Brook Street Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Brook Street Reviews

Updated 2 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 140 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Mark Cahill
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people, friendly environment to enjoy with your peers(in 8 reviews)

  • "Really not a bad place to work, I worked with a great team and they provided a lot of support for me(in 8 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Brilliant company to start within recruitment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Southend-on-Sea, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Brook Street for more than a year

    Pros

    - excellent training - great environment - had one the best managers

    Cons

    There are none to report

    Brook Street2018-08-17

    Brook Street Response

    October 11, 2018Operations Director, Brook Street

    Many thanks for the positive review. I'm pleased you enjoyed working with us.

  2. "Temp Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Brook Street full-time

    Pros

    Everyone is easy to contact and super helpful

    Cons

    Sometimes things aren't super clear – either my fault for misreading things or they can't know everything you'll need to know

    Advice to Management

    No advice necessary!

    Brook Street2018-11-21

    Brook Street Response

    December 14, 2018Operations Director, Brook Street

    Thank you for your review!

  3. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Administrative Officer 

      I have been working at Brook Street full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Flexy hours, average pay rate

      Cons

      Not enough hours overall good

      Brook Street2019-07-02

      Brook Street Response

      July 12, 2019Operations Director, Brook Street

      Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback.

    • "Care & Earn Trust"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Manager 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Brook Street full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Honest, Hardworking and ethical environment to work. Encourage idea's and creativity.

      Cons

      Not the best salaries but good benefits and bonus structure

      Brook Street2019-06-21

      Brook Street Response

      July 12, 2019Operations Director, Brook Street

      Hi there. I'm very pleased to read your positive review. As you know, we are committed to providing an ethical, trustworthy and caring environment in which to work. Many thanks for your comments!

    • "Champagne and Razor blades, welcome to recruitment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Brook Street full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Brook Street hire lovely staff Engagement through the seniority levels through visits and working in different branches for a day If you want it

      Cons

      Higher management keep plans very close to their chest Minimal direction from higher management In house systems are out of date The CEO is pushing high tech, high touch but we're waiting for 6 hours if we get locked out of our computers The merge with Manpower hasn't been clean sailing either we feel as staff that we are still in competition with Manpower and I'm not sure what the benefit of it serves?

      Advice to Management

      Concise communication would be Ideal Implementing stronger training, maybe Sales Training from sales trainers

      Brook Street2019-05-29

      Brook Street Response

      July 12, 2019Operations Director, Brook Street

      Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I'm glad to hear that you enjoy working alongside your colleagues, but sorry to read some of your other comments. Communications and IT systems are both high on our agenda at the moment, and something we are working to continually ...

      Show More
    • "Nice management, but too much cold calling"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Permanent Consultant in London, England

        I have been working at Brook Street full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        - nice management, useful trainings, 6 months probation period (during which you are truly given the opportunity to learn into sales and not being told off too much if not meeting targets) - nice company culture and nice people to work with

        Cons

        - can be stressful as you're required to make phone calls (mainly cold calling, and you can develop the relationship and convert them into warm calls) - if sales is for you, then it is a great place to work at, otherwise it will be stressful

        Brook Street2019-05-18

        Brook Street Response

        July 12, 2019Operations Director, Brook Street

        Thanks very much for your positive review; I agree whole-heartedly with your comments about our working culture and our people.

      • "Great place to work!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Peterborough, England
        Recommends
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Brook Street full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Brook Street is an amazing place to work with a friendly environment and great opportunities

        Cons

        office sometimes gets a bit stuffy

        Brook Street2019-04-18

        Brook Street Response

        July 12, 2019Operations Director, Brook Street

        Thank you for your positive review - I'm delighted you enjoy working here!

      • "Administrative Assistant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Liverpool, England
        Negative Outlook

        I have been working at Brook Street part-time

        Pros

        Guaranteed appropriate work when available

        Cons

        Minimum wage. Takes a while before contacting you.

        Brook Street2019-03-30

        Brook Street Response

        May 22, 2019Operations Director, Brook Street

        Thank you for your review!

      • "Recruitment consultant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Brook Street full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Great working environment ando great support

        Cons

        No flexibility with hours. Not appreciated

        Brook Street2019-02-27

        Brook Street Response

        May 22, 2019Operations Director, Brook Street

        Thank you for review. I'd like to thank you for your contributions over the past year. Flexible working is something we are happy to have a conversation about. If you'd like to get back in touch and talk through your experience, I can be contacted via contact.us@brookstreet.co.uk.

      • "Recruiter"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at Brook Street full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Good bonus scheme Good training Good access to sites to use for candidate searching

        Cons

        Working very much in the olden days - offices dated and working on a very old sales structure

        Brook Street2019-02-07

        Brook Street Response

        May 22, 2019Operations Director, Brook Street

        Thank you for your feedback.

      Found 140 reviews