Brookson Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Brookson Reviews

Updated 5 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
81%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Brookson CEO Martin Hesketh
Martin Hesketh
38 Ratings
  1. "Freedom to be a professional and develop your own style in a people focused environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountancy Services Manager in Warrington, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brookson full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Customer Service is a the forefront of everything at Brookson and it is nurtured, celebrated and championed. To achieve this, the focus is on building trust and flexibility with employees to ensure they are happy so that they give their best. Opinions are valued and career progression is tailored to you individually - even where it means you may move on from your current team. The result is that the culture is vibrant, yet relaxed and it is a great place to work.

    Cons

    None that I have come across

    Continue reading
    Brookson2019-10-08
  2. "Good start and money for fresh grad -- not good for the soul"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Executive in Warrington, North West England, England

    I worked at Brookson full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management looked after new hires. Training is well structured. Money was reasonable for the position.

    Cons

    The company offered a relatively buggy and sub par product which meant a lot of complaints. Company tried to automate too much without enough real accounting experts on hand to address concerns. This meant a lot of the time you had to 'fob off' your caller and they often became wise to it. Usual problem or callers getting frustrated at having to repeat themselves if they call in numerous times. Sales would sell membership packages to people incapable of running their own accounts -- i.e people who couldnt speak english or were not IT or accountancy literate. These people would get themselvs in trouble with the HMRC. Demoralising dealing with these people as you very much felt like you worked with the bad guy.

    Continue reading
    Brookson2019-11-05

    Brookson Response

    November 11, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this review, it was great to read your positive comments about our training programmes and salaries.We constantly review our internal training programmes. Our aim is to ensure all employees are knowledgeable and engaged in their roles, so it was great to read your positive comments.We were really sorry to read your comments surrounding our service, our model aims to allow our clients contact with both our Customer Service and Accountants Team. This we believe gives our customers a more personal and tailored service.

    Continue reading
  3. "Poor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Onboarding Partner 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brookson full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Non at all avoid at all cost

    Cons

    Everything cramped desks, poor training, suppressed they are still going

    Continue reading
    Brookson2019-10-05

    Brookson Response

    October 8, 2019Marketing Manager

    We were really sorry to read how you felt about your time with Brookson, this is definitely not how we would want our employees to feel. We take on board your comment about the cramped desks. Currently we’re in the process of renovating our office spaces and have recently leased a third building in Warrington to ensure comfortable surroundings for our employees whilst work is being completed. In regard to training, we have a dedicated Learning and Development Team and more recently have employed an Operational Training Manager to deliver both Customer Service and Technical programmes. Our people are at the forefront of everything we do here at Brookson, any feedback we receive gives us the opportunity to improve further and make Brookson the best place to work. Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments.

    Continue reading
  4. "Didnt enjoy working here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Warrington, North West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Brookson full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture Club is brilliant and come up with some lovely little incentives and extras. Especially the Xmas markets and hampers.

    Cons

    The company as a whole is extremely cliquey. And it tends to be the management level that is the worst for this. Lots of gossiping and bad mouthing about their teams etc. Managers all seem to be out for their team and not the company as a whole and throw others under the bus and pass blame easily. Massive pressure on employees to just 'work harder' to perform in teams that quite clearly have internal issues or are not operating well. Did not find it to be a genuine environment or positive place to be a lot of the time.

    Brookson2019-09-16
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - New Business in Warrington, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brookson part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great hours, commission is great for the role I do. I call outbound and set up umbrella contractors. Targets very realistic, the whole team of 5 always achieve these. Great atmosphere and social aspect of work if you want it. Regular incentives, fun atmosphere and fantastic management throughout the whole sales team.

    Cons

    None from company or management, quite a few moaners who don’t appreciate what they’ve got, but blank them out and your fine.

    Continue reading
    Brookson2019-07-04
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Advisory Team Leader in Warrington, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brookson full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Brookson really take an interest in you personally and what your long term goals are. They encourage self development and supports you in achieving your goals.

    Cons

    Parking can be limited on later shifts

    Continue reading
    Brookson2019-06-12
  7. "Fantastic culture and working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Business Onboarding Partner in Warrington, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brookson full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really fantastic company culture, spent a lot of time and effort in making sure staff are valued and have a good work / life balance, not micromanaged, or treated like children, unless people act like it! The CEO is involved day to day and knows every employee which is a really nice touch.

    Cons

    The traffic getting on or off the business park can add 30-45 minutes to a commute on a bad day especially if surrounding motorways are affected by accidents.

    Continue reading
    Brookson2019-06-11
  8. "A Place To Thrive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Advisor in Warrington, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brookson full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good working hours, free tea/coffee & fruit, employee perks (Perkbox etc.), good location & brilliant staff

    Cons

    I am yet to have a bad experience within this company, so none!

    Continue reading
    Brookson2019-05-16
  9. "Great Company, Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brookson full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Growing business with lots of learning and development opportunities. The Culture is great and everybody is friendly and approachable at all levels of the business. Would highly recommend!

    Cons

    No cons, apart from the traffic when leaving the business park in the evening.

    Brookson2019-05-16
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Services Administrator in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brookson full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun, friendly, good working environment and plenty of learning opportunities. Birthday off as well as annual holiday, free tea/coffee & good pension arrangements.

    Cons

    The free tea & coffee!

    Continue reading
    Brookson2019-05-16

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 45 reviews