Crown Castle Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Crown Castle Reviews

Updated 11 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
68%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Crown Castle CEO Jay Brown
Jay Brown
151 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, fair compensation, nice environment(in 43 reviews)

  • "The work life balance and genuine caring of management (local and national) for employees is the best of any company I've worked for in my 1(in 35 reviews)

Cons
  • "The process to hire and transition from vendor/contractor status until you get a full time opportunity(in 18 reviews)

  • "Work life balance can be difficult during peak customer activity periods(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (8)

    "Used to be a great place for CMs and PMs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Construction Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Crown Castle full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and somewhat good work-life balance....or at least it used to be.

    Cons

    Very political and clicky. You will be overworked and under paid.

    Continue reading
    Crown Castle2019-12-03
  2. Helpful (2)

    "An outstanding place to work with great pay and benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Supply Chain Manager in Columbia, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Crown Castle full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Culture, Management, Pay, Benefits, Executive Engagement Crown has truly been a fantastic and exciting place to work. I have been promoted once and just took a position in a new vertical of the company. The work life balance and genuine caring of management (local and national) for employees is the best of any company I've worked for in my 1.5 decades in telecom. There is incredible opportunity to grow within the company and move into different verticals. There are many tools and management is supportive of the process of self improvement and vertical/horizontal movement . For higher level positions you need to be a self advocate and geographically flexible, but there are so many opportunities to be had. The CEO and executive management team is reachable via internal chat and email. They take live questions without filter on nationwide video broadcasts. They tackle tough issues and admit problems and seek solutions. No company is perfect, but I've never worked somewhere leadership is so approachable, human, and willing to work and engage with employees of every level.

    Cons

    Growing Pains from aggressive acquisition and new vertical build out

    Continue reading
    Crown Castle2019-11-19

    Crown Castle Response

    December 4, 2019Internal Communication Content and Channels Lead

    Thanks for sharing your feedback! We're so glad you like our culture, our people, and our benefits - we believe these are only some of the things that make us a great place to work. We are in a period of growth right now, and we appreciate your advice to management on how to make meaningful change in this time of great opportunity. If you have any more thoughts or ideas, please feel free to share them through our intranet homepage or during one of our quarterly Company Conversations.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Not ready for prime time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Crown Castle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Extremely sound financially. Decent culture.

    Cons

    No clear vision. No long haul network. Too niche to really capture enough business to blow your targets away.

    Continue reading
    Crown Castle2019-12-02
  4. "No Integrity and Poor Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Crown Castle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, 401K, paid vacation time, 5G telecom industry growth

    Cons

    No integrity and plenty of poor leadership. Crown Castle executives have become more and more greedy and less focused on customers and employees. Business Services (Crown Castle's HR team) is inward focused and they don't care about employees or employee development. Crown's fiber division is filled with unethical managers who get away with bullying employees daily. Whatever happened to B3 Values? Sadly, employee morale continues to decline and the company culture is a joke. You have zero job security unless you work at corporate or in the tower division (or just keep your mouth closed and take orders from incompetent managers who will blame you for something at a later date). At Crown Castle, beauty is only skin deep. Think twice before you leap, because your eyes are being deceived every day.

    Continue reading
    Crown Castle2019-12-11
  5. Helpful (15)

    "Blindly follow orders or get out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Canonsburg, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Crown Castle full-time

    Pros

    Salary is competitive and medical benefits are comprehensive.

    Cons

    Bonus structure should be in the Pros section but because they are determined by management and supervisors, it rarely reaches the levels that they should be. Performance and quality of work does not even factor into your reviews, it is all based on if management "likes" you... in basic terms, if you blindly follow orders and never raise issues, then you are liked. Managers in Engineering are too young and inexperienced to provide proper leadership. No thought is put into helping the team, just how they can benefit and move up. I've seen sexism exist in the department towards the female engineers and tried to bring it to their attention, but because it was done by some of the Supervisors and Managers, I was told that I was the problem and held against me. Do not even think of bringing it to HR (Business Support or BS), they are here to protect the company, not the employees.

    Continue reading
    Crown Castle2019-11-21
  6. Helpful (12)

    "Crown has great co-workers good benefits. But a lot has slipped"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Construction Manager in Phila, PA
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Crown Castle full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Crown offers good benefit packages. Good PTO package for full time employees.

    Cons

    Cons are Crown is no longer a stable career building company. It’s Micro managed so bad in the small cell division that people are getting squeezed out the door. Managers finding ways to target employees to get them fired. Constant over-site of projects that keep failing because project managers look the other way. Employees constantly fearing their day has come to and end permanently on a daily basis. Crown is not what it once was a thriving great company with positive culture and employee divide.

    Continue reading
    Crown Castle2019-11-21
  7. Helpful (27)

    "Wolves in Sheep's Clothing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Construction Manager in Baltimore, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Crown Castle full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The wonderful customers and paid holidays

    Cons

    I just watched this company eliminated 3 layers of management within the small cell division without a blink of an eye. This action seemed cold, very calculated and self-fulfilling so tower management can replace these talented industry leaders with weak, insecure tower employees who don't understand the small cell business. I have observed Crown Castle target employees, hunt them down and fabricate reasons for wrongful termination hoping these victims don't have the means or the energy to challenge this huge corporation with deep pockets. It seems wrong on so many levels. Crown's leadership has become greedy and focused only on the bottom line. If you want to work at Crown Castle just remember all employees are expendable without a moment's notice. Fear, intimidation and job loss seem to be Crown's new B3 values.

    Continue reading
    Crown Castle2019-11-11
  8. Helpful (18)

    "In a serious cultural decline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Crown Castle full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits, legacy coworkers and managers from before the Fiber division was created.

    Cons

    Most recently acquired managers are rude, arrogant. bullying types who would not know a B3 value if it bit them on the nose. Generally speaking, they do not treat other employees, vendors, or customers with respect and do not value anyone's opinions but their own. Highly unprofessional conduct that would never have been considered acceptable a few years ago. Men receive higher pay for equal work and are valued far more overall. Ageism and favoritism throughout, though there do seem to be efforts made to create cultural diversity. Business Support is widely perceived as utterly useless overall, however. Hierarchy office model is a barrier to the transparency, collaboration, and innovation executives claim to want. Employees want more flexibility to work from home, but the model is not embraced even though it would likely increase productivity by reducing the stress caused by the current cultural distractions, as well as reduce company expenditures on office space like the new HQ that is planned.

    Continue reading
    Crown Castle2019-11-16
  9. Helpful (22)

    "Leadership is slipping"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Crown Castle full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great team members. Good pay and benefits.

    Cons

    Leaders don’t hold their teams accountable. They pay lip service to the executives and then turn around and tell their teams to ignore that and do something different. Most of the time because they feel like each new initiative is just the flavor of the month. HR is called Business Support (or BS...insert joke here) is horribly run by someone who is a leader at another company — if you bring up this possible conflict of interest, you live in fear of being fired. Most people work to avoid having to deal with them. Each project that they launch seems to disappear never to be heard from again. There are good people there, but their leaders don’t seem to care about them or what they can actually do. Internal opportunities can take months to get responses on. I’ve seen jobs posted for over a year before being filled by someone. These aren’t highly-specialized jobs either. There is this great emerging leader program for those right out of college to learn a lot and fast track to leadership roles. Unfortunately, if you don’t come through that or are related to someone, your trajectory is significantly lower.

    Continue reading
    Crown Castle2019-10-02
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Excellent company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Construction Manager in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Crown Castle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You can tell from the moment you start you’re being set up for success. The pay is competitive, the management teams are their to help at any moment making it a great place to work. You can tell that the company truly values you as a person and not just a number.

    Cons

    Not really a con, but the hiring process took a little over 2 and a half months.

    Continue reading
    Crown Castle2019-10-05

    Crown Castle Response

    October 18, 2019Internal Communication Content and Channels Lead

    Thanks so much for your feedback! We're so happy you feel supported and valued in your role. We appreciate your feedback and suggestions, and look forward to hearing more from teammates like you. You can continue to let us know what you're thinking on Glassdoor, on our Intranet homepage, or during one of our quarterly Company Conversations. Thanks!

    Continue reading
Found 342 reviews