American Red Cross Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

American Red Cross Reviews

Updated 12 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2445 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
American Red Cross CEO Gail McGovern
Gail McGovern
1129 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great Mission, easy to advance if you work hard(in 125 reviews)

  • "knowing you are helping people makes it more tolerable(in 121 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Health and Wellness Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at American Red Cross part-time

      Pros

      Good hours and company to work for.

      Cons

      N/A for employers or employees

      Advice to Management

      none

      American Red Cross2019-05-06
    • "Friendly, open and understanding staff at all levels"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Street Fundraiser in London, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at American Red Cross full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Some of the most inspiring people to ever work with, who support you all the way and create an amazing team atmosphere.

      Cons

      The umbrellas used in fundraising are very flimsy.

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the good work.

      American Red Cross2012-06-18
    • "Great Experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Volunteer Services Intern in Atlanta, GA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at American Red Cross part-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      I learned the ins and outs of this nonprofit, plus gained great memories.

      Cons

      There were none for me

      American Red Cross2019-06-12
    • "ARC"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Talent Acquisition Consultant 
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at American Red Cross full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Remote position is great for families

      Cons

      Salary, benefits not up to par

      American Red Cross2019-06-11
    • "Stable work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Manufacturing Technician 
      Recommends

      I worked at American Red Cross full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      This is a stable job. The work is fulfilling.

      Cons

      You must do a lot of work and the pay is ok but doesn’t measure up to all the stuff you are trained to do.

      American Red Cross2019-06-12
    • "NA"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Dcss 

      I worked at American Red Cross full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      great medical benefits and matching 401K

      Cons

      poor management from top to bottom

      American Red Cross2019-05-30
    • "Poor Management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Training Supervisor 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at American Red Cross full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great potential place to work. Supported hourly employees teaching health and safety classes.

      Cons

      Upper Management was disjointed from the lowest person on chain. Middle person was blamed. Not a great set up. Everyone was in fear

      American Red Cross2019-06-12
    • "Great Humanitarian organization"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Team Leader in Columbus, OH
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at American Red Cross full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Meeting and impacting people’s lives positively.

      Cons

      Compensation is below industry average.

      American Red Cross2019-05-26
    • "overall a great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - CPR Instructor 

        I worked at American Red Cross part-time

        Pros

        they let me choose where and when I taught, basically like a contract worker

        Cons

        not a ton of communication from supervisor, but that could be location-specific

        American Red Cross2019-05-23
      • "Dig in & evaluate the opportunity"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Development Officer in Cleveland, OH
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at American Red Cross full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Great mission and tremedous work in the face of natural disasters.

        Cons

        Deveopment and the funding-side of this non-profit can be a bit of a "grind". I believe that natural disasters in other regions of the country are having a negative impact on the philantropic giving in the "local market" (ie. asking repeatedly to support natural disasters in other regions of the country.

        Advice to Management

        Reevaluate your current funding strategies and ask more questions of your current donor pool.

        American Red Cross2019-06-05
      Found 2445 reviews