Discover Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Discover Reviews

Updated Sep 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1823 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Discover CEO Roger Hochschild
Roger Hochschild
100 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "But that's everywhere this is really the greatest call center you can work for(in 58 reviews)

  • "no regard for work/life balance(in 46 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Discover full-time

    Pros

    Good Wage, Helpful people, Decent Benefits

    Cons

    Use many outdated softwares on their workstations

    Discover2018-07-29
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Good Employer, very ambitious plans for the future. UK based team is very collaborative and a great team to work with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Discover full-time

    Pros

    Global company but with the advantages of small company where most people know each other in the UK.

    Cons

    Senior leadership (based in Chicago) can be very US centric. Also, in a period of transformation so employees must be comfortable with such.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more senior leaders outside the US to drive more global thinking across the organisation.

    Discover2019-03-02
  3. "good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Fraud Investigator 

    I have been working at Discover full-time

    Pros

    easy repetitive work in team setting

    Cons

    pay is not great and no bonuses

    Discover2019-09-18
  4. "The best company I have worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Agent in West Valley City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Discover full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    *Flexibility, *Family Life Balance, *Benefits, *Fair Wages, *Promotions, *Diversity, *Company Values, and the list goes on.

    Cons

    * Outside hiring for management that knows nothing about what our daily tasks are. They try to implement policies that just don't work for certain areas of our job. They need to focus more on hiring internal people that actually know what they are doing.

    Advice to Management

    Utilize the people that know what they are doing, that have been there in the same position for long periods of time to be in management versus going out and hiring someone with the education but not the job experience to fully understand the things that are really going on.

    Discover2019-09-18
  5. "Decent culture, decent pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Riverwoods, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Discover full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work life balance. Paid time off

    Cons

    Pay increase is slow. Too many organizations changes.

    Discover2019-09-16
  6. "Some Pro's, 1 big Con"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Riverwoods, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Discover full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    great atmosphere, good investment into technology

    Cons

    mid-level managers don't know much

    Discover2019-09-16
  7. "Note: I’m a current employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Senior Manager in Lake Bluff, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Discover full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fitness center, people care. Laid back culture. Work from home. Lots of time off. Training. Career growth. College program.

    Cons

    Can be stressful at times.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up! Love it.

    Discover2019-09-14
  8. "Outstanding company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Background Investigator 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Discover full-time

    Pros

    Great company, great benefits, great pay

    Cons

    Small staff with too many changes on the fly.

    Discover2019-09-13
  9. "Good pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Discover full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discover is great at keeping you at a competitive wage.

    Cons

    Working collections is always a challenge

    Discover2019-09-07
  10. "Discover is an amazing company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Strategist in Riverwoods, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Discover full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The benefits an people are great. The environment feels like a true family.

    Cons

    Pay is not compettive

    Advice to Management

    Pay the employees what they are worth and not just the outside consultants

    Discover2019-09-07
Found 1823 reviews