Capital Group Reviews

Updated 20 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Capital Group Chairman and Chief Executive Officer  Tim Armour
Tim Armour
9 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits and pay esp after the first few years(in 170 reviews)

  • "Excellent benefits, work/life balance, room for growth -- all things companies preach but rarely display(in 131 reviews)

Cons
  • "Senior management may not have associate interests as a top priority(in 59 reviews)

  • "It's a call center so adherence is a must(in 34 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Really can't fault it"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investment Group Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Exceptional benefits package and compensation Employees are well looked after and genuinely valued Slick operations and communications The response to Covid was faster, slicker and more compassionate than I've seen of any other company Nice offices Very inclusive, with a diversified team globally Long hours are not encouraged

    Cons

    I really can't fault Capital, they're the seventh company I've worked for and are by far the best

    Capital Group2020-05-15
  2. "Junior Portfolio Analyst"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Portfolio Analyst in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Capital Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance, only stressful during busy months, did not feel permanently rushed the whole time, good exposure to portfolio managers

    Cons

    Very hierarchical, lack of promotional opportunities, slow moving, low innovation, I was also there during the abysmal renovation period in the London office, which detracted from the working conditions.

    Capital Group2020-05-16
  3. "Great place to build a career"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investment Operations Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Industry leading active investment manager; privately held company; lots of growth and job opportunities esp in Europe and Asia, high quality colleagues. Great benefits and pay esp after the first few years.

    Cons

    Not that nimble, need quicker and more decisive decision making. Generally good work life balance but lots going on and not enough time to delivery superior results

    Continue reading
    Capital Group2020-01-23
  4. "Good company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work life balance

    Cons

    Not great at diversity in the London office

    Capital Group2019-11-29
  5. "Great company to work for but if you start as an assistant forget any promotions!"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Capital group is an amazing company to work for, the culture , environment and benefits are amazing

    Cons

    I have started as an Admin Assistant and I can tell you that to be promoted to a different position is very hard, almost impossible as you are always regarded as admin no matter the effort you put in to prove yourself

    Continue reading
    Capital Group2019-10-28
  6. "Excellent benefits"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capital Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and colleagues are second to none

    Cons

    Investment group is put on a pedestal, very few opportunities for internal candidates

    Continue reading
    Capital Group2019-09-16
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Terrible management of the assistants"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capital Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits (pension, dental and health scheme), hours

    Cons

    Toxic environment, culture of fear. Assistants that have been in the company for ages treat the newer ones like absolute rubbish. The will smile at your face but constantly undermine you to your own manager or the assistants manager. Never seen such a high turnover of new assistants. It is so unbearable that new people come and go quick! The onboarding system is completely useless...not even a training booklet or something in place relevant to assistants that they could refer to. HR or the assistants manager are totally pointless. If you turn to them to ask for help (eg if you have been a victim of bullying, of sexism or have raised a health and safety issue..), they will systematically turn it against you, take the offenders side (especially if that person is more senior) and eventually they will kick you out of the company. Very toxic and leaving people genuinely complaining or with concerns completely helpless and often distraught.. A lot of favouritism too, they will protect certain people but not others based on their preferences or the longevity of the person in the company. Many people disappear from one day to the other at Capital. Very cut throat. Too many people who have been in the company for decades, sitting on their laurels, with skills completely out of date...they would not last one minute in any other company. Lots of lazy people too in the investment team..people ‘working from home all the time’ (ie doing nothing) or having unlimited holidays..lots of privileges for some. A company can’t run like that. It does not set the right example really. Bonus very low for assistants. No room for development for assistants unless you become a favourite to the assistants manager (which is the only way). Office very cold. And they play a high volume white noise in the background to keep employees alert[which is awful really and clearly showing how little trust they have in their staff).

    Capital Group2019-09-22
  8. Helpful (1)

    "A rewarding challenge"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Copy Editor Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You're given real opportunities to progress and develop as an associate - I have been promoted twice in the last 4 years, which wasn't even a possibility in my previous role. The people you work with are genuinely kind and there is a sense of team spirit - even with those you don't work with day-to-day.

    Cons

    Can be a pressurized environment.

    Continue reading
    Capital Group2019-06-04
  9. Helpful (1)

    "More diverse than any other company I've worked at"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Bright, intelligent people, Compensation, Culture and Environment

    Cons

    Decisions can be slow due to micro managing.

    Continue reading
    Capital Group2019-06-03
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good company but no opportunity to move up for assistants"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent company to work for, excellent benefits and good work-life balance

    Cons

    No room for career move if you are an assistant

    Continue reading
    Capital Group2019-06-03
Found 1158 reviews