Badoo Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Badoo Reviews

Updated 16 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
82%
Recommend to a Friend
Badoo CEO Whitney Wolfe Herd
Whitney Wolfe Herd
0 Rating
Pros
  • "Incredible benefits from Gym, to medicine, free food, & perks(in 25 reviews)

  • "Great perks, free food and massages(in 22 reviews)

Cons
  • "I wanted to be so wrong about working for a Russian company and be open minded(in 15 reviews)

  • "(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Badoo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great catering, nice location, challenging tasks, transparent management, great opportunities for growth

    Cons

    can't say anything in particular

    Badoo2020-02-06
  2. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Marketing Manager in Highbury, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Badoo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Incredible benefits from Gym, to medicine, free food, & perks. Amazing culture of idea sharing, and collaboration.

    Cons

    Limited career progression and decision making.

    Badoo2020-01-22

    Badoo Response

    January 27, 2020

    Thank you for your positive feedback around our culture and benefits.

    Continue reading
  3. "Feels like home"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IOS Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Badoo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    ⁃ great technical competency of every single engineer ⁃ supportive management ⁃ keeping up-to-date with the latest tech (swift, kotlin) ⁃ broad range of projects to work on as the company moves at a very fast pace ⁃ possibility to switch between teams and even departments ⁃ the company grows and improves a lot in terms of diversity, management approach and technology ⁃ full cover of visiting 2 conferences per year (tickets, transport, hotel, food), unlimited as a speaker ⁃ outstanding perks: amazing food (breakfast, lunch, dinner), daily upperback massages, frequent team activities (travel, lunches,.. — up to the team!), sports (gym, football, tennis,..) ⁃ best bi-annual parties ever ⁃ PS love my team :)

    Cons

    ⁃ lack of equity compensation ⁃ too frequent performance reviews ⁃ from time to time there are projects with very hard deadlines (could be a plus for someone as it feels like a startup job)

    Continue reading
    Badoo2020-01-09

    Badoo Response

    January 14, 2020

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and thanks for your kind words. We are so pleased that you make the most of the generous benefits on offer here. We appreciate all feedback and your comments have been noted and shared.

    Continue reading
  4. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Assistant in Newcastle upon Tyne, England

    I worked at Badoo part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    competitive salary, really nice colleagues

    Cons

    No cons, good work environment

    Badoo2019-12-28

    Badoo Response

    January 2, 2020

    Thank you for your positive feedback!

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing and talented people, strong engineering culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineering Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Badoo full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Best engineers I've ever seen

    Cons

    Can't put my finger on any cons.

    Badoo2019-10-18

    Badoo Response

    October 21, 2019

    Thank you for your positive feedback!

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Operations 

    I worked at Badoo full-time

    Pros

    The benefits and the culture

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of right now

    Badoo2019-10-16

    Badoo Response

    October 18, 2019

    Thanks for your review, all feedback is greatly appreciated!

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Amazing company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Badoo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Management were always encouraging and supportive of your ideas Great benefits Super young and friendly teams Office banter like no other Very innovative environment

    Cons

    A few inefficiencies in HR... But I think that's with most companies to be fair.

    Badoo2019-09-20

    Badoo Response

    September 20, 2019

    Thanks for your kind words and positive feedback, we're glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Q"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Moderator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Badoo part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great working environment; Colleagues are also good

    Cons

    There are no such cons. So it is a great firm

    Badoo2019-09-16

    Badoo Response

    September 17, 2019

    Thanks for taking the time to share your review, we appreciate your feedback and we're glad to hear you're enjoying your time with us!

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Below market salaries, lack of transparent performance evaluation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Badoo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Badoo has all the nice things that a shiny company in London would offer: free food, free massage, free haircut, full kitchen etc. Dating business is very fun to work with if you are interested in the product design/implementation processes.

    Cons

    Below market average salaries glazed by a monthly bonus scheme to allow you to catch up with market levels. However, this scheme wickedly functions as a carrot and stick practice to turn you into a workhorse. You are always compared to the rest of the peers and if you value your work/life balance you will always be on the losing side by constantly being told that you underperform against the expectations. In the beginning you think it is you but then you realize that most of your peers are fed with this narrative as well and it is the scheme underneath. Mid to long term, you realize that there is no structure in line management. Performance evaluation process is very opaque. You might get a raise/promotion with one manager and not with another although you are performing absolutely at the same level.

    Continue reading
    Badoo2019-08-23

    Badoo Response

    September 5, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, your feedback is valued. We’re glad to hear that you enjoy working in the dating industry and appreciate the many benefits on offer. We would like to encourage you to discuss any concerns with your HR Business Partner so that we can clarify any questions you have and work to improve your employment experience here at MagicLab.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Great Benefits to hide the poor management and misogyny in the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Badoo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Perks and benefits that is hard to find in any other company in London

    Cons

    Russian is the main language of the office, they keep pointing out and sending out emails and emails saying that staff should not speak in Russian but it never change or will change, the CEO is pampered, only cares about his image and what other people and the press thinks about the company. Staff are underpaid, overwork and a crazy bonus system that always works in the company favour to give you less money. Management are 95% Russians so you end up having to beg for things as other for being Russians would just get it first handed and with no approval needed as a "buddy". Founders like to be treated like gods, you must not speak with them, you must to disturb them, they will always be secluded in their tiny little room where you feel frighted to even adventure yourself inside when you are called upon.

    Continue reading
    Badoo2019-09-06

    Badoo Response

    September 17, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, your feedback is valued and will be shared. We would like to encourage you to discuss any concerns with your HR Business Partner so that we can look at how we can improve your experience with us here at MagicLab.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 115 reviews