Broadcom Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Broadcom Reviews

Updated Oct 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Broadcom CEO Hock E. Tan
Hock E. Tan
255 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "work-life balance is missing in this organization(in 139 reviews)

  • "On many occasions, long hours with tough schedules exist(in 51 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fantastic company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Security Officer in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Broadcom full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They care about their staff. Always in hand to listen if you have work/personal issues

    Cons

    Was better when it was Broadcom version 1, not so good when Broadcom was bought out

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work

    Broadcom2017-05-16
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Mediocre"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Accounting Representative in Bracknell, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Broadcom full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I guess if you’re happy to just work for a salary only this is the place to be.

    Cons

    They don’t look after their people, no customer service at all.

    Advice to Management

    Team building and company culture go a long way to making employees happy enough to stay

    Broadcom2019-07-18
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Treat you like dirt - honest about it- pay you quite well."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Broadcom full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Competitive stock options. Easy life. Not busy. Could happily work 2 hours a day and not get called on it .

    Cons

    No learning. Not able to make an impact. Lots of useless people happy to just work 2 hours a day and take a pay check. Decisions made too quickly without any consultation with teams.

    Advice to Management

    Have a direction and articulate it to your staff. Stop making decisions without their involvement call people out when they are not productive.

    Broadcom2019-06-09
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Staff run into the ground"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Broadcom full-time

    Pros

    Salary good but not enough money for the work you do

    Cons

    Employees run I to the rim with not enough staff to do the first

    Broadcom2019-06-16
  5. "good,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Engineer 

    I have been working at Broadcom full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good salary, good benefit, working hard since teh aquistion

    Cons

    kind of boring some times, software is not repsected as hardware

    Broadcom2019-04-08
  6. "Tech Support ESD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sn Support Engineer in Slough, Berkshire, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Broadcom full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Money is good, nothing else

    Cons

    Bad office location, worst HR in history (ever been threatened with dismissal if you do not agree to a change in T&C?) , no idea on how to handle a software company, massive churn of talented people, laughable RSU grant schedule. No interest in EX, as a quote: We are in the business of making money. You as an employee do not matter, you can be amazing but if you are in a BU that does not make enough... money according to Hok, you're toast. Very siloed, no vertical movement, hardly any opportunities for promotion. If you leave or are made redundant, you are blacklisted for at least a few months.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the employees you want to stay.

    Broadcom2019-04-04
  7. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Broadcom full-time

    Pros

    fast, efficient, allows, trusts, empowers employees to get on with their work

    Cons

    lack of communication, too many acquisitions , acquired companies are not integrated enough, no clear long term strategy or plan

    Broadcom2019-03-05
  8. "Great at destroying good companies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Broadcom full-time

    Pros

    Very few - I annuals to think of any

    Cons

    Buy companies then strip them to the bare bones whilst trying to make employees quit rather than pay them off

    Advice to Management

    If you have just been bought, prepare for the worst. The CEO wants share price to increase and the quickest way is push out all managers and staff, then run the remaining few into the ground. Profits will be up year one, as staff costs will disappear, by year 2 or 3, expect there to be nothing left and technology to be collapsing as no experienced staff remain to code or QA correctly.

    Broadcom2018-11-12
  9. "Alliance Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Alliance Manager, EMEA in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Broadcom full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Rewarded for hard work and self development

    Cons

    As a manufacturer of digital components they lack understanding of sales process and sales compensation required to retain people

    Broadcom2018-10-02
  10. "Software engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Bristol, England

    I have been working at Broadcom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Aggressive company with good salary and other benefits

    Cons

    feel like there is no future in this company since the day i have joined i am doing git bisect to find bug between baselines. with avago the work is also less now and lot of projects have gone away. office politics are peak level and very less job security in this satellite site .

    Advice to Management

    Pl improve your hiring process

    Broadcom2018-09-18
Found 2213 reviews