Coupa Software Inc Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Coupa Software Inc Reviews

Updated 25 March 2019
280 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Coupa Software Inc CEO Rob Bernshteyn
Rob Bernshteyn
242 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Interesting work challenges, good work life balance" (in 23 reviews)

  • "Company is growing rapidly in terms of headcount and client base and also the feature set they deliver out" (in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work-Life balance varies from department to department" (in 9 reviews)

  • "Nothing outside of normal thresholds for growing pains associated with a company that is scaling at this rate" (in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (3)

    "One of The Best Places I have Ever Worked!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in San Mateo, CA (US)
    Current Employee - Vice President in San Mateo, CA (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coupa Software Inc full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Executive Team
    Coupa Village (That's what we are part of)
    Company Values
    Company Culture
    Flexible Work Environment

    Cons

    No con's I can think of

    Advice to Management

    This company has literally been one of the best places that I have worked. I'm empowered to do my job without micromanagement. The people that I work with and for are the best in the business. The core values are something that I am passionate about and fiercely protective of. There are lots of opportunity for growth both personally and professionally. I know that what I do is having a positive impact on the bottom line. The need for diversity is not only recognized, but there are many programs in place to make Coupa even more diverse.

    The CEO and the executive management team are engaged, intelligent and business savvy. They also ensure that our culture stays intact and that our values are lived. Talent and hard work are recognized and rewarded. Every year there is an avalanche of promotions which is very exciting to see. You are encouraged to be authentic and call BS when you see it which is very refreshing.

    If you get an opportunity to work here, don't pass it up. This could be your next best thing.

    Coupa Software Inc Response

    5 Mar 2019 – VP, Global Talent

    Thank you for sharing your experience. It's great to see employees who have worked at Coupa for many years continue to enjoy what they do and also contribute to making Coupa a great place work! The... More


  2. Helpful (2)

    "Coupa is the best culture I have worked in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engagement Manager in London, England
    Current Employee - Senior Engagement Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coupa Software Inc full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Yes its all about performance and customer satisfaction - but then shouldnt every company be that way? Great culture, benefits and attitude to hard work, if you want to cruise, find somewhere else to work!

    Cons

    None that I have found, remote working can sometimes be tiresome, but so can a 9-5 grind in an office.

    Advice to Management

    Keep going, keep building, keep driving customer success, but apsue every now and then to admire the view

    Coupa Software Inc Response

    5 Apr 2017 – Head of Global Talent Acquisition and Enablement

    Thanks for your review! Great to see this coming through from London, keep up the success over there!

  3. "Architect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coupa Software Inc full-time

    Pros

    Young company with great potential for growth

    Cons

    High growth equates to lack of career progression currently

    Advice to Management

    Don't forget about your employees because they have built this company

    Coupa Software Inc Response

    8 Nov 2017 – Head of Global Talent Acquisition and Enablement

    Thanks for your review! I encourage you to have a discussion with your manager about your career path and setting goals. If you still feel this way after that conversation, please reach out to me... More


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Director Business Strategy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coupa Software Inc full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    small agile organisation and industry leading platform

    Cons

    normal growing pains of any newly IPO'd company

    Advice to Management

    Keep the focus on the culture

    Coupa Software Inc Response

    3 Apr 2017 – Head of Global Talent Acquisition and Enablement

    Thanks for your feedback! Very positive to see you’ve been here more than a year and still recognize our focus on culture.


  5. Helpful (4)

    "Working for Coupa in EMEA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in London, England
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    - Strong focus on teamwork
    - Coupa culture is at the top of everyone's agenda - feels like you are part of a close knit team
    - Everyone strives to keep ensure our customers are successful and can save $$$s
    - Exciting cloud platform that allows us to approach IT is new and ground breaking ways
    - People are respected and can thrive

    Cons

    - Can be hard work work to deadlines and pushing customers forward
    - US company that is growing into Europe has some pain, but the US is listening and turning things around
    - Remote working can be a challenge

    Advice to Management

    Culture isn't just "Coupa Culture" - US Management needs to understand local and country specific cultures need to be considered. US, French, Spanish, Japanese, Chinese, British, German, etc - we are all different and approach issues differently and do not like to be told to do things the US way!

    Coupa Software Inc Response

    27 Jan 2017 – Head of Global Talent Acquisition and Enablement

    Thanks for taking the time to write your review, we really appreciate it! Our Coupa Culture is very unique. We have an open and collaborative environment to support everyone in working at their... More


  6. Helpful (2)

    "Moving Unsurpassed from Strength to Strength"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coupa Software Inc full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Tremendous work experience. Rapid growth and pure innovation exposues you to exciting and visible changes on a regular basis. While the work will often push you out of your comfort zone (which I regard as a positive), you really feel that you are leading in defining and extending the boundaries of a market. It feels purposeful.

    Cons

    You need to be able to work independently and you need to be a great communicator. This job is not for everyone, particularly those that want to hang back and 'coast' in a comfortable role without being stretched.

    Advice to Management

    Don't take your eye off the ball and get caught up in what the competition is doing - keep taking the high road and lead by example.

    Coupa Software Inc Response

    27 Jan 2017 – Head of Global Talent Acquisition and Enablement

    Thanks for your feedback! You’re right that Coupa employees need to be great communicators. Communication is the key to our success!


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Professional Services in Reading, England
    Current Employee - Vice President Professional Services in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coupa Software Inc full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Culture
    Freedom to do a great job
    Focus on customer and value

    Cons

    No office in UK so work at home a lot of the time
    Company in growth mode so some challenges in processes

    Coupa Software Inc Response

    27 Jan 2017 – Head of Global Talent Acquisition and Enablement

    Thanks for writing this review! “Freedom to do a great job” is a very strong and true statement!

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Coupa is THE savings-as-a-service company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in London, England
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coupa Software Inc full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Coupa is such an innovate and inspiring company to work for, a true leader in the field. With the back up from Gartner and Forrester and cash in the bank, it really makes it easier for companies to choose Coupa over any other competitor. At Coupa you feel part of the entire team, everyone works towards the same goals, which makes this company very unique in its own right. I love the culture! The team in EMEA specifically is a great team to work in!

    Cons

    I don't have anything negative to say... since everyone works really hard sometimes you find yourself in a position where you have to slow down and take some "me" time. Then the foot goes back onto that pedal!

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing in your people, reward them, help your employees to improve their careers.


  9. Helpful (11)

    "Smoke and Mirrors.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coupa Software Inc full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great basic and commission structure
    Forrester & Gartner backed as leader in the market
    Very simple concept to position in the early stages of communication with prospects
    Remote working, ideal for work/life balance
    CRM has plenty of data to work with

    Cons

    Personally, I found the team very antagonistic with far too much focus on internal politics and social relationships rather than productivity and success.

    Advice to Management

    Beware of ever-growing discrimination and losing focus on the core values of Coupa.


  10. Helpful (3)

    "Unbelievable product that is truly going to change the spend under management space!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coupa Software Inc full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Supports innovation
    Everybody has a voice
    Great growth prospects
    CEO values his employees and listens
    Great sales culture
    Hugely talented and senior people who have come to change this space

    Cons

    Hard work and long hours but this is by choice and not demanded by management
    Not a company for people who want to be told what to do. You are encouraged to drive your own path and direction to support the fast growing innovation which can be tough for some people

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing the same