Amplify Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Amplify Reviews

Updated 22 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 251 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Larry Berger
27 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Many reviews have already said it, but I'll say it again because it's true; Upper management makes consistent incompetent decisions(in 14 reviews)

  • "very poor vision from senior management, too much at once, horrible communication from upper management(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Confusing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Amplify full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    My coworkers are professional and supportive

    Cons

    There is no consistency, communication, or coherence. None. Tons of $ and resources are squandered by and for upper management, with no regard for what is needed by support those in the field

    Amplify2019-06-22
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to start, with great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amplify full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - People: Everyone at Amplify is super chill and friendly. People are usually pretty flexible and accommodating, and there are folks from all walks of life. Everyone is very social and accepting, and they always do surprise birthday cakes and parties for big life events. - Unlimited PTO is a huge improvement over the nickel-and-diming of PTO from my previous job. Groups work in two-week sprints (scrum) typically, and...

    Show More

    Cons

    - Management can be fairly inconsistent, depending on your team. I was on a fairly stable team for over a year, then got shuffled around with the product I was working on to 2 or 3 other teams. Additionally, my official manager kept changing, and was practically never ON my team, leading to a lot of my work assessment being done by word of mouth. On my last team at the company, half the people ended up leaving within...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to your employees. Make sure your employees aren't sitting on the same pay and position for multiple years at a time. Make sure everyone in the same/similar position is being paid the same/similar amount. Assign managers that will actually understand the work that their employees are doing, will follow up on said work, will give praise when it's warranted, and will follow and encourage career development....

    Show More
    Amplify2019-06-13
  3. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Producer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amplify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work culture that is flexible.

    Cons

    Tend to hire contractors instead of full time.

    Amplify2019-05-08
  4. "good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Amplify full-time

    Pros

    happy to work here always

    Cons

    no cons as such i see

    Advice to Management

    good

    Amplify2019-05-04
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Needs to improve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brooklyn, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amplify full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible work schedules, nice offices

    Cons

    Poor leadership has led to a lack of strategy that adversely affected talented employees and the success of good products. Experienced people who work hard to understand customer needs are ignored - routinely excluded from meetings and communications, so that upper management can control all decisions - which are, for the most part, bad decisions.

    Advice to Management

    All employees should be respected. The company is in dire need of diversity of thought to be successful.

    Amplify2019-05-08
  6. "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Amplify full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Excellent Work Culture, Employee Benefits

      Cons

      A little volatile back in 2015. Might have changed now

      Amplify2019-04-01
    • Helpful (1)

      "The people make this company what it is and they are all wonderful."

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Amplify

        Pros

        As a contractor I worked remotely, but at every step it felt like I was right there with the team working side by side. I made some great friends during my time there.

        Cons

        As a contractor I was a dispensable asset. Unfortunately that’s how business is done.

        Amplify2019-03-28
      • Helpful (1)

        "Great Culture among Teams, Lack of Leadership"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Negative Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at Amplify full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Great benefits, unlimited PTO, incredibly intelligent co-workers

        Cons

        lack of clear vision, not enough thorough market research to align products to, organizational products are ahead of the current educational environment and disjointed communication between teams.

        Advice to Management

        Develop a clear market analysis based on vast surveys rather than the feedback of a few. Create a clear vision that aligns with the market needs in order to provide what the market is demanding.

        Amplify2019-04-10
      • "Intern"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
        Recommends
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Amplify full-time

        Pros

        The work environment is very collaborative, Everyone is passionate about their job; great work-life balance; projects are exciting and have significant impacts.

        Cons

        not really a con. if you have a passion for education technology, it's a great place to work and challenge yourself to make significant impacts.

        Amplify2019-03-21
      • "Great place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer in Brooklyn, NY
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Amplify full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        I'm doing something of value to humanity instead of making the rich richer. Lots of smart people who sincerely care about education. Nice office. Unlimited PTO. Good work/life balance.

        Cons

        Lots of tech debt, although the company has made significant progress in cleaning it up in the past couple of years. Some work is rushed.

        Amplify2019-03-14
      Found 251 reviews