Card Factory Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Card Factory Reviews

Updated 12 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 248 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Karen Hubbard
56 Ratings
Pros
  • "Be able to meet with friendly staff members and customers(in 16 reviews)

  • "This business is fast paced do not think this is a cliche it’s the truth so be prepared(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "Minimum wage, some hours weren’t shared equally between staff(in 29 reviews)

  • "long hours, very little pay (minimum wage)(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Love working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Card Factory full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Staff are friendly, always supported, always something to do face paced

    Cons

    Rates of pay are pants

    Card Factory2019-05-05
  2. "-"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Yardley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Card Factory part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun place to work, good hours

    Cons

    Told i was being kept permanent, and then got told i could no longer work there because or hour reviews.

    Card Factory2019-06-30
  3. "Never a boring day fast paced, great teams and a great place to grow your career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager for Concessions and Franchises 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Card Factory full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Never 2 days the same, you get out of this experience what you put in. Lots of positive changes to the business to enable a long term vision. Stable retailer always busy and growing. Room for you to move on in the business. I started as fixed term contract (9 months ) and now nearly 8 years later after being offered my own store stayed and have since moved into field based roles and recently moved to another department,...

    Show More

    Cons

    Time flys to fast !

    Advice to Management

    Keep making the changes to help people develop and move within the business.

    Card Factory2019-06-29
  4. "It's beginning to look a lot like Christmas..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal Sales Assistant in Carmarthen, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Card Factory part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Sociable, fun, flexible hours, great pay.

    Cons

    No breaks until you have worked at least six hours.

    Advice to Management

    More breaks needed during shifts please to aid concentration and more variety in the day to day tasks needed to prevent boredom.

    Card Factory2019-06-28
  5. "yess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Card Factory part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good lifestyle in the hive

    Cons

    minimal yes thats why it is

    Card Factory2019-06-19
  6. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 

      I worked at Card Factory full-time

      Pros

      Good people to work with

      Cons

      too much work and not enough staff

      Card Factory2019-07-03
    • "Good company to work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Retail Assistant in Loughborough, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Card Factory full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Good training, friendly staff and management

      Cons

      Pay could be better than minimum wage

      Card Factory2019-06-15
    • "Poor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Manager 

        I worked at Card Factory full-time

        Pros

        Cant think of any at all

        Cons

        Poor pay, poor hours, not enough staff

        Card Factory2019-07-12
      • "Good job"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Birmingham, England
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Card Factory part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Very good first job

        Cons

        Gets boring after a while

        Advice to Management

        Nothing

        Card Factory2019-05-30
      • Helpful (1)

        "Avoid at all cost"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Store Manager in Ballymena, Northern Ireland
        Doesn't Recommend
        Positive Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Card Factory full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        You meet some amazing people who are managers in other stores

        Cons

        Pay poor fot what your expected to do Never enough hours but they always want more and more from you Full of promises which are never kept No thanks for the job you do and communication is so poor it's unreal from those leading the company

        Advice to Management

        Treat you store teams better

        Card Factory2019-06-30
      Found 248 reviews