Discover Reviews

Updated 5 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
75%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Discover CEO Roger Hochschild
Roger Hochschild
178 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "As with any call center, it can be stressful to avoid burnout from repetition(in 64 reviews)

  • "no regard for work/life balance(in 50 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Review"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Discover full-time

    Pros

    Good Wage, Helpful people, Decent Benefits

    Cons

    Use many outdated softwares on their workstations

    Discover2018-07-29
  2. "Good company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SRE 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Discover full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Culture, professionals, work ethic, passion

    Cons

    Politics, nothing else to mention.

    Discover2019-11-28
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Good Employer, very ambitious plans for the future. UK based team is very collaborative and a great team to work with."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Discover full-time

    Pros

    Global company but with the advantages of small company where most people know each other in the UK.

    Cons

    Senior leadership (based in Chicago) can be very US centric. Also, in a period of transformation so employees must be comfortable with such.

    Continue reading
    Discover2019-03-02
  4. "Account Manager"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Discover full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Many opportunities for growth and earn incentives.

    Cons

    Isn't in my field of work as I have a degree in a different field.

    Discover2020-06-02
  5. "Great"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Discover full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Loved it, it was super involved and a healthy place to grow

    Cons

    Communication was not as present as necessary for company that large.

    Discover2020-05-26
  6. "Eh, the job was okay..."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cardmember Assistance Representative in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Discover full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This review is for the credit card collections aspect of the company -- as I'm not sure how the other departments operate. I worked at Discover from 2014-2017 (3 years) as an account manager doing credit card collections at the Phoenix, Arizona location. I think working at this company looks great on a resume and I think working at this company is really good for college students and young adults that need experience. I would suggest applying here, staying for a couple of years to get your foot in the door, and then moving on to another company for better opportunities. Some pros: - The training you receive is pretty extensive. I had no experience at a call center when I joined the company, and I was able to catch on pretty quickly. - Medical/Dental/Vision Benefits are really great - Casual work dress code. You can essentially whatever you'd like - PTO is available right away after training and the beginning of the year -Attendance policy is lenient compared to other companies - Nice gym and a decent cafeteria

    Cons

    - The biggest reason as to why I left was due to the low pay. When I started in 2014, the starting pay was $12. When I left in 2017, my pay was $15. Now, in 2020, I believe the pay now for this same position is $16. -Everything you do is monitored down to the minute. (They track if you're a few minutes over your lunch break, how often you're getting up from your desk, etc.) - Schedules aren't really flexible. Whatever schedule you have when you get hired, is usually the schedule that you'll get stuck with. - Relatively easy to get promoted to different departments as a phone agent, but drastically harder to get promoted into management. Leadership shows a ton of favoritism, especially when it comes to being promoted to a Team Leader or a Coach. Leadership often promoted individuals that they liked, rather than who was qualified. It was a popularity contest. - If you're a phone agent, realize that the call volume is going to be insanely high. It was extremely stressful, especially dealing with rude and disrespectful customers - Nearly impossible to get a pay raise once you are hired. Even if you are promoted, it's often just a lateral move or the pay raise is usually about 10%, so people who have worked there for 10 plus years are often making less than people who are new hires - When I worked there between 2014-2017 there was a ton of gossiping between the cubicles and it was very highschool-ish and clique-y. I would suggest not feeding into the gossip, stay to yourself, stay out of people's business, don't get caught up in office romances, etc -- just go to work, do your job, and head home. I think the company itself is great, and I enjoy the culture, but my specific department wasn't the best.

    Continue reading
    Discover2020-06-05
  7. "Top Chicago Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Discover full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    We treat you like you treat you.

    Cons

    Long commute from Chicago to suburbs.

    Discover2020-05-20
  8. "Great place to get experience"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Attorney in Riverwoods, IL

    I worked at Discover full-time

    Pros

    Well-established and provides good connections and experience

    Cons

    Salary is below the Chicago market

    Discover2020-05-20
  9. "Great for Certain People!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Balance Transfer Specialist in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Discover part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    AMAZING supervisors! Fun coworkers. Overall a very social workplace. Regular opportunities for a raise on your paycheck. You as an employee are ACTUALLY cared about! Constant appreciation for the job you do. At work festivals are common. If you need time away from the job for a few minutes, your supervisors will work with you so you get the time you need!

    Cons

    It is a call center. If you can't or don't feel comfortable with phone calls like me, this job will be unnecessarily difficult.

    Discover2020-05-19
  10. "Good"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Risk Management in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Discover full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They are very helpful and have great managers.

    Cons

    They need to be more transparent about job tasks when initially hired.

    Discover2020-05-14
Found 1953 reviews