Badoo Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Badoo Reviews

Updated Oct 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
76%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Badoo CEO  Andrey Andreev
Andrey Andreev
67 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great perks, free food and massages(in 23 reviews)

  • "free lunches, breakfasts, massages, looooots of perks(in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "I wanted to be so wrong about working for a Russian company and be open minded(in 15 reviews)

  • "(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing and talented people, strong engineering culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineering Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Badoo full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Best engineers I've ever seen

    Cons

    Can't put my finger on any cons.

    Badoo2019-10-18
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Operations 

    I worked at Badoo full-time

    Pros

    The benefits and the culture

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of right now

    Badoo2019-10-16
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Amazing company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Badoo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Management were always encouraging and supportive of your ideas Great benefits Super young and friendly teams Office banter like no other Very innovative environment

    Cons

    A few inefficiencies in HR... But I think that's with most companies to be fair.

    Badoo2019-09-20
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Q"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Moderator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Badoo part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great working environment; Colleagues are also good

    Cons

    There are no such cons. So it is a great firm

    Badoo2019-09-16
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Below market salaries, lack of transparent performance evaluation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Badoo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Badoo has all the nice things that a shiny company in London would offer: free food, free massage, free haircut, full kitchen etc. Dating business is very fun to work with if you are interested in the product design/implementation processes.

    Cons

    Below market average salaries glazed by a monthly bonus scheme to allow you to catch up with market levels. However, this scheme wickedly functions as a carrot and stick practice to turn you into a workhorse. You are always compared to the rest of the peers and if you value your work/life balance you will always be on the losing side by constantly being told that you underperform against the expectations. In the... beginning you think it is you but then you realize that most of your peers are fed with this narrative as well and it is the scheme underneath. Mid to long term, you realize that there is no structure in line management. Performance evaluation process is very opaque. You might get a raise/promotion with one manager and not with another although you are performing absolutely at the same level.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Restructure the middle management by re-vetting them as most of them lack people skills and line management function. Bring transparency into the performance evaluation. Managers are taking advantage of the opaqueness.

    Badoo2019-08-23
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Great Benefits to hide the poor management and misogyny in the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Badoo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Perks and benefits that is hard to find in any other company in London

    Cons

    Russian is the main language of the office, they keep pointing out and sending out emails and emails saying that staff should not speak in Russian but it never change or will change, the CEO is pampered, only cares about his image and what other people and the press thinks about the company. Staff are underpaid, overwork and a crazy bonus system that always works in the company favour to give you less money.... Management are 95% Russians so you end up having to beg for things as other for being Russians would just get it first handed and with no approval needed as a "buddy". Founders like to be treated like gods, you must not speak with them, you must to disturb them, they will always be secluded in their tiny little room where you feel frighted to even adventure yourself inside when you are called upon.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you pretend to have a London office, hire people that live and breath here, don't relocate all your work force from Russian and want to transform the office into a Little Russia as is keeping your best minds leaving or never joining the company. Try to focus more on the office environment than on perks, sometimes listen to your employees when they ask you your plans for the future don't sweep it under the rug or... delete the question of the AMA's. Try to change the way management treat lower employees or stop assuming that each person in the company has a value printed on them and reward each one for they actual value, we don't want Fiji water or expensive parties to show off to the rest of the world, pay us what we deserve!

    Show More
    Badoo2019-09-06
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Horrible dysfunctional founders"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Badoo

    Pros

    Fun industry - nothing else but I have to write more or Glassdoor will not submit :)

    Cons

    I wanted to be so wrong about working for a Russian company and be open minded. But this is a nightmare place to work with arrogant founders. Avoid working here unless you only plan to stay a few months

    Advice to Management

    Listen and don’t be arrogant

    Badoo2019-08-28
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Badoo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing benefits, good salary, high level of the autonomy and good atmosphere in the team. In my opinion it’s one of the best places to work in London.

    Cons

    Compensation level highly depends on the monthly performance, so you need to maintain a fast pace at your work. At the same time it keeps the whole team focused.

    Badoo2019-05-19
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Work hard play hard in every sense"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Badoo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    With no doubt if you are looking to learn and grow technically this is an amazing place to do so. The Tech, BI and Product teams are top notch and now as a former employee I can see how good things were and how smartly and advanced Badoo works. I know many people who left Badoo to go to tech companies like Google, Facebook, Skyscanner, Amazon, etc. and others going to very promising start ups around the globe!... This must tell you something, Badoo works with highly skilled professionals and pushes us to learn, grow and stay competitive. In BI, we had a great data management and warehouse teams so as an analyst you will have the joy of working with pretty clean and good quality data. Should you need something new to the warehouse, your wish can be turned around pretty fast as well! (Which is not the case in many other 'tech' companies.) Data is king at Badoo and the BI team is very strong! (Company wise, documentation is also king which you will appreciate with so much going on.) As part of the Product Analytics team we were responsible for tracking and this is by far the most sophisticated system and process I have seen and heard of. We deal with a looooot of data and we are doing a very good job at it. At first sight, the thing that Badoo BI lacks is good tools that are well known on the market. But actually for the level of complexity and advancement we have, not many tools would suffice . So a lot is built in-house to support the needs. So, do not expect fancy looking tools, instead expect to get your hands dirty with SQL and Python and get very technically advanced.

    Show More

    Cons

    I still think the way we worked was good for the business but not for the individual. We would have times when we had to push our limits to the very last - great to learn and grow but not so great if you want to stay in a place for a bit longer. Progression and development is not something transparent for the employees and even if we get salary increases, there is no understanding how we can move up the ladder... or move to different projects and teams. Also, there is not a lot of transparency of the future, there are no clear company objectives and values to follow. For a company of that size and power, this seems to be breaking point for many people who care about their work. I was missing the bigger purpose. Saying that, teams like HR and Marketing know that and were working to change before I left so I hope you make the difference!

    Show More
    Badoo2019-05-31
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Good for the short-term, but not to stay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Badoo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Interesting projects, dating apps are fun to work on and contain a surprising breadth of challenges that will be applicable to a wide range of industries afterwards. - If you're a self-starter it's a great chance to dive in, get significant responsibilities right away and make an impact. I learned a lot in my time working there, but it was mostly self-taught. - If you're not already in the UK (or EU) they're... one of the few companies willing to deal with the hassle of sponsoring your visa. I will always be thankful for this. - Some of the people you'll work with are phenomenally smart, top-tier people. - The gender balance is improving in most departments. - The usual free food etc

    Show More

    Cons

    - No shares/RSUs etc which is *insane.* Do not work long-term in any tech company that doesn't give you this. - Go back and read that first con again. It's really, really unacceptable they don't give you shares, and the pay is absolutely not high enough to make up for this. - While the senior product leadership was mostly good, the company needs more of it--more people with 8-10 years of experience to help... bridge the gap between ICs and leadership. - Relatedly, Product team in particular is overstretched and burnout rate has been high. - Leadership/management as a job function/skillset is not taken seriously. ICs become people managers without proper preparation and training, which is suboptimal for both the new managers and their direct reports. - Too many reshuffles and reorgs. - The C-suite is a black box that does not communicate or build relations with the employees. If anything they cultivate an air of being distant from and above us. There's a pervasive sense that there's a different set of rules for those in this "inner circle" vs regular employees. - There is not a single woman in a C-level position in Badoo (there's been improvement at lower levels however) - You may feel like a serf with all the perks being a "bread and circuses" shiny things to distract you from the fact that the real wealth (shares in the company) are kept for the leadership themselves. - Gender diversity has improved, but diversity along all other lines is very much lacking.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I enjoyed my time at Badoo and am thankful I had the opportunity to work there. But I left for very real reasons you need to address. I was not the first to leave over them, and I already haven't been the last. You're a tech company. Give your employees shares and hold yourselves more accountable to them or keep losing them.

    Badoo2019-06-09
Found 108 reviews