Blockchains Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Blockchains Reviews

Updated 22 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.4
31%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Blockchains CEO Jeffrey Berns (no image)
Jeffrey Berns
10 Ratings
  1. "Working for Blockchains was a pleasure."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Officer in Sparks, NV
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blockchains full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Inspite of being a startup company they paid well and provided good benefits. They also provided free food as long as they could. I have read many negative reviews about Blockchains but I don't agree. Some people will be negative no matter what. My security job at Blockchains was at a rate of $5.00 per hour more than the rate on my prior security job and I did less work. The job was a cream puff!

    Cons

    I really didn't like my coworkers but that's okay. My coworkers didn't sign my paychecks. The fact that they didn't sign my paychecks was the guiding force behind the way I treated them. I conducted myself in such a way as to remind them on a daily basis that they could not do whatever they wanted with me.

    Continue reading
    Blockchains2020-03-22
  2. Helpful (3)

    "It was ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Blockchains full-time

    Pros

    This job offered some perks like free food and Pilates.

    Cons

    There was a lot of inconsistencies with management style and some people were hired just because of their connections to the founders.

    Blockchains2020-03-10
  3. "Startups are hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Reno, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blockchains full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have worked at Blockchains for almost a year and for those of you considering working here, I highly recommend it. I have read the posts below and while some of the comments are true, they lack context. Blockchains is a startup, and one with a giant and life-changing vision. Since I have been here, there have been several separations from employees, but the truth is that the company hired too quickly before understanding its needs. The company had a lot of roles that unfortunately were not needed and certain employees were not fulfilled or busy. While this is no fault of the employees, startups change, they go through several iterations of reorganization. It isn't fun, but it is necessary for this business-need. So for those of you thinking about applying, but see these reviews, this place is great and is getting more focused and organized. There are so many moving parts, that there is a great opportunity to learn new things and get involved in projects that a big company wouldn't allow.

    Cons

    The constant changing is difficult and can be frustrating. It would be helpful if work from home were an option.

    Continue reading
    Blockchains2020-02-07
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Not Recommended"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Blockchains full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay was ok. Free meals provided.

    Cons

    Management does not believe in what they project to the employees. A lot of busy work without any real goals. Townhall with forced fun and games. Most of the people in the pictures have been fired or quit.

    Blockchains2020-02-21
  5. "Incredible professional development opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Manager in Sparks, NV
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blockchains full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I enjoy working at Blockchains. I've had the opportunity to work closely with the Berns brothers. I previously worked for a family-owned company, and so when this opportunity came up, I did not hesitate. I enjoy the passion, challenges, and creativity of working in a family-owned organization. I didn't pursue this job because its a start-up or because its blockchain. I pursued it because I was a good fit for the position, and I like the hiring executive. My job has advanced in significant ways at least three times since I started here two years ago. Change is hard, but it is good. The legal team here is incredible, and they have encouraged my professional development growth in astounding ways. Yes, they are firm, and they are fair. They provide the best advice, hands down. I love my coworkers at Blockchains so much. We are an incredible team of talented individuals that come from diverse backgrounds and experiences. We recently previewed one of the larger products. Its so exciting, I want this app in my life right now! My advice to applicants: you must be adaptable to change and be able to communicate effectively. This company is growing so fast. Company leaders will be quick to point out areas of improvement that you need to work on. If you cant manage constructive feedback, please do not apply. This job is for those who are willing and able to change with the needs of the organization. Patience is critical in working in a 'young' company that is continuously trying to improve. What matters to me is that they are trying.

    Cons

    The constant changes are challenging. We have made a lot of progress over the last year. I am looking forward to seeing what this next year will hold. No job is perfect. All jobs are hard. At any given time I like working at this job 80% of the time. For me, that's an excellent satisfaction rate.

    Continue reading
    Blockchains2020-01-14
  6. "Great Start-Up Environment with Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blockchains full-time

    Pros

    Your job is different every day, things change constantly and almost always for the better, there are many opportunities to grow, employees are so kind and truly care about one another. The office space is very nice.

    Cons

    It could be challenging if you are not used to a start-up environment where things are constantly changing. You have to be flexible and have a good attitude.

    Continue reading
    Blockchains2020-01-09
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Warning signs everywhere."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Blockchains full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice building with adequate parking.

    Cons

    There were warning signs everywhere. I should have quit a long time ago.

    Continue reading
    Blockchains2020-01-28
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Unstable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Employee in Sparks, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Blockchains full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people you will work with are awesome. Benefits and perks are on-par.

    Cons

    There is no consistency or stability. They will hire someone and declare their position obsolete months later. Unrealistic expectations from C-level.

    Continue reading
    Blockchains2019-11-28
  9. Helpful (7)

    "A company of deceit and paranoia. THERE IS NO PRODUCT!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Sparks, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Blockchains full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some talented people work there.

    Cons

    VP's are dishonest and afraid, especially of Jeff and David Berns. Recreational marijuana does cause immense paranoia. The charade won't last for long.

    Continue reading
    Blockchains2019-11-19
  10. Helpful (13)

    "If you are thinking about working here, don’t."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Blockchains for less than a year

    Pros

    Free food twice a week. Health insurance is free for employees.

    Cons

    A whole lot of nothing is happening at this company. It feels like busywork and you never really know what direction you’re really heading in. Every task I did felt pointless because I had no endgame/direction. Very ambiguous from day to day. Unclear what the company is actually doing, and as far as much of the staff is concerned, there are no products even in the pipeline, and this is a cause for concern for many. There is no defined company mission or values. Employees look sad for the most part. Overall, it feels like a complete facade, and many current (and former) employees would also tell you this.

    Continue reading
    Blockchains2019-07-26
Found 27 reviews