Chegg Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Chegg Reviews

Updated 16 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 359 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Chegg CEO Dan Rosensweig
Dan Rosensweig
222 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work life balance with good package(in 35 reviews)

  • "Great office in Santa Clara with open seating and free lunch(in 31 reviews)

Cons
  • "Chegg has very strict guidelines and apparently lets tutors go unannounced(in 31 reviews)

  • "No cons of of working with this company(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Worked as Subject Matter Expert in Advanced Physics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chegg part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It was great to havve worked with them. A brilliant online networking of teacher student equation.

    Cons

    Mostly problems are available at midnight IST. It takes longer for some subjects to solve questions which might reduce monthly earning.

    Chegg2018-11-18
  2. "Subject Matter Expert"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Chegg full-time

    Pros

    You get a lot of knowledge in your subject at this company. Great flexibility in working.

    Cons

    The number of questions in the queue depends on your subject of expertise so you may not earn much if your expertise area is not in demand. Sometimes the Questions in the queue to solve are from students who want to cheat in their exams. If your conscience is clear, you may not want to earn money this way by helping students to cheat. Firing you is no big deal to the company. There is limited future opportunities....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    They have best management

    Chegg2017-01-12
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Subject Matter Expert 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chegg part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible time. No pressure no target. We can learn.

    Cons

    I can't feel the office scenario because i am are working from home

    Chegg2019-08-16
  4. "Good for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SME in Coimbatore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Chegg full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work hours Learn, teach and earn

    Cons

    No drawbacks ( according to me)

    Chegg2019-08-12
  5. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Chegg part-time

    Pros

    salary on time, good leaders

    Cons

    no cons, everything is good

    Chegg2019-08-09
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Subject Matter Expert in Visakhapatnam

    I have been working at Chegg full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good working environment. Timely payments. Insurance. Breakfast/Snacks + Drinks.

    Cons

    No work from home is provided.

    Chegg2019-08-06
  7. "Excellent in short term but not sure fpr long term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SME in Pune

    I have been working at Chegg full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible timing and good earning

    Cons

    Not sure for long term .

    Chegg2019-08-09
  8. Helpful (1)

    "People focussed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chegg full-time

    Pros

    People focussed company, enables growth for good performance

    Cons

    Nothing that stands out is poor. The management is pretty Pro active in addressing challenges that they identify

    Chegg2019-07-29
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Expert"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Chegg part-time

    Pros

    Everything is good in the company

    Cons

    Nothing is cons for the company

    Chegg2019-07-21
  10. "Average place to work with decent benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chegg full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    401(k) match, health insurance, eat club lunch, more or less supportive upper management

    Cons

    Not a good place for females with young kids, specially engineers Non existent performance review process You should be good at showcasing what you can do rather than actually doing things to be promoted.

    Advice to Management

    Re-org to prevent dirty politics and cronyism Make the workplace friendlier for young parents

    Chegg2019-08-11
Found 359 reviews