Channel Five Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Channel Five Reviews

Updated 4 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
62%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Channel Five CEO Stan Myerson & Martin Ellice (no image)
Stan Myerson & Martin Ellice
2 Ratings
  1. "Senior Graphic Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Channel Five full-time

    Pros

    Great friendly and experienced team

    Cons

    We don't have an unlimited budget

    Channel Five2018-06-20
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Channel Five full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good bunch of people

    Cons

    Poor flexible working opportunities

    Channel Five2019-06-04
  3. "No pros but a lot of fox!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Graphic Designer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Channel Five for more than a year

    Pros

    Some great people in the design house and production and there is a banging barista in the foyer.

    Cons

    Unfortunately the people who make the creative decision are not qualified and should just concentrate on managing.

    Advice to Management

    Hire one proper art/creative director to save the show!

    Channel Five2019-04-02
  4. "Fun place to work that's going from strength to strength"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Channel Five full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I worked at C5 for 7 years, and at almost every point in that time, the company was ambitiously chasing industry leaders. It feels good working for an underdog that was fighting for it's place in the industry. As a result, there are talented and ambitious people at every level, in every department. This cultivates a really energy and aspirational work environment. The were plenty of opportunities to get stuck... into to a large variety of work. I was always encouraged to throw my ideas into the ring, and often they were followed by the support and resources needed to actually bring them to fruition, even if it wasn't technically part of my normal job. No one took themselves or their jobs too seriously, at least not all the time. Everyone was aware of the importance of a work/life balance, and rarely did projects become unhealthy. The highest levels of management are completely approachable, and actively encourage people to engage with them. The quality of work has, on the whole, improved vastly. When left alone, colleges become real families, there is a great sense of belonging on a team level. It seems to attract a really high quality calibre of people. You will meet some friends for life.

    Show More

    Cons

    Progression is tough, as teams are small and people stay in their jobs for a long time. Viacom are keen on touting their schemes for training and progression, but it rarely comes to fruition. Expect a good job with good people, but it's not a place to stay for a long time.

    Advice to Management

    Channel 5 has never been more relevant amongst it's audience, and is winning awards for everything it does at every level - yet the teams making this happen are slowly falling apart due to attrition. I've seen so many talented people go off to other places, when they wanted nothing more than to continue doing good at C5. People *want* to work there, they just need the money and titles they deserve. Don't be scared... to give these people what they want, they will reward your believe in them 100x over.

    Show More
    Channel Five2018-09-06
  5. "More the name"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Channel Five full-time

    Pros

    Strong Brand Chance to work across channels Open plan office

    Cons

    Poor development Poor Salary Lost in the big business

    Advice to Management

    Increase Career development opportunities.

    Channel Five2018-05-04
  6. "Sales manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends

    I worked at Channel Five

    Pros

    Loved every minute of it! Great team, great leadership and was overall a great place to work with a fantastic culture.

    Cons

    They sold channel 5 to sky, it was a shame to lose such an awesome group of people

    Channel Five2017-01-31
  7. "Good place - nowhere to go up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Channel Five full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked there before Viacom took over but ... The people who worked there were very hardworking and good at what they do Good work ethic Good location

    Cons

    Progression options pretty limited Can be clique-y

    Channel Five2016-10-19
  8. "Not sure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Channel Five

    Pros

    people, pay, lots of lunches

    Cons

    Can't think of any cons to the company

    Channel Five2016-06-27
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Awful place! Wish I had read the 1st review."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Channel Five

    Pros

    Viacom incentives, Good central location.

    Cons

    The environment harkens to the 1950's. Very backward in relation to what the rest of the world is aware of and what the industry as a whole is doing. With a self professed 'UKIPPY' image it isn't uncommon to be privy to offensive and racist comments or discriminatory behaviour which I found shocking. Many employees have talents which aren't being utilised in accordance with their roles, which is why many left during... my time there. The revolving door of employees speaks volumes. After having heard and seen the suspect actions of management and HR if you decide to join this company, join a union!!!!! Good Luck!

    Show More
    Channel Five2016-05-31
  10. "Retrospective Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Acquisitions Executive in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Channel Five

    Pros

    Hired great people: the people are the business. Good management and open dialogues. Encouraged fun and social interaction. Organised away days, Christmas parties etc

    Cons

    Not enough access to development courses, talks, training. No internal opportunities to learn for development and no mentoring

    Advice to Management

    Could have encouraged internal promotion and development instead of looking externally.

    Channel Five2016-03-31
Found 11 reviews