Defense Contract Management Agency Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Defense Contract Management Agency Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 203 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Defense Contract Management Agency CEO David H Lewis
David H Lewis
19 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible work schedules were great(in 25 reviews)

  • "flexible work schedules, telework available, provides accolades and feed back for work ethic/performance(in 22 reviews)

Cons
  • "Poor performing DCMA co-workers face few consequences and still receive scheduled GS pay raises(in 15 reviews)

  • "Upward mobility extremely limited(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best Federal Job I've Had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contract Price Cost Analyst in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Defense Contract Management Agency full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Work life balance is a reality when you work for DCMA. I came from an audit agency where we were stressed to do nonsense work. At DCMA, whatever cons I've experienced have been different.

    Cons

    I've only actually liked the job I had the longest at DCMA, that of a Cost Monitor. I've had the Pricer job briefly a couple of times in different places, and it's so dry. I also briefly downsized to a Contract Administrator, and the work was so administrative biased ... Just keeping up with documentation. DCMA is a better agency than the audit agency, yet it matters a lot there what exact position you have.

    Advice to Management

    Do NOT let the audit agency affect DCMA procedures. The audit agency management personnel lack common sense. DCMA's business logic is far superior to audit logic. Keep things simple and straightfward. The audit agency has had a very high turnover due to it's ridiculous management decisions about the work. I hope DCMA can avoid following this example

    Defense Contract Management Agency2019-05-15
  2. "Good place to work and gain experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contract Administrator in Littleton, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Defense Contract Management Agency full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great work life balance and good workplace

    Cons

    Metrics for the sake of metrics, and the work can get mundane at times

    Defense Contract Management Agency2019-05-12
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Systems Engineering oversight and Material Review Board"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Engineer GS12 801 in Redondo Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Defense Contract Management Agency full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Very secure position like any other public sector job.

    Cons

    The work is somewhat repetitive and the bureaucracy can be frustrating.

    Defense Contract Management Agency2019-05-04
  4. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Integrator in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Defense Contract Management Agency full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Availability to advance and move around. Flexible work schedule. Diverse and challenging environment.

    Cons

    Lengthy hiring process. It is the government. Have not adopted industry application process. Lengthy process to get rid of people that do not preform.

    Defense Contract Management Agency2019-04-06
  5. "Ok Place to Work for a set time period"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Contract Administrator 

      I have been working at Defense Contract Management Agency full-time

      Pros

      benefits like telework, transportation payment program, accessible training, a little local travel, and tablets/laptops for employees

      Cons

      building is not updated (redwood tower). hvac issues, electrical issues, pipe issues.

      Defense Contract Management Agency2019-04-16
    • "Dcma"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Defense Contract Management Agency full-time

      Pros

      Great work and multiple locations

      Cons

      Hard to get promoted quickly.

      Defense Contract Management Agency2019-03-18
    • "Good place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Operations Research Analyst 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Defense Contract Management Agency full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Telework Travel is a plus if you like traveling

      Cons

      Not flexible with change in policies

      Defense Contract Management Agency2019-03-18
    • Helpful (2)

      "Enjoy a rewarding career in the Department of Defense"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Program Analyst in Chicago, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Defense Contract Management Agency full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      DCMA is a combat support Agency of the DoD that manages Government contracts after award for virtually all supplies and services used by the Military. The advantages are that it is a world-wide organization that allows you to keep seniority and status when you move between positions and operating locations. Their benefits package is equal to or better than most major corporations, and hiring, firing, and promotions...

      Show More

      Cons

      Unfortunately, government employees across the board pay raises (cost of living) are subject to the whims of our elected officials and you've all heard of the shutdowns that can occur. Seems like they are always trying to come up with a better mousetrap of an employee rating system that requires a lot of paperwork and written examples of your performance - but overall their systems are more fair and transparent than...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Settle in on one rating system that works and is fair - and don't try to improve it by replacing it with a newer, fresher smelling system.

      Defense Contract Management Agency2019-02-28
    • "Not the best federal agency to work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Quality Assurance Specialist in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Defense Contract Management Agency full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      federal employee benefits; medical, dental, vision, 401k + matching

      Cons

      Lack of meaningful work, no advancement/promotions

      Defense Contract Management Agency2019-03-13
    • "Ca"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Contract Administrator 

      I have been working at Defense Contract Management Agency full-time

      Pros

      Great place to enter government

      Cons

      No growth within the agency, they are trying to do better

      Advice to Management

      Create more opportuntiws

      Defense Contract Management Agency2019-02-20
    Found 203 reviews