Audit Scotland Reviews

Updated 8 Feb 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
61%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Audit Scotland Auditor General for Scotland Stephen Boyle
Stephen Boyle
1 Rating
  1. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Audit Manager in Edinburgh, Scotland

    I have been working at Audit Scotland full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Making a difference with varied project work

    Cons

    There are no bad things that I can think of

    Audit Scotland Response

    February 10, 2021Communications Adviser

    Thank you very much for taking the time to share this brilliant feedback. The purpose and impact of our work for the people of Scotland is what sets us apart from many other professional services employers. We’re really pleased to know it was such a positive experience for you and that you valued the work you were doing. We wish you the very best for the future. Susan Burgess, Assistant HR Manager.

  2. COVID-19
    Helpful (1)

    "Great people and a clear sense of purpose"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Audit Scotland full-time

    Pros

    The digital team and set up at Audit Scotland is brilliant, everyone moved to working remotely at the beginning of the pandemic this year and the support has been first class. The communication throughout has also been great - management team keep everyone updated regularly. There is a shared sense of purpose across the organisation and lots of opportunities to participate in various working groups or projects. Equality is really important and woven throughout the work that is done in each team. Benefits package is fantastic and the opportunity to build and use flexi time is great for helping balance working life and home life for me.

    Cons

    It is public sector so there are some bureaucracy and rules which make some tasks longer than you might expect in the private sector.

    Audit Scotland Response

    September 25, 2020Communications Officer

    Thank you for your kind words about working with Audit Scotland. It’s been quite some year for us all. We’re working hard to deliver world-class public audit for our clients, caring for our people and their families whilst focusing on new ways of working. We want to ensure all colleagues are involved in shaping our future. If you have any ideas about how we can make things even better, feel free to contact us in HR&OD, chat to any member of our executive team or your PCS representative (our trade union partners). Best wishes, David Blattman – HR&OD Manager


  3. "Good place to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Trainee in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Audit Scotland full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Supportive throughout ICAS training scheme Great benefits- flexible working, generous annual leave, time back

    Cons

    Frustration as a new employee of moving around different audits every couple of weeks so never able to fully understand client No defined structural training programme for new starts. Need to figure it out as you go along

    Audit Scotland Response

    March 2, 2020Communications Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your positive experience as a trainee at Audit Scotland. We’re always looking to improve our graduate programme and really value your feedback. Two years ago we launched our Professional Trainee Steering Group. The group regularly looks at what else we can be doing to give our trainees the best experience and ensures they are fully supported throughout the four-year programme. We have been working on improving induction and the work people do when they first arrive. An important part of our graduate programme is giving our trainees plenty of hands-on work experience, across different sectors and clients, which also supports our business priorities. We recognise the importance of getting the balance right between this and more structured training. As you’ll be aware, our trainees spend their first year doing on-the-job training, before starting exams. Thank you again for your feedback. Mark Taylor, Audit Director and graduate programme lead

  4. Helpful (2)

    "Good place to work"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Audit Scotland full-time

    Pros

    Good conditions, flexi time, nice Edinburgh office. Good exam support.

    Cons

    Lots of travelling, experience quite dependent on who your manager is.

  5. Helpful (3)

    "mediocre"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sandwich Artist in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Audit Scotland full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, trainee scheme, company car for some, Caroline Gardner, friendly people

    Cons

    Repetition, style over substance, avoidance of dealing with issues, barely anyone speaks up, hierarchy, COO, the job is not challenging

    Continue reading

    Audit Scotland Response

    August 29, 2018Communications Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I’d welcome the opportunity to discuss your feedback in more detail, to help us understand your concerns a little more. Please feel free to get in touch with myself or another member of our HR team. You can reach me on dblattman@audit-scotland.gov.uk or HumanResources@audit-scotland.gov.uk. Thank you, David Blattman HR and OD Manager

  6. Helpful (6)

    "Style over Substance"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Audit Scotland full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Location, Office facilities, Annual Leave

    Cons

    HR & OD team create problems to justify their own existence

    Continue reading

    Audit Scotland Response

    March 20, 2018Communications Officer

    Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. It would be great to understand a little more so perhaps you might send me an email, give me a call or drop by my desk. You can reach me on dblattman@audit-scotland.gov.uk, or call 0131 625 1500. Hope to chat soon. David Blattman HR and OD Manager

  7. Helpful (9)

    "Poor responses from a poorly led HR department and the location."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Audit Scotland full-time

    Pros

    Some good people and annual leave

    Cons

    Ignoring real issues and allowing incompetence to flourish !

    Continue reading

    Audit Scotland Response

    February 15, 2018Communications Officer

    I’m sorry this has been your experience of your time at Audit Scotland. I’d be happy to discuss your comments with you, if you feel that this would be helpful. If this is something you’d like to take forward, please get in touch by emailing info@audit-scotland.gov.uk or calling 0131 625 1500. Thank you, David Blattman HR and OD Manager

  8. Helpful (3)

    "A great place to get your graduate training and then go somewhere else"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Audit Scotland full-time

    Pros

    Great people and lots of training

    Cons

    Management does not listen to their employees

    Continue reading

    Audit Scotland Response

    January 25, 2018Communications Officer

    Thank you for your feedback. I’m pleased to hear about your positive experience of our graduate programme and our wider investment in learning & development. We have been strengthening the engagement with our trainees and your comments are helpful as we continue with this work into 2018. We wish you well with the next step in your career. David Blattman HR & OD Manager

  9. Helpful (7)

    "Started off well but slowly became unbearable due to inadequate managers which was ignored by snr mgmt & leadership grp."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Audit Scotland full-time

    Pros

    Good holidays, flexible working and ok pay. Most of the staff share the same goals, are friendly and hard working. Emphasis on most though!

    Cons

    Bad management rarely addressed, some staff behaviours ignored "because of who they work for" and a leadership group I found insincere to the point of nausea.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "great people"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    ISG Technical Analyst in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Audit Scotland for less than a year

    Pros

    friendly atmosphere with professional staff

    Cons

    new office is a bit remote

Viewing 1 - 10 of 21 English Reviews

Work at Audit Scotland? Share Your Experiences

Audit Scotland logo
or