cross2019-09-30
Found 2506 reviews