Badoo Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Badoo Reviews

Updated 11 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 104 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Badoo CEO  Andrey Andreev
Andrey Andreev
64 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great perks, free food and massages(in 22 reviews)

  • "free lunches, breakfasts, massages, looooots of perks(in 20 reviews)

Cons
  • "Russian run company - you'll be inundated with presents but then fired at a moment's notice(in 13 reviews)

  • "(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Badoo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing benefits, good salary, high level of the autonomy and good atmosphere in the team. In my opinion it’s one of the best places to work in London.

    Cons

    Compensation level highly depends on the monthly performance, so you need to maintain a fast pace at your work. At the same time it keeps the whole team focused.

    Badoo2019-05-19

    Badoo Response

    June 7, 2019HR Manager

    Thank you for your kind words – don’t forget you get incentivised when you refer your friends! You can also share your positive experiences at work on social media, don’t forget to #badoo

  2. Helpful (2)

    "Below market salaries, lack of transparent performance evaluation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Badoo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Badoo has all the nice things that a shiny company in London would offer: free food, free massage, free haircut, full kitchen etc. Dating business is very fun to work with if you are interested in the product design/implementation processes.

    Cons

    Below market average salaries glazed by a monthly bonus scheme to allow you to catch up with market levels. However, this scheme wickedly functions as a carrot and stick practice to turn you into a workhorse. You are always compared to the rest of the peers and if you value your work/life balance you will always be on the losing side by constantly being told that you underperform against the expectations. In the... beginning you think it is you but then you realize that most of your peers are fed with this narrative as well and it is the scheme underneath. Mid to long term, you realize that there is no structure in line management. Performance evaluation process is very opaque. You might get a raise/promotion with one manager and not with another although you are performing absolutely at the same level.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Restructure the middle management by re-vetting them as most of them lack people skills and line management function. Bring transparency into the performance evaluation. Managers are taking advantage of the opaqueness.

    Badoo2019-08-23

    Badoo Response

    September 5, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, your feedback is valued. We’re glad to hear that you enjoy working in the dating industry and appreciate the many benefits on offer. We would like to encourage you to discuss any concerns with your HR Business Partner so that we can ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Great Benefits to hide the poor management and misogyny in the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Badoo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Perks and benefits that is hard to find in any other company in London

    Cons

    Russian is the main language of the office, they keep pointing out and sending out emails and emails saying that staff should not speak in Russian but it never change or will change, the CEO is pampered, only cares about his image and what other people and the press thinks about the company. Staff are underpaid, overwork and a crazy bonus system that always works in the company favour to give you less money.... Management are 95% Russians so you end up having to beg for things as other for being Russians would just get it first handed and with no approval needed as a "buddy". Founders like to be treated like gods, you must not speak with them, you must to disturb them, they will always be secluded in their tiny little room where you feel frighted to even adventure yourself inside when you are called upon.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you pretend to have a London office, hire people that live and breath here, don't relocate all your work force from Russian and want to transform the office into a Little Russia as is keeping your best minds leaving or never joining the company. Try to focus more on the office environment than on perks, sometimes listen to your employees when they ask you your plans for the future don't sweep it under the rug or... delete the question of the AMA's. Try to change the way management treat lower employees or stop assuming that each person in the company has a value printed on them and reward each one for they actual value, we don't want Fiji water or expensive parties to show off to the rest of the world, pay us what we deserve!

    Show More
    Badoo2019-09-06
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Horrible dysfunctional founders"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Badoo

    Pros

    Fun industry - nothing else but I have to write more or Glassdoor will not submit :)

    Cons

    I wanted to be so wrong about working for a Russian company and be open minded. But this is a nightmare place to work with arrogant founders. Avoid working here unless you only plan to stay a few months

    Advice to Management

    Listen and don’t be arrogant

    Badoo2019-08-28

    Badoo Response

    September 5, 2019

    Thanks for leaving a review, we really appreciate and value your feedback and we wish you the best in your future career.

  5. Helpful (2)

    "Work hard play hard in every sense"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Badoo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    With no doubt if you are looking to learn and grow technically this is an amazing place to do so. The Tech, BI and Product teams are top notch and now as a former employee I can see how good things were and how smartly and advanced Badoo works. I know many people who left Badoo to go to tech companies like Google, Facebook, Skyscanner, Amazon, etc. and others going to very promising start ups around the globe!... This must tell you something, Badoo works with highly skilled professionals and pushes us to learn, grow and stay competitive. In BI, we had a great data management and warehouse teams so as an analyst you will have the joy of working with pretty clean and good quality data. Should you need something new to the warehouse, your wish can be turned around pretty fast as well! (Which is not the case in many other 'tech' companies.) Data is king at Badoo and the BI team is very strong! (Company wise, documentation is also king which you will appreciate with so much going on.) As part of the Product Analytics team we were responsible for tracking and this is by far the most sophisticated system and process I have seen and heard of. We deal with a looooot of data and we are doing a very good job at it. At first sight, the thing that Badoo BI lacks is good tools that are well known on the market. But actually for the level of complexity and advancement we have, not many tools would suffice . So a lot is built in-house to support the needs. So, do not expect fancy looking tools, instead expect to get your hands dirty with SQL and Python and get very technically advanced.

    Show More

    Cons

    I still think the way we worked was good for the business but not for the individual. We would have times when we had to push our limits to the very last - great to learn and grow but not so great if you want to stay in a place for a bit longer. Progression and development is not something transparent for the employees and even if we get salary increases, there is no understanding how we can move up the ladder... or move to different projects and teams. Also, there is not a lot of transparency of the future, there are no clear company objectives and values to follow. For a company of that size and power, this seems to be breaking point for many people who care about their work. I was missing the bigger purpose. Saying that, teams like HR and Marketing know that and were working to change before I left so I hope you make the difference!

    Show More
    Badoo2019-05-31

    Badoo Response

    June 7, 2019HR Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we appreciate your feedback. It's great to hear you've learnt and developed during your time at Badoo. You're right regarding our purpose, we have made a lot of investment in this area and have recently launched our new brand proposition. ...

    Show More
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Good for the short-term, but not to stay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Badoo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Interesting projects, dating apps are fun to work on and contain a surprising breadth of challenges that will be applicable to a wide range of industries afterwards. - If you're a self-starter it's a great chance to dive in, get significant responsibilities right away and make an impact. I learned a lot in my time working there, but it was mostly self-taught. - If you're not already in the UK (or EU) they're... one of the few companies willing to deal with the hassle of sponsoring your visa. I will always be thankful for this. - Some of the people you'll work with are phenomenally smart, top-tier people. - The gender balance is improving in most departments. - The usual free food etc

    Show More

    Cons

    - No shares/RSUs etc which is *insane.* Do not work long-term in any tech company that doesn't give you this. - Go back and read that first con again. It's really, really unacceptable they don't give you shares, and the pay is absolutely not high enough to make up for this. - While the senior product leadership was mostly good, the company needs more of it--more people with 8-10 years of experience to help... bridge the gap between ICs and leadership. - Relatedly, Product team in particular is overstretched and burnout rate has been high. - Leadership/management as a job function/skillset is not taken seriously. ICs become people managers without proper preparation and training, which is suboptimal for both the new managers and their direct reports. - Too many reshuffles and reorgs. - The C-suite is a black box that does not communicate or build relations with the employees. If anything they cultivate an air of being distant from and above us. There's a pervasive sense that there's a different set of rules for those in this "inner circle" vs regular employees. - There is not a single woman in a C-level position in Badoo (there's been improvement at lower levels however) - You may feel like a serf with all the perks being a "bread and circuses" shiny things to distract you from the fact that the real wealth (shares in the company) are kept for the leadership themselves. - Gender diversity has improved, but diversity along all other lines is very much lacking.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I enjoyed my time at Badoo and am thankful I had the opportunity to work there. But I left for very real reasons you need to address. I was not the first to leave over them, and I already haven't been the last. You're a tech company. Give your employees shares and hold yourselves more accountable to them or keep losing them.

    Badoo2019-06-09

    Badoo Response

    August 12, 2019

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for highlighting some of the positives. I’m really glad that you enjoyed your time with us and felt challenged. While we don’t currently offer shares, we‘re proud to deliver a comprehensive benefits package including a range of daily ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Great company to work for as a Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Designer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Badoo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Perks - pretty much everything that you can think of, hard to find other companies in London to offer you the same. Few of them are private medical and dental insurances, all day meals provided in the office, kitchen full with snacks and drinks, and many more ... my personal favourite one was the daily 5 min massage at your desk. Team - the design team is a strategic part of the product and company. There are a... lot of design challenges to solve as the apps are always progressing and evolving. You can expect to work with some very smart and talented people which really helps to push your boundaries. In addition to all of the perks I've mentioned above there are also a lot of design specific ones to help you grow and learn - fully covered local and international conferences, training budget which you can use for courses or books, and of course the amazing design team builds. Company - fast moving environment where people work hard and are passionate about what they do. You have the freedom to work on the stuff you enjoy more and have a real impact on the product.

    Show More

    Cons

    Fast moving - sometimes this can be a bit overwhelming, management moves from one idea to another. Career growth - I believe the company can do a better job here.

    Advice to Management

    Be more transparent with people in lower levels. Communicate more the vision and product direction.

    Badoo2019-04-11

    Badoo Response

    April 24, 2019Badoo

    Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review about our perks, team and company. We strive to ensure that we deliver a great employee experience and will pass your feedback on to the relevant teams. Wishing you success in your future career.

  8. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to work and learn!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Badoo full-time

    Pros

    Startup culture Good leaning curve Excellent benefits

    Cons

    - - - - -

    Badoo2019-04-12

    Badoo Response

    April 24, 2019Badoo

    Thanks for your feedback, it’s great to hear that you are enjoying your time with us. You can #Badoo some of the joys of our employee perks on social media. Don’t forget we also offer a great referral scheme and are always looking for great talent to join the Badoo family.

  9. Helpful (2)

    "Finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Badoo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing company and people probably the best place I have been in terms of my career. Exciting things happening Cool and you people The company really take care of the employees.

    Cons

    Not many and I am happy where I am :)

    Badoo2019-04-09

    Badoo Response

    April 24, 2019Badoo

    Thank you for your kind words – don’t forget you get incentivised when you refer your friends! You can also share your positive experiences at work on social media, don’t forget to #badoo

  10. Helpful (3)

    "A truly great place to grow as a Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graphic Designer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Badoo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    • Modernistic company – always up-to-date with the trends and technology, culturally-rich and open environment, you are not forced to stay in one place the whole day to work. • You are well-looked after – the perks are unparalleled: food of all sorts day in, day out, massages, health and wellbeing events, private medical and dental insurances, to name a few. You work hard, and you also get to play hard. We throw... big parties to unwind and just enjoy everyone's company. • Growth – we are always encouraged to go to conferences around the globe, as well as trainings and workshops: all paid for. You just need to show your serious commitment and motivation to get the most out of it. We also share our extended knowledge throughout the whole team to maximise our know-how in the industry and support each other. • Supportive team – we are constantly growing as a team, and it is very much like having a big family where you spend majority of your life, which is just great. We do team building outings to relax and get to know each other better outside the office as well.

    Show More

    Cons

    • Immensely fast-paced that sometimes you lack the time to properly explore some projects, though we do go back to them most of the time to constantly improve our work. • We have a pool of strong-minded individuals who are very tenacious with their ideas and opinions, which can cause friction most of the time. However, with enough evidence and arguments about your confidence with where you stand with your work,... it is possible to get through to these people and meet each other halfway.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I have been at Badoo for nearly 2 years now and I can say that it has improved massively, and it is now so different to how it was painted on really old reviews here. Keep on going, things are getting much better, and I appreciate how I am seeing more and more women in the company 💪

    Badoo2019-04-05

    Badoo Response

    April 24, 2019Badoo

    Thanks for your feedback, it’s great to hear that you are enjoying your time with us. You can #Badoo some of the joys of our employee perks on social media. Don’t forget we also offer a great referral scheme and are always looking for great talent to join the Badoo family.

Found 104 reviews