Countrywide plc Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Countrywide plc Reviews

Updated 23 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
57%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Countrywide plc Group Operations Director Paul Creffield (no image)
Paul Creffield
64 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Property Manager 

    I have been working at Countrywide plc full-time

    Pros

    Good company to work for

    Cons

    Can be demanding at times

    Countrywide plc2019-12-13
  2. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lettings Director in London, England

    I have been working at Countrywide plc full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible and compassionate working conditions

    Cons

    none that i can think of

    Countrywide plc2020-03-23
  3. Helpful (1)

    "If i had an arch nemesis they would be the only person i'd recommend this place to"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Administrator in Annesley, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Countrywide plc full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The only positive i can give is the people I've met whilst working here

    Cons

    There is no staff appreciation which is probably why the staff turnover is so high, management treat everything like it's a secret so staff are always in the dark with what's happening, pay is abysmal and you have no opportunity for overtime so enjoy being skint, but if you want to be treated like you're at primary school you'll love it here.

    Countrywide plc2020-03-23
  4. "Not family friendly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Lettings in Tamworth, England

    I have been working at Countrywide plc full-time

    Pros

    You aren't sat in an office all day long and can break up the day with your appointments.

    Cons

    Little pay for the expectations, constant changing of targets, lack of flexibility regarding family life and ridiculous hours, especially when you are expected to do late appointments without extra pay to show your commitment to the role. Only suited to someone who literally has nothing else in their life.

    Countrywide plc2020-03-18
  5. "Started so well"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Negotiator in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Countrywide plc full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great commission structure Friendly staff Fair salary

    Cons

    Will not progress part time staff Hr not in the k ow have to constantly question them to get correct response Maternity care isn’t what you would expect

    Countrywide plc2020-02-24
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Awful time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Lettings Negotiator 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Countrywide plc

    Pros

    Friends I made Nothing else

    Cons

    I hated my time at Dixons country wide was promised the world and never even earned minimum wage. Yearly tax letter came through the post and I bearly had 12k for my years work their after tax .... shocking !!! You’d blow figures out the water one week and the next you are hounded .... pressure was always on my back as I did the viewing dealt with the customers and tenants... so when I came back to the office after a viewing I would get hounded how did it go ... my response would be they didn’t like it .... okay so why would be the response I had back an which made me feel like a idiot all for less then minimum wage ....: I would do between 10 and 18 let’s and still never get minimum wage so my motivation dropped. !!! Avoid avoid avoid

    Countrywide plc2020-03-09
  7. "Good employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Negotiator in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Countrywide plc full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    A good employer, good training

    Cons

    Moved around a lot from different branches

    Continue reading
    Countrywide plc2020-01-29
  8. "Toxic workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Property Lawyer in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Countrywide plc full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some of the workers are lovely to work with.

    Cons

    No structure; everything is all over the place. Unfair treatment. You are expected to work like a machine with no consideration for your mental health and wellbeing. There is a lot of people pleasing that goes on. Expectations are unrealistic. Very conservative. There is a lot of favouritism and double standards. The environment is awful and very toxic and as a result, morale is extremely low. Management appear to be on a power trip.

    Continue reading
    Countrywide plc2020-03-01
  9. "Lovely people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commercial Officer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Countrywide plc full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people, varied design work

    Cons

    Low salary, cost cutting constantly.

    Countrywide plc2020-01-18
  10. "Awful Company, avoid like the plague!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Branch Manager in Worthing, South East England, England
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Countrywide plc

    Pros

    I wish I could think of one!

    Cons

    There are some great corporate companies to work for.....this isn’t one of them ! No training, terrible marketing, back office system 20 years out of date, no investment in staff or the tools to do the job. Sinking ship.

    Continue reading
    Countrywide plc2020-02-18
Found 289 reviews