Dishoom Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Dishoom Reviews

Updated 19 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
79%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
  • "(in 4 reviews)

  • "Good pay, very lucrative service charge, nice coworkers(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "It’s a very busy place but makes the time fly(in 5 reviews)

  • "long hours, hectic and busy place - always(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "a family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Host in Kensington, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at Dishoom full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    i came from australia about a month ago and through the working holiday club i was offered to go to dishoom for an open day, where i was taught about the warm welcomes, amazing food and amazing people that work at dishoom!! as my first hospitality job i couldn’t be happier working here, it really is like a little family!!! everyone has been super welcoming and i can highly recommend dishoom to anybody looking for a... new exciting job!

    Show More

    Cons

    it does get quite busy which can be stressful, but it makes the time fly! working anti social hours sometimes can be a pain but all in all i wouldn’t trade my job!

    Advice to Management

    nothing!!!!

    Dishoom2018-12-12
  2. "Pretty good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Waiter in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Dishoom full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Proper training - Clear expectations - Organised workplace - Decent pay - Fun culture - Celebrate individuality and allow you to be yourself within the workplace - Food and drink that you are serving is exceptionally good = happy guests

    Cons

    Nothing comes to mind. Hours are antisocial but this is to be expected in hospitality.

    Advice to Management

    Staff food can be lame sometimes.

    Dishoom2019-11-20
  3. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Floor Manager in London, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at Dishoom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing work place,good progression opportunities and excellent pay!

    Cons

    Super busy work environment which is not a bad thing.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Dishoom2019-10-13
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Hostess/Receptionist in Covent Garden, England
    Recommends

    I worked at Dishoom full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good management, well organised system, friendly and casual atmosphere, decent pay

    Cons

    Working in outdoor space

    Dishoom2019-10-06
  5. "Awesome company to be a team leader for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Hosting Services in Kings Cross, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Dishoom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic progression opportunities & working flexibility in an awesome multicultural environment

    Cons

    There are zero downsides working here

    Dishoom2019-09-23
  6. "Fun place to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Dishoom full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You can be yourself and have fun

    Cons

    It’s hectic, super busy you have to be patient

    Advice to Management

    Patience is a virtue

    Dishoom2019-09-24
  7. "TERRIBLE, no other words"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Server/Waiter in Shoreditch, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dishoom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Is not good reason to work in this place , staff food is cancerous, manager are awful and horrible , I use to work in shoreditch for almost 2 years , I had a really bad period and all of the management just put me More Down than ever, Lots of thing happen inside that restaurant but is better to DONT say to avoid problems. Since I don’t work there anymore my anxiety stop and I smile again, I really would love To... talk with the owner ( which I completely respect ) to let them understand what’s going on inside that place.

    Show More

    Cons

    Dear dishoom, people work in this place only for money, Is not other reason.

    Advice to Management

    With all of my heart , change job.

    Dishoom2019-10-04
  8. "Favouritism and Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - N/A 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Dishoom full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Please see the cons below

    Cons

    A lot of favouritism which leads unfair salary reviews and growth opportunity

    Dishoom2019-09-21
  9. "Toxic environment, avoid at all costs!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff/Hospitality in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Dishoom full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None I can think of.

    Cons

    I worked at the Carnaby Street branch which is a massively toxic and sexist environment. People are frequently bullied and harrassed at work and nothing is done to address it. HR don't even follow their own policies, anyone who complains either gets pushed out or ignored. Management are terrible, with no idea of how to motivate or manage their staff correctly which results in a stressed out and annoyed workforce. ... Workers who are 'in' with the Management team are allowed to behave as they please with no repercussions. Would not recommend if you value your dignity and career.

    Show More
    Dishoom2019-08-14
  10. "Mad workload"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food Runner 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Dishoom full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Funny and friendly environment

    Cons

    - crazy and long shifts - physically destructive - ridiculous salary

    Dishoom2019-07-14
Found 84 reviews