David Jones Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

David Jones Reviews

Updated 21 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 325 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
David Jones CEO Iain Nairn
Iain Nairn
72 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Shortage of staff, too much pressure to sell AMEX cards(in 27 reviews)

  • "It can be difficult t times to get people to sign up to a credit card(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Sales Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at David Jones part-time

    Pros

    - Fantastic team - Very flexible working hours - Amazing manager - Really great environment - Staff discount

    Cons

    - Like all workplaces good management = good staff and vice versa I had a bad manager at one point and hated it.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for giving me the best job I have ever had.

    David Jones2016-10-20
  2. "okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at David Jones part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    staff discount cool people great products

    Cons

    no personality quite silent like school

    Advice to Management

    nothing

    David Jones2019-08-10
  3. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Marketing Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at David Jones full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with Good mix of age groups

    Cons

    Can work long hours but compensated

    David Jones2019-08-08
  4. "Good opportunity for customer service experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Professional 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at David Jones part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Staff discount if you like to shop.

    Cons

    Can be stressful. Inconsistent management.

    David Jones2019-08-20
  5. "SLow Processes,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Buyer 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at David Jones full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great discounts across Country Road Group friendly team in merchandise

    Cons

    Slowest, most tedious ordering process. Feels like 2009 HR are not helpful. Almost non-existent

    Advice to Management

    invest in a updated ordering system

    David Jones2019-08-19
  6. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at David Jones part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work and happy environment

    Cons

    Nothing theres nothing i dont like

    David Jones2019-07-29
  7. "Good staff discount, too much amex pressure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Seasonal Sales Professional in Perth, Western Australia
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at David Jones full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good staff discount Friendly work colleagues Fun when no pressure Fairly straight forward Had family good manager although those above somewhat weren't so helpful

    Cons

    AMEX.... too much amex pushing

    Advice to Management

    Retail should not be about selling credit cards we get it, it makes a portion of your profits, should focus more on the stores itself and what they are selling in order to increase profits from what department stores really should be doing not being a financed for credit cards.

    David Jones2019-08-08
  8. "Big retailer with a lot of potential but too much old school dead weight leaders, processes and systems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Buyer in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at David Jones full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Premium retailer, well recognized, staff discounts

    Cons

    Sexual harassment, bullying, poor management

    Advice to Management

    Merchandise Managers and Planners are under pressure and point fingers. They do not lead and just try to stay afloat by putting the pressure on their team beneath them, oftentimes throwing them under the bus

    David Jones2019-08-08
  9. "It’s pretty alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Canberra
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at David Jones part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Constantly busy and changing environment, nice stock

    Cons

    Organisation, expectations of staff (too high for the pay), management

    Advice to Management

    Communicate with each other and do what you say you’ll do

    David Jones2019-07-23
  10. "Great environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Adelaide
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at David Jones part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay, Great line managers, good locations, discount

    Cons

    Not flexible with timesheet Competitive

    David Jones2019-08-01
Found 325 reviews