Defense Contract Management Agency Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Defense Contract Management Agency Reviews

Updated Oct 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 215 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Defense Contract Management Agency CEO David H Lewis
David H Lewis
27 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "I've only actually liked the job I had the longest at DCMA, that of a Cost Monitor(in 16 reviews)

  • "Upward mobility extremely limited(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Contact Administrator 

    I have been working at Defense Contract Management Agency full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Training, busy, challenging, salary, location

    Cons

    No cons found so far

    Defense Contract Management Agency2019-10-06
  2. "Great agency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Management Specialist in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Defense Contract Management Agency full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule and good work environment

    Cons

    None That I can think of

    Defense Contract Management Agency2019-09-28
  3. "The Agency is Good for What It Is"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Contracting Officer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Defense Contract Management Agency full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Like working for most government entities, it is stable income and benefits. So it's great for those who care about work-life balance. -Granted "fitness hours." Two hours per week are granted off for gym or physical fitness time. All you need to do is keep a log. -As far as training opportunities are concerned, DCMA is awesome at investing in their federal interns and trainees. There is no shortage of... multi-functional training opportunities.

    Show More

    Cons

    -Fills the stereotype of feeding the government dinosaur. In other words, some employees only meet the expectations of working their 9 to 5 job, and nothing more. -As far as contract work is concerned, you need to be in love with contract administration (which makes up only about 10% of what there is to do in contracting) to like your job.

    Defense Contract Management Agency2019-09-20
  4. "Great place if the culture was right."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Assurance Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Defense Contract Management Agency full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    upper management is really thoughtful and proactive

    Cons

    Due diligence among peers and supervisory group is almost non existant.

    Advice to Management

    Be sure that someone is not projecting and deflecting. Office politics makes morale trend negatively.

    Defense Contract Management Agency2019-08-20
  5. "Not quite fulfilling personally."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Defense Contract Management Agency full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work schedule flexibility for most.

    Cons

    Fraternizing supervisor drove me bananas.

    Advice to Management

    Aside from that one fraternizing instance, nothing, loved the job and flexibility of my schedule.

    Defense Contract Management Agency2019-08-13
  6. "A great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Assurance Supervisor in Bayān
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Defense Contract Management Agency full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and retirement plan.

    Cons

    Difficult to be hired, structure doesn't allow a lot of promotions

    Advice to Management

    Bring more people in at the entry levels to back fill retirements

    Defense Contract Management Agency2019-07-26
  7. "Sharepoint"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Defense Contract Management Agency full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Same federal benefits as everywhere else. Located in many places around the world

    Cons

    Completely screwed up management. No long term vision. People dont stay in their own lanes. Senior leaders cant complete anything before starting new projects. Screwed up moving policies that differ from every other agency.

    Advice to Management

    Learn to finish what you start and keep your employees in their own swim lane

    Defense Contract Management Agency2019-08-21
  8. "It’s ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Industrial Specialist in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Defense Contract Management Agency full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work life can be good if you have a good supervisor. Pay is good for what we are supposed to do.

    Cons

    Always get tasked with so much more that we feel we need to get paid more. High employee turnaround.

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your people

    Defense Contract Management Agency2019-07-29
  9. "Opportunities around the world"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Assurance Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Defense Contract Management Agency full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are plenty of opportunities for positions around the United States and around the Globe.

    Cons

    Like any job there are going to be locations and people that you will have to learn to work with. That is the challenge of being a professional.

    Defense Contract Management Agency2019-06-26
  10. "Good work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Procurement Technician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Defense Contract Management Agency full-time

    Pros

    Technological advances, overall pretty sweet job

    Cons

    Initial training can be a lot better

    Advice to Management

    Focus on building from within

    Defense Contract Management Agency2019-06-07
Found 215 reviews