Equinor Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Equinor Reviews

Updated 3 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 295 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Equinor CEO Eldar Sætre
Eldar Sætre
91 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Good luck getting anywhere if you aren't Norwegian or a descendant of Brigham(in 51 reviews)

  • "Also the corporate office is in Norway, so there is a challenge with streamlining all processes(in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Statoil"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Equinor full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Shaping future of energy sector. Values driven culture.

    Cons

    Headquartered in Norway. Little variable pay

    Equinor2017-02-05
  2. "Company that takes care of its employee first"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - directeur d'investissement in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Equinor full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very good company to work for. Very inclusive. Employees and their families comes first. They walk the talk

    Cons

    If you expect to be rewarded based on your personal performance and are looking for big bonus aim at another company

    Equinor2019-06-02
  3. "ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Equinor full-time

      Pros

      flexible working time. average benefits.

      Cons

      no clear strategy direction. weak management vs external stakeholders.

      Equinor2019-05-19
    • Helpful (1)

      "Trader"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Former Employee - Trader in London, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Equinor full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Easy life job. Plenty of time off and good work life balance

      Cons

      Difficult to progress if your face doesnt fit. Politics trumps PNL. A lot of mediocre people plodding along to retirement.

      Equinor2019-05-02
    • "Great company, great benefits"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Equinor full-time

      Pros

      It is a very good company to work for, excellent benefits, very good working environment, however, very political.

      Cons

      One of the values they spread out in the organization is Open. In reality, people are not open. You expect your boss will give you honest and constructive feedback on your work along the year, but you will only know through your grade in the annual performance assessment.

      Equinor2019-03-20
    • "balance"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Equinor full-time

      Pros

      good work / life balance, overall

      Cons

      weak mgnt; not clear set of policies om how to grow as an employee.

      Equinor2019-02-24
    • "Decent company but limited for growth"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Principal in London, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Equinor full-time

      Pros

      Good benefits, good work life balance

      Cons

      Low pay, career opportunities are limited unless you are Norwegian

      Equinor2018-08-07
    • "No future if you are not Norwegian"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Principal Engineer in London, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Equinor full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Good place to wait for retirement or to be a manager

      Cons

      Statoil is shrinking back from international market. I saw more internal emails and posts are writing in Norwegian only, I saw less appreciation towards non-Norwegian speaking person. I saw career and promotion only to Norwegian speaking personnel. I saw contractors and consultant were not treated fairly compared to employee. I saw more incompetent management and BS person promoted.

      Advice to Management

      Be honest and be inclusiveness. Your Norwegian employee are spending money like free while your international employee gains no trust at all as 2nd citizen.

      Equinor2018-07-03
    • "Reservoir engineer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Equinor full-time

      Pros

      New technology. Very good for working life balance

      Cons

      Project management could be improve

      Equinor2018-02-10
    • Helpful (3)

      "Principal Analyst"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Principal Analyst in London, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Equinor full-time

      Pros

      Good work life balance and benefits.

      Cons

      Career opportunities are restricted to the top 200 list. Others suffer with unending bureaucracy to make internal moves that not always are synonym of any career progression. Leaders are not selected based on competency, while extremely competent people are used on simple and meaningless jobs that hardly add any value for the company or the individual delivering on it.

      Advice to Management

      Focus on the people and on motivating your employees with challenging tasks that add value both for the company and the individual.

      Equinor2017-10-05
    Found 295 reviews