Equinor Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Equinor Reviews

Updated 8 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Equinor CEO Eldar Sætre
Eldar Sætre
96 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Reorg machine that uses country manager assignments to groom Norwegian golden boys with no US E&P experience ;(in 54 reviews)

  • "Compensation is not as high as other energy companies in Norway(in 32 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "A fantastic company to work for!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Analyst in Oslo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Equinor full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Lots of interesting challenges to work on, highly skilled colleagues, great benefits, possibilities to work internationally, attractive internal job market

    Cons

    Matrix organisation -> lots of stakeholder management, the average age in certain areas could be very high, in certain areas too much goverened out of the Norway HQ.

    Equinor2019-08-02
  2. "Statoil"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Equinor full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Shaping future of energy sector. Values driven culture.

    Cons

    Headquartered in Norway. Little variable pay

    Equinor2017-02-05
  3. "Its ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Originator in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Equinor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    work life balance, salary and location

    Cons

    management, lack of leadership, lack understanding

    Equinor2019-09-28
  4. "Company that takes care of its employee first"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - directeur d'investissement in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Equinor full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very good company to work for. Very inclusive. Employees and their families comes first. They walk the talk

    Cons

    If you expect to be rewarded based on your personal performance and are looking for big bonus aim at another company

    Equinor2019-06-02
  5. "ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Equinor full-time

    Pros

    flexible working time. average benefits.

    Cons

    no clear strategy direction. weak management vs external stakeholders.

    Equinor2019-05-19
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Trader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Trader in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Equinor full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Easy life job. Plenty of time off and good work life balance

    Cons

    Difficult to progress if your face doesnt fit. Politics trumps PNL. A lot of mediocre people plodding along to retirement.

    Equinor2019-05-02
  7. "Great company, great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Equinor full-time

    Pros

    It is a very good company to work for, excellent benefits, very good working environment, however, very political.

    Cons

    One of the values they spread out in the organization is Open. In reality, people are not open. You expect your boss will give you honest and constructive feedback on your work along the year, but you will only know through your grade in the annual performance assessment.

    Equinor2019-03-20
  8. "balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Equinor full-time

    Pros

    good work / life balance, overall

    Cons

    weak mgnt; not clear set of policies om how to grow as an employee.

    Equinor2019-02-24
  9. "Decent company but limited for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Equinor full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, good work life balance

    Cons

    Low pay, career opportunities are limited unless you are Norwegian

    Equinor2018-08-07
  10. "No future if you are not Norwegian"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Equinor full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good place to wait for retirement or to be a manager

    Cons

    Statoil is shrinking back from international market. I saw more internal emails and posts are writing in Norwegian only, I saw less appreciation towards non-Norwegian speaking person. I saw career and promotion only to Norwegian speaking personnel. I saw contractors and consultant were not treated fairly compared to employee. I saw more incompetent management and BS person promoted.

    Advice to Management

    Be honest and be inclusiveness. Your Norwegian employee are spending money like free while your international employee gains no trust at all as 2nd citizen.

    Equinor2018-07-03
Found 315 reviews