Dishoom Reviews

Updated Jul 24, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 229 of over 232 reviews

4.8
97%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Dishoom Founder Shamil Thakrar
Shamil Thakrar
18 Ratings
Pros
  • "Staff food, Service charge, Family team(in 10 reviews)

  • "Working with a great team of people where everyone strives to make it better(in 8 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours No breaks no self care time(in 19 reviews)

  • "A busy place with high standards(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Genuinely best in the business

      Jul 24, 2021 - Server 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great Restaurant -Good food, with a free meal on shift -Great Team, with good social perks -Happy Customers

      Cons

      - High Standards and Hard Work, though this is more so an issue that will only affect certain kinds of people.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Development for chefs is great...

      Jul 20, 2021 - Sous Chef in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Dishoom is a great place to work for a chef. We have the full support of all the management and the work culture is very positive. Perfect place to develop.

      Cons

      It's a busy working environment.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      I love the energy this place has!!!!

      Jul 13, 2021 - Server/Waiter in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I like how we work in the restaurant, I like communication from colleagues, managers as they work with us, as we help each other. I like the joy that emerges and the energy that is spread within the team.

      Cons

      Very busy place and the team work incredibly hard.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work!

      Jun 19, 2021 - Server/Waiter in Kings Cross, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I really enjoyed working at Dishoom KX. I was paid well for the job that I did. I liked the sales based role as a server - the more tables I would turn, the more service charge I would make. This was a motivator for me. The company also offered great perks, such as; cycle to work scheme, good pension, discounts at stores etc.

      Cons

      Late night finishes. This is to be expected working for a company that takes last orders around 9pm, however it still wasn't easy finishing at 11pm/12am most nights.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Loved it!

      Jul 13, 2021 - Agent in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing Team, office, food, company

      Cons

      Not enough food - always can eat more

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Place to work

      Jul 12, 2021 - Floor Manager in Birmingham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Staff meal, opportunity to grow, great team

      Cons

      Long hours, extremely busy, very high standards

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Positive Atmosphere, Unfair management

      Jul 19, 2021 - Food Runner in Manchester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Atmosphere is friendly, particularly with other staff Acceptable level of pay

      Cons

      Scheduling is poorly managed, long and unsociable hours without sufficient recovery time provided between long shifts (regular 12hr plus shifts) Somehow both over and understaffed Lack of understanding around disability

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Amazing place to get the best from you

      Apr 7, 2021 - Senior Restaurant Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Dishoom believes in service and it's people, not numbers. They genuinely look after the team and rewards hard work. They will encourage individuality and support venturing into other areas of the company, other than what they started in. Dishoom grows at a steady rate, without loosing it's core values.

      Cons

      When opening new sites it's some of the older cafes can feel a bit neglected in regards to maintenance. Senior management will always make time for all cafes but when there are issues in other places and focus is on the new site it can be misinterpreted.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great

      Jun 4, 2021 - Runner in Kings Cross, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing team. Great people everywhere

      Cons

      Busy. Demanding environment but still fun.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      The company to work for if your in London working in hospitality

      Apr 28, 2021 - Server/Waiter in Kings Cross, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Still in touch with many friend years after. Great earning potential. Amazing staff London They will 100% improve you.

      Cons

      Booking time off was around summer was difficult at times.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 229 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Dishoom Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Dishoom? Share Your Experiences

    Dishoom logo
    or